First Open Water Swim of the Season

Monday we did our first open water swim of the season.

The Iron Hippie, Allen and I getting ready to take the plunge into the cool, murky waters at Peterson Pits.
The Iron Hippie, Allen and I getting ready to take the plunge into the waters at Peterson Pits.

The water was actually much warmer than I thought it would be.  It was also much muckier than I thought it would be.  The reported water temperature was 68F, which was perfect for a wetsuit.  There were a few cold pockets that we swam through and I am pretty sure those were much closer to the 55F temperature…brr 🙂

IMG_3511
Swimming into shore…

I forgot how difficult it is to get in and out of the wetsuit…I definitely have some practicing to do before my races this season.

Super happy to have my first open water swim be so successful.  Weaseling out of my wetsuit, that is a whole different story.
Super happy to have my first open water swim be so successful. Weaseling out of my wetsuit, that is a whole different story.

When we get home, we always hang our wetsuits outside our back door.  Sometimes when the curtains are pulled inside, I see the shadow of what appears to be a person outside our window…creepy 🙂

IMG_3514

Have you done your first open water swim yet this season?  What were the water temperatures like?

26 thoughts on “First Open Water Swim of the Season

  1. I haven’t been in the open water in the UK yet but did spend some time open water swimming when I was in Lanzarote earlier in the month ! It was like a luke-warm bath, with the joy of wildlife !! First UK open water swim this weekend – we should compare notes 🙂

  2. Great picture of you guys! I did my first OWS last week – but the water was no where near as smooth as the water in your pictures. I am hoping to get another swim in this weekend (hopefully in nice, calm waters). Most of the lakes around here are around 60 degrees. I am still amazed at how magical a wetsuit is in the water – it keeps me so warm!

    1. While the water was smooth, it was definitely brown and murky. I bet your water is colder because of the snow melt from the mountains…something we don’t have to worry about. I definitely prefer the colder water temperatures for endurance swimming, so 60F would be great!! I also enjoy how warm the wetsuit keeps me when the waters are colder 🙂

  3. The temperature of the lake where we swim has been slowly inching up. It was around 75 when I checked on Monday, but apparently it has just jumped up to 80 today. I have gotten in a couple of swims at this lake so far this season and used the wet suit (I have a sleeveless). This past weekend we were at the beach and I did my OWS in the ocean. The temperature was around 72-73…I opted to not use the wet suit. I am in NC and we have had several warm days (90) that has been driving up the temperature.

    1. Those are some much warmer temperatures than what we have experienced. I actually prefer the colder water to the warmer water…especially when I am endurance swimming. 🙂

    1. Having grown up on a lake in northwest Iowa, I am definitely not afraid of the water and I actually prefer the colder water to the warmer water…especially when I am endurance swimming. 🙂

  4. I confess I’ve never actually done an open water swim. I plan to do a half ironman next summer, so I better get cracking on that!

  5. We are swimming in OW on Saturday. It is going to be cold. Upper 50s!! 😦 I think mid-60s are perfect wetsuit temps. Not too hot and not too cold.
    Awesome that you have somewhere so warm to swim…but I bet it will be super warm (or hot) by the time mid-summer rolls around!! Which is good and bad! 🙂

    1. It will definitely warm up quick 😦 I actually prefer to have water temps in the low to mid 60s, but at least we have a place to swim. When we went to Coeur d’Alene a couple of years ago, the water temps were in the mid 50s. That was a bit cold, but we survived 😉

      1. I did not race CdA, Leslie. We were spectating for some friends who were racing since we had raced IMWI the previous September. Our bodies needed a bit more of a break than just a couple of months off between the two 😉 We did some training on the course though since we were there.

  6. Woohoo- getting that first open water swim done with is a great feeling!! Sadly, I rarely open water swim, and the only time I did last year was during races and two pre-race swims on location! It’s such a valuable thing to practice- I’m glad you already got one in!

    1. Thanks Abby!! It was a good swim for me. Usually I get in the water that first time and have a bit of a panic since I’m in my wetsuit and feel restricted through the chest. That wasn’t the case this time 🙂

  7. Great job getting your first open water swim out of the way! Glad you enjoyed it and it wasn’t TOO cold. I also hate getting into and out of my wetsuit, such a pain! One thing that helps with the process is putting conditioner on my calves before putting it on.. this helps with the taking off process too! I hope to get into the open water next week, I am craving it… I hear the water is around 68 degrees too.. definitely wearing my wetsuit! I just love being outside when swimming and in the fresh water… even though it can be a little ‘creepy’ at times.

    1. We went again this evening. It was great!! I felt so much better tonight than Monday I hope you have a great swim in the morning, Erin!!

Leave a Reply

