Recovery Smoothies

The Iron Hippie and I often make smoothies post working out.  Here are just a few of our more recent favorite recovery smoothies:

spinach, oj, pear, banana, cinnamon, agave, egg white protein powder
spinach, oj, peach, cinnamon, maple syrup, egg white protein powder
beets, mixed berries (sometimes just blueberries), oj, cinnamon, agave and egg white protein powder
beets, mixed berries (sometimes just blueberries), oj, cinnamon, agave and egg white protein powder
peach, blueberry, oj, cinnamon, agave, flax oil and egg white protein powder
peach, blueberry, almond milk, cinnamon, agave, flax oil and egg white protein powder
chocolate almond milk, almond butter, banana, cinnamon, Thin Mints Girl Scout Cookies...not the healthiest smoothie, but definitely tasty
chocolate almond milk, almond butter, banana, cinnamon, Thin Mints Girl Scout Cookies and egg white protein powder…not the healthiest smoothie, but definitely tasty

**We never measure…just dump 🙂

What are your favorite ingredients to put in smoothies?

14 thoughts on “Recovery Smoothies

  1. We normally add chia seeds, hemp seeds, nutritional yeast, goji berries and some kind of wheat grass mixture in with our smoothies. I have one for breakfast every day.

    1. I love the idea of chia seeds, hemp seeds and gogi berries. I’ve never tried nutritional yeast or wheat grass, but they sound like they could be really beneficial ingredients. Thanks for sharing!! I can’t wait to try some of these 🙂

  2. I have one every day too, usually banana, strawberries, apples, soy milk, flaxseeds, chia seeds…. whatever I have around that is healthy enough to go into my post workout drink.

    1. I love the idea of chia seeds. We have them in the cupboard, but I forget to incorporate them into our smoothies. I am going to set them out on the counter so I don’t forget to use them 🙂

  3. Ha ha- I love the last one with Girl Scout cookies in it 🙂
    My go-to smoothie is mixed berries, soy milk, a banana, and spinach. However, I tried pinapple in them recently and it’s incredible!

  4. Mmm… these all sound delicious! I’m curious about the egg white protein… can you taste it or is it tasteless? Also, beets for the win! 🙂

    1. Thanks Erin!! I don’t taste the egg white protein (we use unflavored) when there is enough other flavors in the smoothie. I do notice that the more we use it, the less I can tell that it is in the smoothie. If Tim makes the smoothie, I often ask, “Are you sure you put the egg white protein in this smoothie” since I often don’t taste it 🙂

Leave a Reply

