Scheduling Meetings and Boston

I just realized I haven’t posted in about 2 weeks…I haven’t even put my thoughts and feelings out there about the Boston bombing…

This time of year is always a little crazy for me.  As the school year comes to a close, I unfortunately end up trying to fit my workouts into my already crazy schedule instead of scheduling everything else around my workouts.  With just over 5 weeks left of school for this year (and 6 weeks til race day), I am determined to do my best to get all of my workouts in and schedule everything else around my workouts.

workouts as meetings

After the recent tragedy in Boston, MANY people have contacted me and asked me if I was there or if I knew people who were there.  I was not there this year, but I do know many pople who were there.  I’ve done some thinking after this tragedy and came to some conclusions:  1) it is very unfortunate that this world has crazy people in it who display such ridiculous acts of hate, 2) it is heart warming to see people come together in such times of tragedy and hate, 3) this tragedy has inspired me and made me more determined than ever before, to train hard and qualify for the Boston Marathon again.  We have to be the white blood cells that attack the tragedy virus.  I will continue to train hard, swim, bike, run and not let the tragedies in this world derail the train I’m on.  We CAN’T let the crazy people in this world win!!

The last time I qualified for the Boston Marathon was in 2008, before the new rules for qualification.  Since 2008, the qualifying times have gotten faster, but I have also gone up an age group.  So…I have to run the same qualifying time (less 59 seconds) as I did to qualify in 2008.

Look out world…I’m taking you by storm!!

Leave a Reply

