Ironman World Championships 2013

Saturday afternoon, the Iron Hippie and I rode our bikes in the pain cave while watching the Ironman World Championships 2013.

Ironman World Championships 2013
Ironman World Championships 2013

Yes…I know I was told by the doctor that I need to rest, but she did grant me permission to try to ride my bike EASY for one hour on the trainer on Saturday.  If there was any pain, I was to quit.  The good news…I had NO pain!!  🙂  The bad news…I really wanted to push the pace and do a more challenging workout, BUT I followed the doctor’s orders and only rode 12.44 miles in one hour.  I was EXTREMELY happy just to be exercising… 🙂

So happy to be exercising...even if it was an EASY ride
So happy to be exercising…even if it was an EASY ride

Since Ironman Wisconsin is only about 10 months away, I could use a little pick me up…especially while I am temporarily injured.  Watching the Ironman World Championships is incredibly motivating and a reminder on so many levels for why I am racing Ironman Wisconsin for a 2nd time!!  It was also a reminder that even though I’m injured, there are still many things I can be doing to exercise while resting my legs.  This was just the motivation I needed to start waking up early in the mornings again and go to the gym!!

2 thoughts on “Ironman World Championships 2013

  1. Sorry you are injured! I live in Wisconsin and was going to do the Racine 70.3 as my first 1/2 IM. I was persuaded by some friends to do Steelhead instead in Benton Harbor Michigan. It’s a dream of mine to do the WI full IM some day. Good luck with you training!

    1. Thank you!! I went to PT tonight and was released to swim, strength train and bike, so I am on the mend. I finished Ironman Wisconsin in 2011 and am excited to race this course again and improve on my last experience. Have a great race in Steelhead!! I LOVE the half IM distance!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

