Ten Day You Challenge: My Secrets

I have a few blogger friends who are participating in the “10 day You challenge” and I thought this would be a fun way for my readers to get to know me a bit better outside of training and racing.  Thanks to Kristin at Sweat Courage and Kristen at Glitter and Dust for sharing your 10 Day You Challenge with me and being such inspiring people and athletes!

10-day-you-challenge

I’ve decided that once a week, I will inform my readers of these fun facts about myself.

Here are my 10 “secrets.”  While these are not entirely true secrets that I wouldn’t share with anyone, they will most likely be new pieces of information for many of you.  Enjoy!

  1. When I was in 7th grade, my family was out for dinner and I choked on a cheese ball.  I had to have the Heimlich maneuver done to save my life.  Needless to say, I have never eaten another cheese ball since!
  2. I am allergic to insecticides…they break down my nervous system (similar to what happens to insects) and can cause me to have seizures.  No bug spray for me or those around me.
  3. I do not have the desire to have my own children.  I have more than enough children in my life that I can borrow and send home…I have 4 nieces, approximately 120 eighth grade students every year and many children of friends and neighbors.
  4. I LOVE to be alone.  Sure I like to be social on occasion, but I really cherish my “me time.”  The peace and quiet allows me to recharge my batteries and be the best person I can be.
  5. I rarely wear makeup…I don’t like how it feels on my face, so when I do where makeup, it is only mascara.
  6. Growing up on Lake Okoboji, I learned how to swim before I learned how to walk.  Just because I’ve been swimming for 37 years, does not mean I have the most efficient stroke…it actually has been very challenging to change my stroke to make it more efficient.
  7. I have a love/hate relationship with a clean house…I LOVE a clean house, but I HATE the process of cleaning it.  Dusting the house seems like such a waste of time.
  8. I love organization…I am always thinking about what the most efficient way to organize different environments is…home, work, closets, etc.
  9. I am a planner…I like to have a plan for almost everything.  It is ok if the plan changes, but there must be an original plan in place 😉
  10. I decided to be sans alcoholic beverages while training for Ironman Wisconsin this time around.  I didn’t drink much alcohol prior to this hiatus, but I wanted to see how this hiatus affected my training and racing.  I have not had an alcoholic beverage since September 8, 2013 and am not really missing it 🙂

Now that I’ve shared some of my secrets with you, what secrets are you willing to share with me?

19 thoughts on “Ten Day You Challenge: My Secrets

    1. My first degree is in Horticulture. When I did my internship, the company I was working for required that all of the interns spray pesticides. They took the necessary precautions in terms of protective gear, but also required that we get our acetylcholinesterase levels tested. My levels were through the roof…thus began the guinea pig testing on me. My blood was drawn every 2 weeks for testing and I was put into different situations to determine just how sensitive I am. Needless to say, I am very sensitive 😦

  1. There are so many bloggers that don’t want kids. I go back and forth every day. Part of me wants kids, but part of me is scared. I fear for how much my life would change (and I like my life now). Why did you choose to give up alcohol? I get it, but was just wondering if there is a specific reason. I am right there with you on the planning and organization. I always like having some sort of structure and get impatient and stressed when things are unsettled or up-in-the-air. 🙂

    1. Life would definitely change with kids, and I too like my life now. I gave up alcohol, because it tends to have the opposite effect on me…I don’t sleep well and end up wide awake in the middle of the night. This doesn’t seem to go very well with training, so I decided that I would completely give it up for a year. It has been one of the best decisions for me and my training 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing! #3, #7 & #9 are totally me too!! I love being an aunt, but we are not planning to have kids of our own. I LOVE a clean house but HATE cleaning it! Since my life became so crazy with training, my husband and I decided to splurge and have a cleaning crew come in every other week. IT IS LIFE CHANGING!!! Of course the house has to be in order for the crew to clean, but we can handle that. Everything else it worth every penny!! I too am a total planner! Especially when it comes to vacation. I love to read reviews about different restaurants/activities in the places we are visiting so I have great ideas about how we should best spend our time.

    1. I’ve considered a cleaning service to come and clean the house. I may look into that a bit more. It would definitely save me some unnecessary stress. 😉

  3. We are very very similar!! Lots of the same “secrets”!!! I really don’t want kids because I am too selfish! I like to do what I want to do and when I want to do it and having kids doesn’t really phase into that!! 🙂
    I can’t believe the cheese ball…that is crazy!! There is a Shelly Long movie that she chokes on a cheese ball…do you know what movie? I can’t think of it…is it Money Pit?!!!

    1. I completely agree with the kids 😉 I don’t remember that part in Money Pit and I’ve seen it hundreds of times…maybe another movie? I don’t remember ever seeing that in a movie, but I’m not much of a movie buff 😉

      1. I just checked IMDB and It was Hello Again!!! She actually died but came back to life!! I love the Money Pit too! We used to watch it all the time! Did you see they are selling that house for 4 million dollars??! 🙂

      2. I haven’t seen “Hello Again,” hence the reason I don’t remember the scene 🙂 We also used to watch the Money Pit…I think we put the VHS on repeat 😉 I didn’t see that they were selling the house…HOLY MONEY!! 😉

  4. Thanks so much for your kind words and for joining the challenge! It’s a fun way to switch things up:) I can completely relate to your #’s 4, 7 & 9… I love my alone time! That is crazy about the chocking experience, how scary! I go back and forth about the kids thing… I just don’t know quite yet.

    1. It is a fun way to switch things up!! Having so many teenagers every year, I’ve decided I don’t want to come home to more chaos. I love my life the way it is and my quiet time and there wouldn’t be any with kids in the picture.

  5. I really enjoyed doing this ’10 Days You’ series and love reading everyone else’s … thanks for sharing. Some fun and crazy stuff.

    The whole ‘want/don’t want’ thing with kids seems to be coming up a lot lately, and I wrote about it – well, actually how people with kids need to STFU with all of the nonsense they say and assume about childless couples.

    We have two kids (16 & 17), but all of our siblings and both sets of parents had their first child within a year (13 months was max) of marriage, and the same is true with most of our aunts, uncles and cousins … so when we decided to take a few childless years … ugh, the torment of questions. Then when we struggled with infertility and miscarriage?!? Yikes the questions and comments!

    Bottom line is that the children discussion belongs to exactly TWO people – you and your husband. Everyone else needs to back off 🙂 haha

Leave a Reply

