Unintentional Recovery Week

This last week ended up being an unintentional recovery week.  Sometimes our bodies need recovery and other times it is our minds.  This last week was a combination of both…

I was at a “Developmental Designs” (DD) training this last week at the Middle School (for those that don’t know, I teach 8th grade physical science).  After having been out of school for the summer for about 2 weeks prior to the training, I forgot how much I enjoy summer break and how easy it is to fall into a routine that doesn’t involve thinking about and planning for school.  The training involved a LOT of thinking and homework after the day long sessions, so by the end of the day, I needed a mental break.

Monday evening, I taught TRX after having been in the DD training from 8-3 and then finishing up the homework that was assigned by about 5 pm.  By the time bedtime rolled around, I was exhausted.  I did get up Tuesday morning for a run before heading back to the DD training at school, but I was mentally drained all day long.  I tweaked my left knee a bit at some point (not sure if it was teaching TRX Monday evening or on the run Tuesday morning) and it was rather tender, so I decided to take Wednesday completely off of working out.  Thursday I went on a short 2 mile run with a colleague who is just getting into running and Friday we completed 2.5 miles.

Saturday I ran 9.5 miles, went and picked fresh strawberries at our local Berry Patch, went to lunch with my husband, got a new pair of non-running shoes (that RARELY happens), took a nap, took the dogs to the lake for a swim, worked in the kitchen prepping food and read part of a book before heading to bed for the evening…what a GREAT day!!  I did still have some knee twinges, so I was apprehensive for Sunday’s workout.

Our Strawberries from the Berry Patch...YUMMY!!
Our Strawberries from the Berry Patch…YUMMY!!
The dogs loving the water on a beautiful day!!
The dogs loving the water on a beautiful day!!

When I woke up Sunday morning, I had no knee twinges and went for a 2 hour bike ride immediately followed by a 30 minute run…the bike ride covered nearly 37 miles at an average speed of 18.4 mph (my fastest yet) and my 30 minute run covered 3.34 miles at an average pace of 8:42…I was VERY happy with this workout.  I kept waiting all day for that knee twinge to reappear, but it never did 🙂

I am looking forward to a much more productive workout week this coming week!!

2 thoughts on “Unintentional Recovery Week

  1. Those berries are making my mouth water! There’s nothing better than strawberries right out of the garden 🙂

    Glad your knee is ok! And, awesome brick on Sunday! Rest does a body good 🙂

  2. Thanks Erin!! Those strawberries were AMAZING!! We are looking forward to going and picking some fresh raspberries soon…yummy!! Rest does do a body good, even when it isn’t planned 🙂

Leave a Reply

