Tri Kit Report

Why give the SOAS tri kit a try?  Give the TRI kit a TRY…get it…I crack myself up 🙂  Here are the reasons why I decided to give the SOAS tri kit a try:

  1. Over the last 10 years, I have had MANY issues with chaffing on my chest (front and center) where my sports bra sits.  I have tried many different brands and styles of sports bras…I always have the same problem…chaffing, bleeding, pain and suffering.
  2. I have seen hundreds of women athletes racing in SOAS racing apparel in a variety of races, ranging from Olympic-distance triathlons to Ironman distance triathlons.  If so many women are racing in the SOAS brand, it must be great…right?!?!?!
  3. SOAS is a woman’s only company…”We are women’s specific…A clothing line for women in triathlon and endurance sports.”  This must mean they know what they are doing…right?!?!?! 🙂  The unisex brands aren’t working, so maybe a women’s only company is the key.
My new SOAS tri kit
My new SOAS tri kit…I decided to go with the tri kit since it has the built in shelf bra.  The running tank does not have this feature and with the chaffing problems I’ve had in the chest area, I knew a top without a built in bra would require me to continue to seek out a sports bra that would work…maybe the tri top without the additional sports bra is the ticket??????

Let’s put it to the test…

1st Run:  I wore my new tri kit for the first time on an 8 mile run and loved it!!  I had no chaffing and was super happy about this!!

2nd Run:  I decided to really put it to the test and wore it on a long run of 16 miles…this 16 mile run took place on a very humid morning. As a matter of fact, when I was done running, I had sweat so much that my shoes and socks were squishing moisture with every step. So what did I find on that 16 mile run???? I LOVED my tri kit!! It was saturated with sweat, but did not chaf anywhere!! YAY!!

3rd Run:  I continued to put this tri kit to the test on a 2nd 8 mile run…no chaffing.

The tri top has 2 large pockets in the back, while the shorts have 3 smaller pockets in the back.  When the shorts were loaded with nutrition, there was no need for a nutrition belt :)
The tri top has 2 large pockets in the back, while the shorts have 3 smaller pockets in the back. When the shorts were loaded with nutrition, there was no need for a nutrition belt 🙂

4th Run:  What would happen on a 20 mile run???  Let’s find out…my 20 mile run occurred on a Friday after work.  When I started running, it was about 80 degrees with about 90% humidity and very little wind.  By mile 7 I was SOAKED in my own sweat…I am a VERY heavy sweater.  I was squishing sweat from my shoes and socks with every step I took for the last 13 miles of my run.  While my feet were a mess because of this, I did NOT have ANY chaffing issues in the chest area.  Are you kidding?!?!?!  Usually I’m bleeding out the chest because of all the chaffing.  While this was a HUGE advantage, I also found another advantage to the tri kit…I decided to use the pockets in the back of the shorts to carry my nutrition instead of wearing my nutrition belt.  With my shorts loaded down with nutrition, there was no motion (bouncing, sliding, etc.) while running.  I was VERY surprised and happy with how snug my shorts were (even loaded with nutrition) and how comfortable the entire tri kit was.  I may have just found the perfect training and racing outfit!!

I'm completely soaked in my own sweat and this is only mile 10 of our 20 mile run...I realize the turkeys are done.  That is one of the problems of being a woman athlete :)
I’m completely soaked in my own sweat and this is only mile 10 of our 20 mile run…I realize the turkeys are done. That is one of the problems of being a woman athlete 🙂

My Rating:  On a scale of 1-10, I rate the SOAS Tri Kit a 9.5.  Why not a 10???  For a reason NO company has yet to resolve…I want my clothes to stay completely dry, even when I am sweating enough to fill a small swimming pool 🙂  I know that is wishful thinking, but one can dream…

14 thoughts on “Tri Kit Report

    1. Thanks!! As you know, it has been a long time coming. I agree we will probably be waiting for quite some time on having completely dry apparel when exercising, but I will still keep dreaming 😉

  1. Great report. I cannot use shelf bras. My gals are too big for that, but i have long searched for a tri kit that has a short waste and a space for the chest without then leaving a gaping drop in the fabric at the neck. I am so going to look into this!! Thanks!!

      1. I’m not a little person, on a journey to lose weight. They aren’t quite big enough for me. So I will have to wait. I guess. Like every other nice piece of clothing. 😦

Leave a Reply

