The “New Normal”

Since the start of IRONMAN training, there have been a few things that have become the “new normal” in our household.  Most of these things we experienced the last time we trained for IRONMAN, but we have forgotten all about them over the last couple of years…

  1. Lycra is sexy…good thing, since that is what the Iron Hippie and I typically don.                                    IMG_3166
  2. I love your new perfume…it smells like a combination of sweat and chlorine.
  3. Food…I need FOOD!!  I carry food with me everywhere…in my glovebox, my gym bag, my swim bag, my hot yoga bag, my desk drawers at work, it’s everywhere!!  Well, not under the bed…yet 😉

    Kind granola bars in the glove box, gym bag, hot yoga bag, etc.
    Kind granola bars in the glove box, gym bag, hot yoga bag, etc.
  4. Unique tan lines that don’t mesh well with dresses and non-workout apparel…

    While this looks like neopolatin ice cream, it is actually the tan lines on my leg from triathlon shorts and cycling shorts at different lengths.
    While this looks like neapolitan ice cream, it is actually the tan lines on my leg from triathlon shorts and cycling shorts at different lengths.
  5. Laundry soap is a staple in our house…with 10+ loads of laundry a week and most of them being technical apparel.
  6. 8:00 pm and it is bed time…but the sun is still up.  WHAT?!?!?!
  7. 4:15 am…rise and shine!!  Time to start the day with a workout.  Will it be a swim, run, strength training workout, trainer session on the bike…depends on the day 😉
  8. Two-a-day workouts almost everyday… Screen shot 2014-04-20 at 7.28.00 PM
  9. Naps on the weekends…2-3 hours is great recovery!!
  10. My magical “lotion” is Hoo Ha Ride Glide Chamois cream.IMG_3184
  11. We go through Body Glide like it is water…
  12. Time for a massage…Do you want the foam roller or the stick?  Occasionally we actually get a massage from a massage therapist, but it is often a self induced massage.IMG_3183
  13. Compression calf sleeves go well with long skirts and dresses…no one even knows I’m wearing them.  IMG_3249
  14. Time is precious…working 40+ hours a week & training 15-16 hours a week (currently…this will continue to build as we get closer to race day) doesn’t leave a lot of time for house chores and socializing.

What things become “normal” when you increase your training/racing hours?

21 thoughts on “The “New Normal”

  1. Yep yep yep- sounds familiar! And then after IMWI, you will be trying to remember what you used to do when you didn’t have to train for three hours a day…

  2. Love it ! Yes I found many times thinking ‘this is where crazy becomes the new normal’ training for my 70.3 ! And the laundry….. oh my, I’m not sure how 1 person can generate so much 🙂

    1. So true!! With both my husband and I training for IRONMAN, the amount of laundry we generate and the food we consume is just ridiculous!! Since we have experienced this before, I know it will only get worse as race day approaches 😉

    1. I definitely agree Abby!! I’m already noticing that I refer to a “short ride” as being 20-30 miles, a “short swim” as being 2400 yards and a “short run” as being 10 miles. CRAZY how our perspective changes!! Thanks for adding that to my list of “new normals.” 🙂

  3. Yes!!! I agree with everyone of those!! Bed time is earlier and wake up time is earlier! I do laundry on Thursdays but by Sunday we have to do it again! The weird tan lines will be starting soon enough!!! 🙂
    I always say with Ironman training: Be prepared to be hungry and tired all.of.the.time!!!!
    How do you like the hoo-ha butter? I just get the regular chamois butt’r but they have tried to talk me into the hoo-ha before?!

    1. I agree Leslie…we are tired and hungry all of the time as well. I think this must be like child birth, because I don’t remember being this hungry and tired last time we trained for IRONMAN. I LOVE the Hoo Ha…I even have some male friends (including my husband) who uses it 😉 I would definitely recommend it!! If you try it, let me know what you think!!

  4. Great post! I love to read about how other people’s lives are affected by their training because it makes me feel normal. Most of these are completely normal for me as well.

  5. This is so my life right now. Oh that chlorine smell that never seems to really go away. I actually put on coconut lotion after my swim the other day and got all kinds of “you smell nice” compliments. Magic solution?! And food!!! I can completely relate to eating anything and everything in sight. Even when we are out to dinner I have pretty much cleaned my plate (consisting of burger, fries, etc etc) to the point where the waiter is looking at me in amazement. Yes, training will do that to a girl, Mr. Waiter, now bring me dessert!

Leave a Reply

