Lessons Learned the Hard Way While Triathlon Training

We’ve all learned a lesson or two the “hard way” at some point in our life.  I thought it would be fun enlightening to share with you some of the lessons I’ve learned the hard way while triathlon training.

  1. While Hoo Ha Ride Glide (chamois cream) is minty fresh in the shorts, it is NOT minty fresh in the eyes.  Make sure to wash your hands thoroughly if you accidentally get some on your finger BEFORE rubbing your eyes.           IMG_3184
  2. Tiger Balm in the groin area (for a sore/tight psoas) sounded like a great idea until I accidentally got some on the underwear…oops, now it is in the hoo ha area.  This is not nearly as pleasant as it was in my mind before the application.     tiger balm
  3. Applying sunscreen to exposed areas only to have my workout apparel shift during the ride/run and end up with a small sunburn line where the sunscreen wasn’t applied.  I’ve learned to spray sunscreen on under the clothes lines to prevent this.
  4. Releasing all of the CO2 before attaching the cartridge to the new tube to inflate…I guess I’m calling for a ride back to town since I have no other means of inflating this new tube.
  5. What starts off as a niggle can turn into an injury, so listen to your body, back off and don’t push through it.  I have been on the injury train before, and I don’t like the ride.  One would think that I’d learn from this and listen to my body so I don’t hop back on that miserable train, but apparently that isn’t the case, since I am back on this miserable train…again.

What lessons have you learned the hard way while training?

26 thoughts on “Lessons Learned the Hard Way While Triathlon Training

  1. OH man!!!! Back on the injury train…did you see the PT?! I am so sorry!!!!!!
    I get the sunscreen in my eyes more than anything! Good tip with the spray! I need to go to the tri store so I’m going to get some hoo ha glide!
    Knowing how to use a co2 cartridge is my biggiest mistake! I can change a flat like a boss but the co2 is another story! 🙂

    1. It is a challenge Leslie, but I’m going to keep moving forward. The hardest part is not being able to run and that I have a 70.3 in 2.5 weeks 😦 I am going to a chiropractor who does A.R.T. (Active Release Therapy), which I am finding I like better than PT since he focuses on finding and working out all of the imbalances instead of just focusing on the “injured” area (even when it isn’t what caused it). I’m sure I’ll have a blog post about it soon.

      I love the Hoo Ha Ride Glide and I hope you do too…just keep it out of the eyes 😉

      I hope to hear more about your “biggest mistake.” I can definitely change a flat like a champ as well. Give me a hand pump and I’m golden, but the CO2 is something I’m still working on 😉

  2. Ugh- sorry to hear the injury is still around. I was actually thinking of you the other day and hoped it was gone!
    Lol- the tiger balm one is kind of funny! I was tempted to use it on my high, high inner thigh and hamstring but thankfully didn’t last minute for fear it would get elsewhere!
    My lesson- no matter how many times you can practice changing a flat, sometimes you just don’t have the skill! Thank goodness my hubby or parents are always around to pick me up!

    1. I definitely have the flat changing down, but the CO2 is sometimes another story 😉 Thanks for thinking of me Abby. I am having some A.R.T. (Active Release Therapy) done right now and it seems to be helping. I’m sure I’ll have a blog post on that soon 😉

  3. I use Hoo Ha and it is wonderful, although I too had a run in with my eyes. No dice! It felt like toothpaste was stinging my eyes (that’s happened to me as well!)

  4. I learned last summer that bike jerseys aren’t just for show. I was wearing a baggy tech shirt and when a large truck drove past me my shirt blew up over my head.

      1. I did! I also had a lovely muffin top from my too small bike shorts from not losing all the baby weight. It must have been a horrifying sight 😉

      2. I’m sure it was NOT horrifying!! Maybe the sight is ingrained in the driver’s brain and he/she will remember to go completely around cyclists in the future 😉

  5. During my simulation last week, I had my Hoo Ha with me (thanks to great blogger advice) 😉 and my coach had never seen or heard of it before. I told him what it was for and he replied, “well, the name seems fitting.” Kind of a funny moment before starting a serious ride. I also learned that I need to put sunscreen on my lower back when wearing my tri kits because my shirt was a little above my shorts, exposing my skin, and I now have a huge tan line that looks like a smile above my butt!

    1. Just remember to keep the Hoo Ha out of the eyes Kristen 🙂 I actually have quite a few male cycling friends who also like the Hoo Ha and use that instead of other chamois cream options. I’ve done the smile tan line many times as well…I should just put sunscreen on the rest of my back except for a couple of circles for eyes to make it complete 😉

  6. I have been there with the Hoo Ha Cream mishaps! Also with the CO2… oops! I have also been on the injury train many times and can’t seem to get off:( I think the only thing that will get me ‘off the train’ is if I give up running all together… for months… but we all know this isn’t going to happen. Being on the injury train can also be EXPENSIVE… chiropractor, acupuncture, massage… ugh… A lesson I’ve learned the hard way, is not putting body glide under my sports bra lines/armpit area for a marathon… ouchie! I also used to wear socks during the bike portion of triathlons… silly mistake as it added to my transition time! And it’s no fun putting socks on soaking wet feet!

    1. I too have learned the body glide mishap…definitely a painful one!! I always put my socks on during T2, but have learned that putting a little baby powder in my bike shoes when I’m setting up my transition area helps dry the feet out while I’m riding 😉

  7. I have learned that you have to go easy, in order to go hard. When I used to just run, I used to run all the time, and that translated into when I started doing triathlons, and I got really tired, and felt like I could never catch a break. I have learned rest is better than not resting. 🙂

  8. Can you believe I never, ever use hoo ha when I ride?! Haven’t ever, and I rarely have an issue. What have I learned the hard way: Wicked sunburns because I didn’t apply sunscreen, and hard as it is, the importance of rest. I had a rest day today, and I can almost feel my body soaking in all the fitness from the past month 🙂 Hope you’re healed SOON!

    1. I’m impressed Erin!! The sunburns I’ve definitely experienced. I too am not very good at taking a rest day…probably part of the reason I’m fighting an injury right now 😦 I did try to run a bit yesterday and am making improvements, but still not yet released enough to really run (at my pace and distances)…hopefully soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

