What Motivates You?

Since my most recent post was about excuses for not completing workouts, I decided the next step is to be more uplifting and motivating. With the Holidays and fewer hours of daylight upon us, I feel as though November should really be Nomotivationember and December should be Didnotgetoffthecouchember.  Stress levels are typically higher and motivation is typically diminished…sometimes obsolete.  Runner’s World recently posted their top “101 Kicks in the Butt” to motivate a person.  The following are things that I do to help motivate me:

  1. Sign up for races and set goals…I find that when I have signed up for my “A race” and set challenging, yet achievable goals, I do a much better job of completing my scheduled workouts.

    Registration confirmation for IRONMAN Wisconsin 2014

    Registration confirmation for IRONMAN Wisconsin 2014

  2. Blogging…I enjoy sharing my journey with others.  The highs, the lows and everything in between.  Knowledge is power…I enjoy learning from others and if others can learn from me, we are all empowered.
  3. Social Media…to stay motivated through the Holidays, I posted on Facebook that, “I will not miss a scheduled workout between Thanksgiving and Christmas.”  By the time Christmas comes around, I’ll be back into a routine and ready to start training for IRONMAN Wisconsin again.  This means early morning workouts as well as workouts after work most days of the week.  Getting back into this routine now will be a good launching point for IRONMAN training 🙂
  4. Posting motivational photos and quotes around the house…I’m not sure what the Iron Hippie thinks of this when he wakes up and sees one posted on the bathroom mirror or refrigerator, but I change them out weekly to mix things up and keep us motivated.      IMG_2371
  5. Books…I enjoy reading books about triathlon, running, mental training, personal autobiographies as they relate to training and racing, etc.  They are inspirational, motivational and help keep me focused (both during training and racing).

    Some of my motivational and inspiring reads...

    Some of my motivational and inspiring reads…

  6. Motivational Money Jar…My husband and I each have a motivational money jar.  How does it work?  If I complete my scheduled workouts for the day, I put a dollar in my jar for each scheduled workout I complete (extra workouts don’t count).  If I miss a workout, the dollar that was supposed to go in my jar goes into the Iron Hippie’s jar.  I would much rather pay myself than him, so let’s get that workout done!!

    Here are our two motivational $ jars.  Our names are on the tops of the jars.

    Here are our two motivational $ jars. Our names are on the tops of the jars.

4 thoughts on “What Motivates You?

  1. These are great motivations, especially signing up for an ‘A’ race! I also love your money jar idea. That’s awesome, and you can use it to buy race swag or race entries!
    I’ve been pretty motivated over the last couple months, but I think it’s going to wane soon if I don’t figure out my A race, or any for that matter!

  2. Love the idea of a motivation money jar! And, fun to make it a bit of a competition, too 🙂 I’m a sucker for motivational / inspirational quotes, too… it’s by far my biggest pinterest board. I think my main source of motivation (I’ve had a draft blog post about it for months) is intrinsic… I like to push myself to see what I can do, how far I can go and to be my best!

    • I completely understand the intrinsic motivation Erin!! That is how I live and breathe. The Iron Hippie is definitely extrinsically motivated…in nearly all aspects of his life. I have found these extrinsic motivational strategies even more motivating for me as well. Funny how that works 😉

Leave a Reply

