11 Weeks til IRONMAN Wisconsin

Last week was 11 weeks until race day.  This is the first week in the green since the week of April 21, 2014.  I am so grateful to be back to completing all of my scheduled weekly workouts and back to running…even if it is on the track with the white line between my feet.  😉  Here is a quick review of my week:

Monday:

Am:  2600 meter Swim in 1 hour (2843 yards)…short ladder workout

A little Monday morning motivation with my Ironman Wisconsin swim cap from 2011.
A little Monday morning motivation with my Ironman Wisconsin swim cap from 2011.

PM: 2:10:00 Brick workout… 2 hour ride (37 miles) followed by an easy 10 minute run (1.1 miles) off the bike

Tuesday:

AM:  10 mile bike commute (round trip) to the Iowa State University Track for a 50 minute run (5.86 miles at an 8:32 average pace) around the track while line running

I rode Molly the Raleigh to the track for my morning run.
I rode Molly the Raleigh to the track for my morning run.
5.86 miles of line running around the track.
5.86 miles of line running around the track.

AM: 1 hour strength workout

Wednesday:

AM:  2600 meter swim in 1 hour (2843 yards)…base drill workout

I love the 50 meter outdoor lap pool in the mornings!!
I love the 50 meter outdoor lap pool in the mornings!!

PM:  3:00:00 bike ride (52 miles) with 2×20 minutes really pushing the power (but the battery in my power tap died part way through the first set, so I was going on feel instead of actual power numbers).

IMG_3843
Riding with the Iron Hippie and Allen on the trail for part of our ride.
IMG_3848
What a beautiful day for a ride!!

Thursday:

AM:  2000 meter swim in 1 hour (2187 yards)…Fast 50s and 100s

A beautiful double rainbow over the pool as we arrived to swim.
A beautiful double rainbow over the pool as we arrived to swim.

Easy 20 minute run around the track with the line between my feet (2.2 miles)

45 minutes of strength training

Acupuncture on my left leg to try to release the muscle tension before the weekend’s workouts…

IMG_3861

PM:  Tragedy struck…

One of my 13 year old students from this last year was killed while cycling.  To make it even worse, his twin sister was with him when the he was killed…

http://whotv.com/2014/06/28/teen-cyclist-killed-in-story-county-worked-hard-at-whatever-he-did/

Friday:

REST DAY…Definitely needed this more emotionally than physically.

Saturday:

7 hour Ironman Practice Day:

  • 2500 meter swim in 1 hour (2734 yards) with a 1500 meter time trial in 32:49.  This wasn’t a very good swim for me.  If there were ever a day when I might drown while swimming, it was Saturday morning, but I pushed through and survived.
  • 5 hour bike ride (78 miles) with an average speed of 15.9 mph and relentless winds.  We had headwinds or cross winds for all but about 20 miles.  At one point I was yelling profanities at the unforgiving winds.  IMG_3876
  • 1 hour run was to follow the bike, but we were only able to complete 45 minutes of running before the thunder, lightening and downpours started.  I don’t mind running in the rain, but I won’t risk getting struck by lightening.  There was a little rest between the bike and run since I had to drive to the track for line running.  I managed to cover 4.75 miles in 45 minutes around the track (9:28 average pace).  I was shooting for 10 minute miles, but I struggle with running slowly off the bike.
  • Overall: 84.3 miles covered in 6:40:00…I felt really good and could have kept running, which made me happy.  While my running isn’t where I would like it to be…yet, I felt really good about where I am at after this workout.

Sunday:

1 hour of line running around the track…this was the first time I have ran over 1 hour since May 4.  I was super excited…even if it meant running circles around the track…

IMG_3879

25 minutes of core work followed this track run.

Weekly Totals:  20 hours & 23 minutes

Swimming:  10, 608 yards

Cycling:  172 miles

Running:  21 miles

Strength Training:  2 hours & 10 minutes

I really need to get back to incorporating yoga into my weekly workout routine, but with 20 hours of training, I’m not sure where to fit it in.

On average, how many hours a week do you workout?  Can you imagine fitting 20 hours of exercise into your weekly schedule?

23 thoughts on “11 Weeks til IRONMAN Wisconsin

  1. I’m so sorry about the loss of your former student’s. What a horrible situation. I’m glad you had a good week of workouts. I’m sure you are looking forward to your Ironman!

