USA Triathlon Olympic-Distance National Championship…Oh My!!

Saturday morning I competed in the Lake Geode Challenge Triathlon and was super ecstatic about getting 2nd in my age group!!  Little did I know that it would only get better…

Tuesday morning when I checked my email, what should I find in my inbox?!?!?!?

The email I received letting me know I had qualified for Nationals...WHAT?!?!?!?!?
The email I received letting me know I had qualified for Nationals…WHAT?!?!?!?!?!

I had NO idea Lake Geode Challenge Triathlon was a qualifying race, NOR did even think I could/would qualify for Nationals!!  This was a HUGE decision to make!!  Olympic-Distance National Championship is on August 10, 2013…my 70.3 race is on August 25, 2013.  I still have this lingering goal of breaking 6 hours on the 70.3 distance, but if I race at nationals, I’m unsure of how that will factor into pushing my limits and breaking that 6 hour barrier in Duluth on August 25.

I immediately emailed Coach Julie and asked for her opinion.  Her response, “The timing isn’t awesome, but it’s not terrible either. Nationals is close to home this year & next, but next year will not be a good year for you to do it. So, I say if you want to do it, this is the year! Whatever way you choose, I’ll make it happen.”

I pondered this for most of the day, but came to the following decision…

Screen shot 2013-07-16 at 9.47.28 PM

Yes…I am racing at the National Championship on August 10 and then turning around and racing my 70.3 a short 2 weeks later.  Crazy????  Maybe, but this is an opportunity that may not come my way for quite some time, so I’m going to take advantage of this opportunity!!  Seize the day!!

10 thoughts on “USA Triathlon Olympic-Distance National Championship…Oh My!!

  1. I’m trying to qualify for next year and will be likely doing a 70.3 4-6 weeks afterwards. I’m hoping to use it as more of a tune up race. I’ve only heard good things about this race though!

  2. WOW, you go girl!!! Congratulations that is huge and too good to pass up on, you are going to do AWESOME!! 🙂

    1. Thanks Simone!! I was shocked by the news, but super excited and am lucky to get the opportunity to compete against the best age groupers in the Nation. I am even more lucky that the competition is only 5 hours from our home!! I am excited and can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

