Head vs. Heart…Who Will Win???

Yesterday I had made the decision to adjust my goals for this weekend’s race, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized this still might not be the best decision for my body, for successfully setting myself up for my “A race” and my mental state.

I went out to our local “swamp” to get one last open water swim in before heading to Lawrence and encountered one slight snag…without the wetsuit, the knee is VERY angry.  I didn’t even make it to the first buoy before I decided to be done.

IMG_3626

Since the water temperature in Clinton Lake can hover around 76.1F (the water temperature where the wetsuit is no longer allowed), this could pose a problem for the 1.2 mile swim.

I had a BIG decision to make.  Do I go to Lawrence hoping my knee isn’t so angry on race day so I can at least start the race?  Do I go to Lawrence without any gear so I can only spectate?  Do I stay at home and not put myself in a predicament where I might change my mind last minute and decide to give the race a try or worse…have a negative attitude because I’m not racing (this wouldn’t be good for the Iron Hippie and Allen who are racing)?  How will participating in this race help me get closer to the finish line at IRONMAN Wisconsin?

do today closer to tomorrow

This was all I needed to remind me that my A race is IMWI.  So in this battle, the head won.  I NEED to focus on getting 100% healthy.  I NEED to slowly ease back into run training, so I don’t set myself back further.  I NEED to make smart decisions to successfully toe the start line of IMWI.  I NEED to stay home and not put myself in a predicament where I might change my mind and start the race.  I NEED to stay home so I am not surrounding others who are racing with negative energy.

It sucks when the head and the heart don’t align.  What decisions have you had to make when the head and heart don’t align?

head vs heart

33 thoughts on “Head vs. Heart…Who Will Win???

  1. Fortunately I’m one of the few who doesn’t much trust his heart, except to do what it is designed to: pump blood. You’re going to do what’s right. Your head is in the right place.

  2. Ouch. I bet that decision had to sting a little. Congrats though- obviously a great decision with the main goal put before anything else. I had to defer Houston last year with my shin splints since Boston was my A race. Hard to do, I think of “what ifs” but I really could have hurt myself and know it was the right thing. I certainly hope your knee shapes up soon!!

    1. It definitely stings, but I know it will be the best decision for IMWI. I’ll miss the fun this weekend, but the girls will be glad to have me home so they don’t have to go to the farm for the weekend…although they love it at the farm too 😉

  3. I can’t imagine you ever spreading negative energy. But I can imagine people having to pull you back from deciding last minute to do a race. Take time and recover so you are ready again soon

    1. Thanks Allen!! I just don’t feel very positive right now. Time will heal all. I just have to remember that and keep my bigger goals in focus! 😉

  4. Good for you! The hardest decision sometimes is saying no to your heart and yes to your head in support of long term goals. Be proud that you listened to your body and feel no guilt for the decision you made, it’s what you needed! Get healthy soon!!

    1. Thanks De!! The toughest decisions make us stronger. I’m going to come back from this stronger and ready for IMWI. I just have to take the time to heal properly 😉

  5. Didn’t WTC just start a deal where you can defer your entry to another race? It doesn’t have to be a total loss. You will feel great about this when you are healthy at the start of IMWI!

    1. I just received a response from WTC. The deferment is only for 140.6 distance events 😦 I guess I’m just out this time around. Thanks for the idea so I could try though!!

  6. You are making a very difficult decision. I am not sure I would have the courage to make the same decision you made, but you should be very proud of yourself for truly doing what you feel IS IN your best interest for your long term goals. I salute you! You should treat yourself to something special this weekend! Go out to dinner, get an ice cream cone, get your nails done, whatever you like…you deserve it!! {On a random side note…I laughed in your previous post when you used the word “wonky”. I used that the other day to describe the feeling of my stomach to my husband and he has poked fun of me since, because he had never heard that word before and thought it was funny! I knew exactly what you meant though!!!}

    1. Thanks so much Lee…those words mean the world to me!! I will do something for me this weekend, but I’m not sure what just yet 😉

      I LOVE the word “wonky,” but am not such a fan of the feeling that goes along with it 😉

  7. I’m so sorry. It can’t have felt good to make the decision to DNS, but it’s a smart move. I completed a marathon years ago that I never should’ve started and it’s caused me to have a fear of distance running that I’m still not over. I had knee issues during training-to this day I’m still feeling the effects of that huge disaster. Heal now-kick some Ironman later 😉

    1. Thanks for that note Amy!! It was a VERY tough pill to swallow, but I know it was the best decision. I am very hopeful that I’ll kick a lot of Iron later because I made a good decision now and am properly healing.

  8. OHHHH man!! I am so sorry!!!!!!! This is such a bummer but I think it is probably the best decision that you will make this entire training cycle!!! Focus on getting better and stronger so you can kill WI!!! Have a good weekend and don’t “think” about the race anymore!!! 🙂

    1. Thanks Leslie!! I’m very hopeful that this will help me heal stronger so I can kill IMWI!! It is difficult to not think about this weekend’s race, since my husband is there and texting me. I’ll survive this and be stronger because of it 🙂

  9. I am very impressed that you are listening to your head and not your heart when it comes to this race. I have some serious trouble listening to my body when it comes to injury, and I have learned the hard way. You are very smart to focus on your A race and you will be so happy you gave your body a break by not doing this one race. I know it probably upsets you, but just think long term and you’ll be grateful about the decision. I’m sorry about your knee pain… if you don’t mind me asking, what is wrong with your knee? I am dealing with some tendinitis right now and it’s very annoying! Have a great weekend!!

    1. Thanks for the confidence Kristin! It is an upsetting decision, but I know it is the right one.

      As for my knee, it all stems from compensation. My right psoas was bothering me for about a month and I ran through causing my gait to be off. This stressed my left knee, which now hurts I a couple of areas. It is much better know than a few weeks ago, just not race ready.

  10. I’m so sorry to read this, Kecia. I second Leslie’s description- what a bummer.
    Good for you for having the courage to make that decision. It’s not easy!
    But, it’ll do you so much good in the long run, for your A race, and for your body.
    Good luck to your hubby and friend, and I hope you are resting up and cycling your heart out this weekend!

    1. Thanks Abby!! It was a challenging decision to make, but I know it is for the best. Unfortunately the weather here has been rainy nearly all day, so I haven’t gotten outside much. Hopefully tomorrow will be a different story.

  11. Such a tough decision, but you definitely made the right one, Kecia. Your knee will thank you come IMWI 🙂 Hope it’s back to 100 percent SOON!

    1. Thanks Erin! It was tough and even tougher knowing they had near perfect race conditions yesterday, but I definitely have to focus on the future and not the present in this case.

  12. I have definitely had to learn about resistance and doing what is best for the priority events in my life. When I was training for Boise, I wanted to do a couple half-marathon races in the weeks leading up. My coach said no because of the toll it would take on my body and my inability to train like I need to in the days after. I think you made a smart decision for yourself and your body. I know it can be hard to say no – because you are definitely capable of doing it – but at what cost? Good for you for playing it safe and smart. I would have done the same. Happy healing to your knee!

    1. Thanks Kristen!! The knee is getting better, it is just a slow process…I am not the most patient person when it comes to training and injuries 😉 I had acupuncture today (for the first time) and am hopeful that this provides me with some amazing results 😉

Leave a Reply

