Spring Equinox

Yesterday the Iron Hippie and I got up, went to the gym to lift weights, did some chores at home, ran some errands, and then hit the trails on a BEAUTIFUL spring day!!  We had a BRick scheduled…2 hour ride followed by a 30 minute run…

Time to Ride!!
Time to Ride!!  33.76 miles in 2 hours = 16.8 mph…not bad for being on the trainer since January 1, 2014
Ride is done...now for the run!!
Ride is done…now for the run!!  3.42 miles in 30 minutes = 8:47/mile…This was an easy run off the bike for me

Yesterday Mother Nature decided to have a good attitude and show us what we’ve been missing all winter.  The high temperature for the day was 58F with very little winds and lots of sun.  It felt SO GREAT to exercise outdoors with the sun on my face and the breeze in my hair!!  Thank you Mother Nature for a nice weather day, even if it isn’t going to last 🙂

What did you do to “celebrate” the first day of spring?

13 thoughts on “Spring Equinox

  1. oh, I’m so jealous of your weather! I woke up to a power outage and winter storm warning! Luckily the gym was in a “powered” zone so I could get my run in! Looks like a great workout!

  2. I am 100% with you on the weather and getting out on the bike! I have been able to ride outside twice this week and have a long ride scheduled for the weekend. I have yet to do any bricks, but am looking forward to the challenge. Sounds like the transition went well for you, especially after two hours and your first time out off the trainer –> Awesome!

    1. Thanks Kristen!! It was a great day and the workout did go quite well. I am sad to see that we have cold weather and snow in the forecast starting tomorrow. Mother Nature was teasing us with the weather yesterday and today…

  3. Sounds like a distant dream to ride the bike outside in the sunshine! Way to go, lady!
    To celebrate spring I holed up in the house 🙂 Snow and cold weather came back that day!

    1. It was a dream, Abby! Sorry you got more snow. We are suppose to get more Monday and today is cold and windy. I think Mother Nature was teasing us.

    1. We are suppose to have 70F and windy this Sunday, but I’m going to get out and ride before the snow comes again next week. I agree, Jim, this winter is getting OLD!!

Leave a Reply

