My Game of Table Tennis

Yesterday morning I went to the pool and swam 1800 yards…1100 of which I was drills where I was to be mentally and physically focusing on my swim stroke…trying to really master some key areas…rotation, hand placement when entering the water and not allowing my arm to drop when I rotate to breathe (mostly my left arm, although both arms drop when I bilaterally breathe…which is what I’m currently working on).  My coach told me to swim for 45 minutes with the first 30 minutes working on drills (both with fins and without fins) and then complete 10×50 with perfect stroke.  Using this as a guideline, I decided to complete the following swim workout:

100 swim (warm-up)

200 torpedo (with fins)

200 single arm drill with rotation (with fins)

200 catch-up drill (with fins)

100 torpedo (without fins)

100 single arm drill with rotation (without fins)

100 catch-up drill (without fins)

100 torpedo (with fins)

100 single arm drill with rotation (with fins)

10×50 perfect stroke

100 cool-down

I was really focused at the start of my drills and then…my brain began to act like a ping-pong ball bouncing around during a game of table tennis…UGH!!

ping pong ball

“The torpedo drill…The belly button should face the wall while the bottom shoulder is in line with the bottom of the pool and the top shoulder is sticking out of the water and perpendicular to the surface of the water, hands in the ‘saddle,’ head rotated so the eyes are fixated on the line on the bottom of the pool.  Rotate the head to take a breath, then rotate the head back so the eyes can fixate on the line on the bottom of the pool.  Rotate the entire body so the shoulders move around the head forcing the belly button to face the opposite wall…I wonder what route we should ride for our two hour ride this afternoon…FOCUS…why is my swim cap not staying on my head this morning…FOCUS…Make sure to get the shoulders in line with the bottom of the pool so the belly button faces a wall…Since the winds are from the ESE, we should go that direction on our ride first…FOCUS…oops…I didn’t rotate enough and got a mouth full of water on that breath…FOCUS…”

“Time for the single arm drill with rotation…The belly button should face the wall while the bottom (left to start) arm is extended out in front of the body with a ‘catch’ position, top shoulder (right) is out of the water and perpendicular to the water’s surface with the top hand (right) in the ‘saddle’ and head is rotated so the eyes look through the (left) armpit and fixate on the line on the bottom of the pool.  Rotate the head to take a breath, then rotate the body so the right arm is extended out in front, the left shoulder is out of the water and the left hand is in the ‘saddle.’  The head should be rotated so the eyes are looking through the right armpit and can again fixate on the line on the bottom of the pool…why are my goggles leaking?!?!? They are brand new!!  Maybe I don’t have them adjusted quite right…FOCUS…make sure the extended arm doesn’t drop when you rotate to breathe…I think it is time for me to go back to my latex swim caps…these silicone swim caps just won’t stay on my head…FOCUS…make sure to rotate your body so your belly button faces the wall…I wonder how many people will show up to ride with us today…FOCUS…”

“Time for the catch-up drill…with the belly button toward the bottom of the pool and arms extended out in front like Superman, stroke through on the right side while breathing, then stroke through on the left side while breathing.  Continue to alternate sides while focusing on hand placement in the water…10 and 2…I’m getting hungry…what should I have when I get home from the pool?!?!?…FOCUS…did my right hand just cross over???…FOCUS…I can’t wait to make those gluten-free, sugar-free cookies that I love when I get home…FOCUS…this swim cap is awful…FOCUS!!”

“No fins…UGH!!  Ok…Torpedo…here we go…I think I may drown without my fins…FOCUS…make sure your belly button faces each wall when you rotate…it is suppose to be a really nice day today…FOCUS…I HATE drills without fins…FOCUS…so much for rotating far enough to breathe air and not water…FOCUS…”

“Single arm drill with rotation…this isn’t so bad without the fins…FOCUS…I think I know what route we should do when we ride later…FOCUS…make sure your belly button faces the wall when you are on your side…fins would definitely help me stay afloat…FOCUS…”

“Catch-up drill…I’ve done this one a lot without fins…FOCUS…I am not a fan of this swim cap…why won’t it stay on my head…FOCUS…make sure your hands are entering the water at 10 and 2…I am going to do my first triathlon today, even if there is a break between the swim and the brick…FOCUS…”

The rest of the workout followed the same format…Sometimes I have really good mental focus and sometimes my brain is a bouncing ping-pong ball and you don’t know which way it will go next!!

As for that triathlon I completed yesterday…stay tuned for part two…My First “Triathlon” of 2013…

One thought on “My Game of Table Tennis

Leave a Reply

