Wahoo…I Killed that Workout!!!!

This last week I had a few workouts that challenged me both physically and mentally, but I killed them!! 🙂

Monday:  2500 yard short ladder swim…Coach planned for it to take me an hour, but I finished in 55 minutes and felt great!!

2500 yard Short Ladder workout complete

2500 yard Short Ladder workout complete

Tuesday:  6×800 repeats at a 7:05-7:15 pace…At 5 am I headed to the gym to complete this workout on the treadmill.  I knew running on the treadmill would force me to hit the desired pace and to maintain it.  I went into this workout with doubt that I could complete the workout as planned, but I surprised myself and was both physically and mentally stronger than I had thought.  I ended up doing the first 4 repeats at a 7:13 pace and the last two repeats at a 7:08 pace.  When I was getting ready to start repeat #5, the following song came on…

YES I watch CMT (Country Music Television) while I run on the treadmill…fittingly enough, the line “I don’t want easy, I want crazy” stuck with me and motivated me to successfully complete the repeat…that and the fact that a friend of mine would be running 50 miles today during a day of RAGBRAI…he might be crazy 🙂

6x800 repeats at a 7:11 average pace complete

6×800 repeats at a 7:11 average pace complete

I followed up the run with an hour of strength training…felt good to get back in the gym and lift some weights!!

Wednesday:  2900 yard Ladder to 300 Build swim…I ended up going to the 50 meter pool in the morning, so my 2900 yards turned into 3171 and my 300 yard swim at race pace ended up being a 300 meter swim at race pace.  I was very happy with my 6:02 time for this 300 meters.

Good thing the water was warmer than the 57 degree Fahrenheit air temperature at 6 am!!  Look at the "fog" on top of the water...chilly morning for an outdoor swim!!

Good thing the water was warmer than the 57 degree Fahrenheit air temperature at 6 am!! Look at the “fog” on top of the water…chilly morning for an outdoor swim!!

Brick with Z2/Z3 intervals on the bike and 20 min build on the run…I biked 18.52 miles in 1:03:00 giving me an average of 17.7 mph on the bike.  I felt really good about this speed…it is a huge improvement for me over where I was last year (and previous years) at this time.  I followed this up with a short 2.5 mile run, where my first mile was at an 8:26 pace, mile 2 was at a 7:40 pace and the last 0.52 miles was at a 7:34 pace.  Yesterday’s treadmill workout gave me the confidence to push a little harder than I would have otherwise on the run portion of today’s brick, and I felt AWESOME!!

Getting ready to kill this brick workout!!

Getting ready to kill this brick workout!!

Thursday:  60 minute run how you feel…I met a couple of girlfriends at 5 am to run outside with them.  I think the cool weather (58 degrees Fahrenheit) may have caused us to push a little harder than we had planned, but we had fun running, chatting and enjoying girl time with great friends.  We ended up running 7.0 miles in 1:01:24, which was an 8:46 average pace…not bad after my workouts from the previous 2 days.

7 mile run at 5 am with girlfriends...just missing one :(

7 mile run at 5 am with girlfriends…just missing one 😦

I again followed up the early morning run with a strength training session at the gym…50 minutes done 🙂

Friday:  2000 yard Base 200 swim..I like to call this workout 200s galore…I really focused on form with this swim workout and not on speed.  With only a swim workout today, it was a good recovery day going into the weekend.

Swim gear after my base 200 swim

Swim gear after my base 200 swim

Saturday:  Steady Pace Run for 1:30:00…I ran Saturday morning with about 20 other people at 6 am.  It was an unseasonably cool July morning…the temperature was about 50 degrees at 6 am in central Iowa, but it was PERFECT running weather!!  I think this cool weather caused us to push a little bit faster, since we finished 11.0 miles in 1:34:25, which was an 8:34 average pace 🙂

Beautiful Saturday morning run complete!!

Beautiful Saturday morning run complete!!

Sunday:  Steady Pace 50 mile bike ride…Who would have thought that we would need arm warmers and full fingered gloves to ride our bikes in July in central Iowa?!?!?  With temperatures in the upper 40s at 7 am…yes you read that correctly…the warmer gear was needed this morning!!  As for a steady pace…I’m not sure that was attained.  We had a rather challenging headwind while riding north, which meant a slower pace.  When heading south, we had a nice tailwind, which meant a faster pace.  Because of the winds, I didn’t focus on maintaining a steady pace as much a steady heart rate…I focused on upper zone 2 and lower zone 3.  We ended up riding 51 miles in 2:54:00, which gave us an average pace of 17.6 mph.  I was pretty happy with this since I did most of the pulling into the headwind. 🙂

Decked out in my arm warmers and full fingered gloves ready to ride around central Iowa in July.

Decked out in my arm warmers and full fingered gloves ready to ride around central Iowa in July.

After the bike ride, I went to yoga with the hopes of helping my body find balance after this last week of workouts.  There was a different instructor…this can be good to challenge people in different ways.  This morning I didn’t feel like I found balance and felt a little cheated.  What I did get was a 15 minute nap during savasana.  Yes…I think I actually fell asleep 🙂

Non-training News:

Tuesday was Tim’s birthday and we were privileged to spend time with family celebrating…

Tim and his cake as well as my 96 year old grandfather with my 2 year old niece...Grandpa was encouraging Fiona to stick her fingers in Tim's cake.  We also know how to burn birthday candles

Tim and his cake…we know how to burn birthday candles in the Place household.  My 96 year old grandfather with my 2 year old niece…Grandpa was encouraging Fiona to stick her fingers in Tim’s cake.

Sunday evening we were blessed to spend time with close friends who have been on vacation on the east coast for the last 4 weeks.  I am so glad they are home!!

Glad to have good friends home from their summer vacation!!

Glad to have good friends home from their summer vacation!!

4 thoughts on “Wahoo…I Killed that Workout!!!!

  1. kruzmeister says:

    Nice work Kecia, you’ve got me all inspired to get stuck into this week after being off sick with the flu, cannot wait for my run and swim tomorrow now!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

