Train Smart in the Heat!!

With the summer temperatures in full swing, I have learned a few lessons while training in the heat…

  1. Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate…It is important to hydrate well during a workout as well as immediately following the workout and throughout the day.  I have found that Coconut Water is a GREAT hydrating fluid both during a workout and immediately following the workout…it is mighty tasty too!!hydration
  2. Time of day matters…As the temperatures climb throughout the day, it is important to get the workouts done early in the day before the heat of the day zaps your energy and has the potential to take you out of commission for multiple days on end if you suffer from heat exhaustion or heat stroke.
  3. Shade is my friend…When working out, find a route that offers as much shade as possible.  The direct sunlight will only further zap your energy!!
  4. Pacing…When working out in the heat, SLOW DOWN!!  Not just during the workout, but from the start.  Often times we start off too fast and then slow down when the heat takes its toll, but if we started off slower, we would find that we may not overheat.

While I don’t enjoy running in the heat of the day during the summer months, I do realize that when competing in triathlons, this will be the time of day when I am most likely to run.  Since the swim and bike come before the run in a triathlon, I will often find myself running closer to the heat of the day, so I need to be consistent and train for the run portion of these events during similar times of the day to better acclimate myself for race day.  The key…train smart in the heat!!

4 thoughts on “Train Smart in the Heat!!

  1. Great tips! I’ve really been trying to focus on hydrating, not just during my workouts, but throughout the day leading up to them. Lime (or lemon) water is the best! And, I’m a big fan of coconut water post-workout, too 🙂

  2. Great post and I couldn’t agree more. The hardest for me is to slow down. It never feels like its a good of a workout but with the added stress of the heat its probably a better workout in the end.

Leave a Reply

