Friday Night Urban Bike Tours

The Iron Hippie and I LOVE to take an easy bike tour around town on Friday evenings…especially when most of the Iowa State students have gone home for the summer.  We typically don our cross bikes, ride the trails, take a tour of campus, and just enjoy a leisure pace.  Here is a look at our most recent urban bike tour:

Riding to grab some dinner.
Riding to grab some dinner.
Waiting at a stop light in campus town.
Waiting at a stop light in campus town.
Grabbing a wonderful dinner on the patio at Stomping Grounds in campus town.
Grabbing a wonderful dinner on the patio at Stomping Grounds in campus town.
Yummy goodness!!
Yummy goodness!!
Heading home on some local trails.
Heading home through campus.
The campanile on central campus with no students...so peaceful.
The campanile on central campus with no students…so peaceful.
Lake Laverne is a buzz with the resident swans and some geese.
Lake Laverne is a buzz with the resident swans and some geese (all of which are difficult to see in this picture).
Riding through a very peaceful campus with nobody around.
Riding through a very peaceful campus with nobody around.
The Iron Hippie enjoying our ride.
The Iron Hippie enjoying our ride.
A little Molly the Raleigh love :)
A little Molly the Raleigh love 🙂
A beautiful evening for an urban bike tour ;)
A beautiful evening for an urban bike tour 😉

Urban bike tours help us keep balance in our busy lives…especially during an Ironman training year.  What do you do to find balance in your busy life?  How do enjoy a beautiful day?

22 thoughts on “Friday Night Urban Bike Tours

  1. Sounds wonderful!! I’m still annoyed I didn’t go to U of Iowa 😦 We bought kayaks this weekend so that’s what we will be doing. When you live on the water, you need to find a way for the family to enjoy it!!

    1. Kayaks are definitely on our list of future purchases 🙂 I am envious that you will be spending your weekend on the water. Have a blast!!

    1. We didn’t do the tri. I’m fighting an injury right now, so I’m hoping I can run in 2 weeks when I have my race.

      We definitely want to purchase kayaks!!

      Sorry we missed you when you were here for the tri. I had a couple if friends who did it and they said it was COLD water.

  2. Great pictures! Riding a bike through the city is awesome, so is getting off the bike and stopping for a nice meal or drink.
    We are pretty laid down, for me a nice way to relax is a little walk through the city or having a cup of coffee while sitting outside, I love being outside on nice weather and people watch.

  3. It looks beautiful there, Kecia. I’m always intrigued by pictures of places I have never been. My husband and I will take evening strolls from time to time during the summer to watch the sunset and stargaze a little. The long days definitely help with the more leisure side of life. 🙂 Cute SOAS gear. I’m pretty much obsessed.

    1. It was a very beautiful evening here on Friday night!! I love to see pictures of places I’ve never been as well…it gives me ideas of places to travel to in the future. I’m obsessed as well 😉

  4. Looks like the perfect way to spend a Friday night! The bf and I did urban bike tours when we were in Saint Paul… haven’t done one in the new neighborhood, but need to… perfect way to explore (though it is tougher in the ‘burbs). Hope you’re having a fab weekend!

    1. It is definitely the perfect way to explore!! We are having a great weekend! I hope you are getting out and enjoying your mini vacation weekend as well 😉

  5. So fun! It’s so fun to explore on two wheels. It’s my dream to do a bike tour vacation someday in Europe. I guess I could start by enjoying it in my own city too. Love that you are taking advantage of what you have in your city. 🙂

  6. Fun night! Almost a better way to spend on 2 wheels then climbing mountains! 🙂
    I definitely like to be outside enjoying the day. If not working out: playing Frisbee, picnic, reading a book! I want to try SUP sometime!!

    1. It was a lot of fun Leslie!! I think climbing mountains could be a boat load of fun as well…especially when you get to descend 🙂 SUP is a good core workout. I really like it a lot, although the Iron Hippie doesn’t care for it.

Leave a Reply

