Customized Coaching

While writing a recent post thanking my coach, it got me thinking about customized coaching and why I highly recommend it for any athlete.

There are a variety of training plans available for people to use or refer to while training for races of many different distances.  When I first started training, I used a variety of these training plans, pulling bits and pieces from each, to help me reach my goals.  After doing this for about 6 years, I felt like my training and racing had plateaued.  I decided it was time to take my training and racing to the next level…so I hired Coach Julie with Zoom Performance Endurance Coaching to help me.

Zoom Orb

I have found many advantages to have a customized coach:

  1. My customized training plan is designed for my physiology, my goals, my schedule and where I am at mentally.  If changes need to be made due to schedule conflicts or injuries (on those rare occasions), it happens seamlessly.
  2. My workouts are designed with a purpose in mind…I’m not just doing a workout for the sake of completing it.  Instead, I am trying to achieve a certain goal/purpose to help better prepare me for my race day.
  3. I am held accountable to someone instead of to a training plan that has been designed for the average athlete.  Without someone holding me accountable, it is much easier to skip a workout with little guilt.
  4. I am paying Coach Julie.  Some people would see this as a disadvantage, but for me it is a definite advantage…by paying for her coaching services and knowledge, I am often reminded of the need to complete my workouts to the best of my abilities so that I truly get what I am paying for.
  5. It requires me to be dedicated and complete my workouts as prescribed.
  6. My training zones have been established for me to use during my training workouts.  Power output can also easily be established (now if I just had some extra money laying around for a power meter on my bike…hmmm).
  7. Coach Julie has helped me develop my strengths…swimming and running
  8. She has also helped me improve my weaknesses…cycling and mental toughness
  9. She has helped me find my limits and push past them to become a stronger, faster athlete.  As a result, I have passed through that plateau and I am seeing improvements in my training and racing 🙂
  10. Having a customized coach is the right thing to do.  When it comes to race day execution, the customized coaching has never let me down.

There are probably many other reasons that I have forgotten to mention, but the most important point…EVERY ATHLETE should hire a knowledgable and reputable coach to customize their training plan and help them meet their goals!!

8 thoughts on “Customized Coaching

  1. I tried hiring a personal trainer for my biking/running goals this year. Alas, it did not work out for me. Maybe I don’t have the necessary dedication, but I just felt so uncomfortable and out of place around the grunty lifters at the gym that I couldn’t make myself go. I miss the little gym in Ames.

    1. Katie, were you hiring the personal trainer to get strength training tips/support to enhance your biking/running, or were you hoping for more of a coaching perspective to help you improve your biking/running? Having Julie as my coach has given me a plan, but I still have to implement it. I don’t see her in person much (unless I need/want to) and she sets up my workouts online one week at a time, changing them as needed. The coach may be the way to go for you!!

      1. I was hoping to get some training on what I was doing wrong that got me injured all the time, which has really hampered my running. I was hoping for some encouragement, too, but I felt more like I was being judged for how weak and flabby I am. I’m now seeing a chiropractor who is a runner, and that has helped. But he has given me exercises to do, too, and I just have a really hard time forcing myself to do any kind of strength training. It’s just not fulfilling the way completing a run is, and it’s hard with my busy schedule to force myself to find the time. I know – excuses, excuses.

      2. I’m sorry you had a bad experience with your former trainer!! I’ve found that having a “workout partner” helps me to get to the gym for strength training, even if I might not want to go. I hope you can find someone to be your “workout partner” and help motivate you 🙂

  2. I wish I could afford a coach but at the moment I cannot, the entry fees for Shep 70.3 and IMOZ, and the subsequent accomodation tapped out my tri budget. Hopefully one day when I am working I’ll be able to, as I would really like to see how far I can go in this sport. At the moment however I am content to just finish my races as best I can following a plan. It sounds like you are definitely getting great benefits from customized coaching, good for you! 🙂

    1. Thanks Simone!! I completely understand. When I first started training, I didn’t have a coach that would customize my workouts, but after 6 years of the “Do-It-Yourself” method, I decided it was best for me. You have a great support system (especially those of us following your blog:) ) to help hold you accountable to your training and push you to do your best on race days!!

  3. I couldn’t agree more! Hiring a coach has been so beneficial and helped get me out of my comfort zone. However, I wish I would have researched coaches a bit more in depth than I did. Eight weeks out from ironman, and I don’t feel my training is ramping up to where it should be (which is why I’m switching it up this last push).

  4. So glad you have a coach working with you!! Just be careful not to switch it up too much…you don’t want injuries showing up this close to race day. I can’t believe you are only 8 weeks away…my how time flies!!

Leave a Reply

