Stop and Smell the Roses Run

Saturday morning I got the opportunity to “run how you feel” and took advantage of this opportunity to run with my husband around Okoboji.  I have run around Okoboji NUMEROUS times since I grew up there and get home to visit my parents a few times a year, but I have never taken the time to “stop and smell the roses” and really appreciate the scenery.  Saturday was an exception…it was time to really enjoy my surroundings!!

Running on a trail along the lakeshore...I love the open water!!
Running on a trail along the lakeshore of West Lake Okoboji…I love the open water!!
The water's edge...
The water’s edge…dipping our toes into the cool West Okoboji Lake water.
Running down Lakeshore Drive on a scenic route.
Running down Lakeshore Drive on a scenic route.
A snapping turtle by the marsh lands.
A snapping turtle by the marsh lands.
An eagle's nest in the marsh lands.
An eagle’s nest in the marsh lands.
My husband picking a nose along our run by the Lakes Art Center.
My husband picking a nose along our run by the Lakes Art Center.
I really miss the Okoboji Summer Theatre, but who doesn't dress for dinner?!?!?!?
I really miss the Okoboji Summer Theatre, but who doesn’t dress for dinner?!?!?!?  🙂
Running along the bike trail...beautiful!!
Running along the bike trail…beautiful!!
A daisy along the bike path.
A daisy along the bike path.
Columbine flowers along the bike path.
Columbine flowers along the bike path.
Running through the tunnel under highway 71.  As we exit the tunnel, we have a great view of West Lake Okoboji.
Running through the tunnel under highway 71. As we exit the tunnel, we have a great view of West Lake Okoboji.
Beautiful flowers along Lakeshore Drive.
Beautiful bleeding hearts along Lakeshore Drive.
Irises along Lakeshore Drive.
Irises along Lakeshore Drive.
The view of Arnolds Park Amusement Park from across the bay.
The view of Arnolds Park Amusement Park from across Smith’s bay in West Lake Okoboji.
Beautiful flowers along Lakeshore Drive.
Beautiful flowers along Lakeshore Drive.
7 thoughts on “Stop and Smell the Roses Run

Leave a Reply

