Who stole my balance?

Thanks to Erin’s post on balance, I have been thinking a lot about the balance (or lack there of) in my life.  In 2011 while training for IRONMAN Wisconsin, the Iron Hippie and I seemed to have a one track mind…train, train, train.  We didn’t have a plan in place for keeping up with all the laundry, keeping the house clean, preparing healthy meals at home so we weren’t eating out all the time, spending quality time with each other (off of our bikes, out of the pool, away from the gym, or not in our running shoes), getting adequate sleep (sometimes this wasn’t a problem, while other times it was a huge challenge), spending quality time with family and friends…the list goes on and on.

balance

When I look back at my training in 2011, I don’t think it was as balanced as it could have been either.  I wasn’t incorporating consistent strength training into my schedule, I wasn’t incorporating yoga into my training, I wasn’t eating to train (instead…I was training to eat) and I had no idea how to train mentally for something as big as Ironman (not that I did much mental training for any of my previous races…).

Since the Iron Hippie and I signed up for IRONMAN Wisconsin 2014, we decided to take a look at our lives and try to schedule time for us to find balance in our lives.  Monday evenings have been set aside for date night, social outings with friends, or just an opportunity to organize our lives for the rest of the week.  We are hoping that setting aside Mondays evenings every week will allow us to have more balance in our lives.  We tried to implement this new plan a few months ago, but then life happened…we were frantically trying to finish the fire pit/patio before our new fence was installed, then we were on vacation in Madison, Wisconsin signing up for IRONMAN Wisconsin 2014, followed by the death of my Grandfather.  Needless to say, there was a 3 week period in September that was a whirl wind!!  It took some time, but we got our lives back into a routine.  We have successfully implemented our Monday balance check (as I call it) for a couple of months…date night, organizing our lives for the week, cleaning house, doing laundry, preparing meals.  So far, it has worked like a charm…we are finding more balance.  I have also been doing a much better job of incorporating strength training and hot yoga into my weekly training regimen to help keep my body in balance as well.  Here’s to a much more successful and balanced IRONMAN training year!!

Yin and Yang balance vs fast, hard, best

8 thoughts on “Who stole my balance?

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your grandfather. Sending hugs!

    Love that you guys set Mondays as your night to check-in! Nick and I need to do that, too, during IMWI training. It’s so easy to get caught up in all the training and forget about all the other things that need attention. Working on strength training + yoga each week, too!

    1. Thanks Erin!! Grandpa was 96 and lived a monumental life. While we are sad he’s gone, we can’t complain since he lived at home and was in great health until about 2 weeks before his passing.

      Thank you for the reminder to focus in on balance prior to our next IRONMAN journey 🙂

  2. I’m about to embark on my first IM journey, and I think that this is one of my major concerns – making sure that I’m taking care of the other parts of my life.

    1. As long as you are aware of balancing life Kristina, you should be fine. We’ve found that setting aside one evening a week just for that really helps!! Which race are you doing?

Leave a Reply

