What’s Your Mantra????

With USA Triathlon Olympic Distance National Championships only a few days away, it got me thinking about mantras.  I have a few phrases that run through my mind during the different disciplines of a triathlon while I’m racing…

swim strong, cycle fast, run to win

While swimming:  “Just keep swimming” and “Breathe, focus, swim straight”

While biking:  “I am focused, I am relaxed” and “I am strong, I am tough”

While running:  “Think strong, be strong, finish strong” and “I am tougher than the rest” I also play the song “Another one bites the dust” in my head as I pass people on the run and I always remember Chrissie Wellington’s mantra… “Smile”

So…what’s your mantra?????

6 thoughts on “What’s Your Mantra????

  1. “Just keep swimming/pedaling/running!” “Maintain forward momentum.” The farther along I get, it becomes “Too far too quit. Might as well finish!” And lately, as I get more frustrated & discouraged, it’s a lot of “Do you want to do this or not? Then do it!”

  2. I tell myself “Get comfortable.” – this forces my mind and body to relax and ease into a good race pace. “Put a little oomph in it.” or “Grind it out” – for when times get tough I force myself to push harder.

    I like your “Just keep swimming” mantra (reminds me of Finding Nemo) 🙂

  3. I just blogged about mantras! Lately I’ve been focusing on: It always seems impossible until it is done and one foot in front of the other. Both have helped immensely on long runs! Love Chrissie Wellington’s mantra, too!

    1. I really like the first one you use, “It always seems impossible until it is done.” My mantras seemed to serve me well this last weekend and I was rewarded with Chrissie Wellington placing my medal around my neck. That blog post should be coming soon. Thanks for sharing Erin!!

Leave a Reply

