Smile

Smile

“Smile and the whole world smiles with you.” Louis Armstrong

I have recently noticed that when I smile, not only do I feel better, but many others who receive my smile share their smile as well.  It isn’t that difficult to smile and it will help to make the world a brighter, more enjoyable place!!

During my most recent race, I noticed that when the discipline got tough (swim, bike or run), smiling seemed to make it much easier!!  Smiling helps keep my body relaxed even during challenging or painful times while training and racing.  Smiling also reminds me of how much I love the sport…when racing, I do need to take triathlon seriously, but ultimately I do it because I LOVE IT and what better way to show this than to smile?!?!?!

While racing, it is also fun to think about how my competition may be responding to my smile…am I messing with the mindset of my competition when I smile???  Does my competition think I’m finding this easy because I’m smiling???  Does my competition think I’m pain-free because I’m smiling???  Does my competition even notice that I’m smiling???

Smiling not only relieves stress and relaxes the body, but it also boosts the immune system and causes the body to release endorphins.  As a triathlete, the release of endorphins will reduce discomfort and increase pleasure, which helps me push forward even when times get tough.  I want to reduce as much discomfort as I can while competing in a race, so I plan to follow Chrissie Wellington’s lead and smile!!

Just smilin' with Chrissie Wellington!!
Just smilin’ after Ironman Kansas 70.3 in 2010 with Chrissie Wellington!!

Chrissie Wellington continuously smiled when she was racing.  She was always relaxed, focused and smiling.  With this demeanor, it is no wonder why she broke so many world records in the triathlon world and continued to challenge herself to break her own records!!

Remember…just SMILE!!

5 thoughts on “Smile

  1. I love this Kecia! I often yell at Rachael during her meets to smile. Yes, it messes with the competition and makes you feel better as an athlete for all the reasons you listed. “Smile on the outside; smile on the inside!” is what I yell to her.

  2. Thanks Simone!! It is a wonderful memory…I was lucky enough to get to meet her in person and chat with her a bit as I gave her my spot in the massage tent so she could get a post race massage. She was VERY humble and said she could come back later, but I insisted. Great memories indeed!!

Leave a Reply

