Celebrating my Independence

As a very independent woman (sometimes this causes some scuttle in our household), I enjoy celebrating Independence Day!!  In honor of Independence Day falling on Thursday of this last week, I decided to do a week long celebration and document my Red, White and Blue week through photography.

Monday, July 1, 2013:  Today was a day in red…

I went to Furman Aquatic Center and swam 2660 yards on the short end of the pool (23.75 yard distance for one length).  When I got done with my swim, I decided to try water walking.   The Lazy River was open for water walking and while some people were walking with the current, I wanted more of a challenge and instead walked with those people walking against the current for 30 minutes.  I really enjoyed the water walking as a different way to keep moving!!
I went to Furman Aquatic Center and swam 2660 yards on the short end of the pool (23.75 yard distance for one length). When I got done with my swim, I decided to try water walking. The Lazy River was open for water walking and while some people were walking with the current, I wanted more of a challenge and instead walked with those people walking against the current for 30 minutes. I really enjoyed the water walking as a different way to keep moving!!
Monday afternoon, my husband and I went for a leisure bike ride on our cross bikes through the woods near our house.  We had fun covering 4 miles in 30 minutes on very uneven terrain, while enjoying the picture Mother Nature has so beautifully painted.  It was also fun to get out on Molly the Raleigh.  We definitely don't get to spend enough time together during triathlon training!!
Monday afternoon, my husband and I went for a leisure bike ride on our cross bikes through the woods near our house. We had fun covering 4 miles in 30 minutes, while enjoying the picture Mother Nature has so beautifully painted. It was also fun to get out on Molly the Raleigh…we definitely don’t get to spend enough time together during triathlon training!!

Tuesday, July 2, 2013:  I went for white and blue today…

Tuesday morning we woke up to a BEAUTIFUL July morning.  It was 61 degrees at 5:15 am when we started our 8 mile run.  It is mornings like these that make me feel like I could run forever!!
Tuesday morning we woke up to a BEAUTIFUL July morning!! It was 61 degrees at 5:15 am when we started our 8 mile run. It is mornings like these that make me feel like I could run forever…covering 8 miles in 1:12:29…what fun!!  I got to see a gorgeous sunrise with wonderful company doing what I love!!  What an amazing way to start the day!!
After running, I went to the gym to complete a one hour strength training session.
After running, I went to the gym to complete a one hour strength training session.

Wednesday, July 3, 2013:  My day in Blue

While 58 degrees at 6 am may feel a bit chilly to most people...especially when getting into the pool for an outdoor swim, it was a BEAUTIFUL morning!!  I got to enjoy swimming in the 50 meter pool, which included a 1000 meter straight swim.  I swam this 1000 meters in 20:40, which gave me an average pace of 1:53 per 100 yards.  I was pretty happy with this!!
While 58 degrees at 6 am may feel a bit chilly to most people…especially when getting into the pool for an outdoor swim, I thought it was a BEAUTIFUL morning!! I got to enjoy swimming in the 50 meter pool, which included a 1000 meter straight swim. I swam this 1000 meters in 20:40, which gave me an average pace of 1:53 per 100 yards. I’ll take that!!
I went for a 37 mile bike ride on the High Tressel Trail system at 2 pm.  It was a BEAUTIFUL day to be outside and enjoy Mother Nature!!
I went for a 37 mile bike ride on the High Tressel Trail system at 2 pm. It was a BEAUTIFUL day to be outside and enjoy Mother Nature!!

Thursday, July 4, 2013:  Today was a rest day…we had a very fun and busy day to celebrate Independence Day!!

We started the day by sleeping in and then heading downtown on our cross bikes for free buttermilk pancakes served at City Hall by the City of Ames employees.  It was a fun way to start our day!!
We started the day by sleeping in and then headed downtown on our cross bikes for free buttermilk pancakes served at City Hall by the City of Ames employees. It was a fun way to start our day!!
The dogs loving the water on a beautiful day!!
We took the dogs to the local watering hole for a great afternoon swim!!
We finished off the great day with some amazing friends, a campfire and smores.  What a great day!!!
We finished off the great day with some amazing friends, a campfire and smores. What a great day!!!

Friday, July 5, 2013:  Our Century Ride…I’m in white and blue today

Our Century Ride route..
Our Century Ride route through Central Iowa..
What a great way to spend the day...with great friends, doing what I love...riding bikes!!
What a great way to spend the day…with great friends, doing what I love…riding bikes…both on the roads and trails in Central Iowa!!  Our goal for the day was just to complete 100 miles (not aiming for a certain speed/pace), enjoy each other’s company and enjoy what started out as a beautiful Iowa day!!
On our way to the High Tressel Trail (top), a few of the men needed to relieve themselves (bottom)...
On our way to the High Tressel Trail (top), a few of the men needed to relieve themselves (bottom)…
A few awesome hill climbs scattered throughout the ride provided for some amazing scenery!!  We did have a train that we had to wait for as well as a flat tire (by my husband), but we finished our 100 miles in style!!
A few hill climbs scattered throughout the ride provided for some amazing scenery!! We did have a train that we had to wait for as well as a flat tire (by my husband), but we finished our 100 miles in style!!  Oh yeah…at about 11 am the furnace kicked on and that beautiful morning turned into a scorching afternoon…

Saturday, July 6, 2013:  Today was a day in blue (and black) while donning my red and white Mojo…

After yesterday's century ride, I was anticipating a sore bum when I donned Mojo for my brick workout, but I was pleasantly surprised...No sore bum, legs felt GREAT and I was strong and able to push forward at a surprising speed (especially into the headwind).  Bike:  average speed was 17.5 mph for 25 miles...Run: 9:18 average pace for 5 miles.
After yesterday’s century ride, I was anticipating a sore bum when I donned Mojo for my brick workout, but I was pleasantly surprised…No sore bum, legs felt GREAT and I was strong and able to push forward at a surprising speed (especially into the headwind). Bike: average speed was 17.5 mph for 25 miles…Run: 9:18 average pace for 5 miles.  The run was a bit of a challenge as we were running in the heat of the day (90+ degrees), but I finished strong!!  I was pleasantly surprised with how well this workout finished up.

Sunday, July 7, 2013:  Another day in blue…

Woke up early to go for a 2 hour run, which ended up being exactly 13 miles at an average pace of 9:16.  It was a very muggy morning...so muggy that during the last couple of miles, I had sweat so much that my shoes were squishy and squeaking water with every foot fall.
Woke up early for a 2 hour run, which ended up being exactly 13 miles at an average pace of 9:16. It was a VERY muggy morning…so muggy that during the last couple of miles, I had sweat so much that my shoes were squishy and squeaking sweat with every foot fall.  This was a challenging run after all of the other workouts that I completed this weekend…it wasn’t pretty, but I finished!
A great afternoon at The Pits with some friends
An awesome late morning swim at The Pits with some friends and all the dogs…what a great way to end the AMAZING Independence Week!!
4 thoughts on “Celebrating my Independence

  1. WAIT!!!!! You mean the short laps at Furman are SHORT???? I thought I was being totally awesome my first swim back with my stroke count and lap times!!!! GRRRRRR!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