    1. Thank you Tom!! It is definitely a very sad situation, but our community has rallied together to support the family…especially his twin sister during this tragic time. We all continue to train and race for Tim 😉

      I am thankful for a good week of workouts and am getting excited for race day 🙂

  2. That is terrible news about your student 😦 Last week was a terrible week-one of my high school friends passed away suddenly on Friday, leaving her 8 month old daughter.
    Good luck and BE SAFE for the next 11 weeks!

  3. My condolences, Kecia. Such a tragedy 😦

    How is IMWI just 68 days away?! Eek! It’s sneaking up fast! Solid week of training and so glad to see you’re back in your running shoes – and rocking a great pace!

  4. Kecia, I’m telling you right now, there’s nothing cooler than a woman with a 4″ drop from the nose of her saddle to her handlebar… Your husband must be glowing with pride. If you haven’t thought of this before, you must cherish your badass-itude…

    Too cool (wo)man.

    1. That is EXACTLY the comment I needed to generate a smile at this very moment. Thanks Jim!! I haven’t thought of it before, but I will definitely cherish my “badass-itude” now that I know it exists 🙂

  5. I am so sorry to hear about your student… I read about the story and that is so tragic:(

    You are rocking it with your training, and I’m glad you’re starting to feel better! What a beautiful pool you get to swim in, mine does NOT look that pretty lol. You are getting so close, it’s exciting how close our IM’s are to one another!

    1. Thanks Kristin!! I LOVE swimming in the outdoor pool…now if they could just find a way to keep it open year round in central Iowa…ha ha 😉 Our IMs are close to one another and I can’t wait to watch you rock IMMT!!

    1. Raymond, we don’t have a coach anymore and are trying an unconventional method of training to see how it works for us. While we will have multiple weeks of 20+ hours of training, we have a recovery week every 2 weeks instead of every 3 like most conventional training plans. We’ll find out on race day how this works for us 🙂

      1. Coach? What is this “coach” you speak of? I bought a book, print out the weekly plan, then ignore it . If you review any of my weekly training summaries, you will see very few similarities (and those are purely coincidental!)

      2. AWESOME!! We had a coach for many years, but she moved away, so we decided this is the perfect opportunity for us to try it on our own. I think we have acquired enough knowledge over the years to successful get us over the finish line 😉

  6. Oh Kecia I am so sorry about your loss. I quickly saw you post about it on Twitter but didn’t have time to check it out. I just watched the news video. Soooooo Sad!!!
    Great training week! Wow. 11 weeks to go and you are hitting it hard! I am not sure what I am averaging these last couple weeks but I would say no more than 18. For my last IM I was at 20, 21, 22 hours for my peak block. It will be interesting to see what happens this time around!
    I also saw your comment above about how you are approaching this a little different and doing a rest week every 2 instead of 3 weeks. I can’t wait to see how you end up liking it/how well you do in Wisconsin!

    1. Thanks Leslie!! It was a definite tragedy in our community.
      We love the 50 meter pool. I only wish we could have one year round…maybe someday.
      With the two weeks on, one off approach, we are working hard on the two weeks on. We’ll see how this works for us soon enough 😉

  7. What sad news-the whole community must be in shock!

    It must be a relief to be getting back into your regular training. You’ll do great at IMWI

    1. The whole community is in shock, but rallying together to support the family as well.

      It is great to be getting my running legs back. Thanks Amy 🙂

  8. 20 hours? WOW! You go girl. My record is 16 and that was tough. This may be a stupid question, but what is a ladder workout? Do you do most of your bike rides with other people (i.e., the Iron Hippie) or do you often ride alone? It looks like you are always in the company of others, which must be really nice. I am so sorry to hear about your student’s death. That is absolutely horrible. The more I ride and share the road with cars, the more I realize the importance of driver awareness and consideration for those on their bikes.

    1. Definitely NOT a stupid question!! The short ladder workout I had in the pool was 100, 200, 300, 400, 300, 200, 100 meters for the main set. 🙂 If I ride by myself, I do so on the trainer…central Iowa is not very bicycle friendly, so it is better to ride with others on the open roads. We don’t necessarily ride at the same speed and often string out a bit, but we wait up for each other at key intersections before continuing on. It is nice to have the support and strength of others while riding. I hope you find others to ride with…they can challenge you, entertain you, and provide safety in numbers 😉

Leave a Reply

