This Week’s Workouts in Review…Picture Style

I swam 2600 yards at 5 am on Monday morning in 50 minutes.
I swam 2600 yards at 5 am on Monday morning in 50 minutes.
24.25 mile bike ride in 90 minutes on Monday afternoon. It was a PERFECT day for being outside!!
24.25 mile bike ride in 90 minutes on Monday afternoon. It was a PERFECT day for being outside!!
Tuesday morning I meet an AMAZING friend for a GREAT strength training workout at 4:30 am...we were a little late to the gym this morning since we didn't have to run before the strength training today :)
Tuesday morning I meet an AMAZING friend for a GREAT strength training workout at 4:30 am…we were a little late to the gym this morning since we didn’t have to run before the strength training today 🙂
11 mile run Tuesday evening at 4:20 pm for 1:38:48...I had 8 hill repeats in the first 6 miles on 13th street hill and ran the last 5 miles as a "cool down" with Team 12.4
11 mile run Tuesday evening at 4:20 pm for 1:38:48…I had 8 hill repeats in the first 6 miles on 13th street hill and ran the last 5 miles as a “cool down” with Team 12.4
2600 yard swim at 5 am Wednesday morning...Steady 200s was the workout.  I forgot my phone in the car, hence the photo in the parking lot after my swim :)
2600 yard swim at 5 am Wednesday morning…Steady 200s was the workout. I forgot my phone in the car, hence the photo in the parking lot after my swim 🙂
Wednesday I had a brick to do in the pm hours.  At 4:00 pm it was raining outside, so I changed my rear wheel on my tri bike (which also requires brake adjustments since my trainer wheel doesn't fit my bike the same as my road or racing wheels) for the first time all by myself.  At 4:30 pm I hopped on Mojo in the basement for my 1:15:00 ride before heading out the door for my 20 min run...Total distance covered was 21.2 miles in 1:35:00.
Wednesday I had a brick to do in the pm hours. At 4:00 pm it was raining outside, so I changed my rear wheel on my tri bike (which also requires brake adjustments since my trainer wheel doesn’t fit my bike the same as my road or racing wheels) for the first time all by myself. At 4:30 pm I hopped on Mojo in the basement for my 1:15:00 ride before heading out the door for my 20 min run…Total distance covered was estimated at 21.2 miles in 1:35:00…my computer was not working on my bike to record my total distance for the ride portion of my brick…grrr!!
Thursday morning we had thunderstorms, so I went to the gym at 4 am to run on the treadmill instead of running outside like originally planned.  I ran 5.03 miles in 55 minutes (I was scheduled to run a nice, easy pace).  After running, I did a strength training workout for 50 minutes.  I focused mostly on my core and arms today since my legs were still a little sore from Tuesday morning's strength workout.
Thursday morning we had thunderstorms, so I went to the gym at 4 am to run on the treadmill instead of running outside like originally planned. I ran 5.03 miles in 55 minutes (I was scheduled to run a nice, easy pace…and I did just that). After running, I did a strength training workout for 50 minutes. I focused mostly on my core and arms since my legs (mostly my hamstrings) were still a little sore from Tuesday morning’s strength workout.
BONUS WORKOUT!!! Friday morning I decided to get up and swim at 5 am, even though it wasn't a scheduled workout. I swam 2000 yards in 45 minutes completing the Drills and 50s swim. It was a great way to start my day!!
BONUS WORKOUT!!!
Friday morning I decided to get up and swim at 5 am, even though it wasn’t a scheduled workout. I swam 2000 yards in 45 minutes completing the Drills and 50s swim. It was a great way to start my day!!
Friday afternoon we went on a leisure bike ride on the trails through Ames, stopping at a favorite watering hole...Stomping Grounds...for a Blue Note Lemonade (blueberries pureed in lemon ice)...YUMMY!!  We then went through campus on our return trip home.  8.88 miles in 49 minutes...NICE and RELAXING ride!!
Friday afternoon we went on a leisure bike ride on the trails through Ames, stopping at a favorite watering hole…Stomping Grounds…for a Blue Note Lemonade (blueberries pureed in lemon ice)…YUMMY!! We then went through campus on our return trip home. 8.88 miles in 49 minutes…NICE and RELAXING ride!!
Ran 10.6 miles in 1:31:00 for an average pace of 8:34 per mile Saturday morning at 7 am.  This was a WINDY run with winds at 27 mph out of the NNW, but it was a GREAT run with awesome company!!  We had some good hills to climb into the headwind...I was able to stay mentally and physically strong and focused :)
Ran 10.6 miles in 1:31:00 for an average pace of 8:34 per mile Saturday morning at 7 am. This was a WINDY run with winds at 27 mph out of the NNW, but it was a GREAT run with awesome company!! We had some good hills to climb into the headwind…I was able to stay mentally and physically strong and focused 🙂
Saturday morning after the run I had a 30 minute core workout...it is REALLY hard to get a picture of yourself doing core work ;)
Saturday morning after the run I had a 30 minute core workout…it is REALLY hard to get a picture of yourself doing core work 😉
At 11 am on Sunday morning I went to yoga. I prefer going to hot yoga, but that wasn’t an option since I new I would be riding later in the day during the hot yoga class, so I made do with regular yoga this time.
64.15 mile ride in 4 hours starting at 1:30 pm on Sunday.  It was a BEAUTIFUL day for a ride!!  We incorporated some big hill climbs (for Iowa) through the Des Moines River Valley a couple of different times.
64.15 mile ride in 4 hours starting at 1:30 pm on Sunday. It was a BEAUTIFUL day for a ride!! We incorporated some big hill climbs (for Iowa) through the Des Moines River Valley a couple of different times.
I call this a successful week!!
I call this a successful week!!
Leave a Reply

