What’s Up?!?!?!?!

I thought I’d give you a quick update on where we are at with our training and what is happening in our everyday lives…

Training Update:

4 weeks from today is Ironman Wisconsin 2014…crazy how time has flown by!!  We have been training hard, putting in lots of hours and preparing our bodies and minds for what is to come in a few short weeks.

With 5 weeks out, we successfully completed 15+ hours of training with a 3.5 mile open water swim event.  This last week, we successfully completed 20+ hours of training and are looking forward to the last big push before the taper.

Photo courtesy of L. Bierbaum:  The Iron Hippie and I successfully finished our 3.5 mile swim "race"
Photo courtesy of L. Bierbaum: The Iron Hippie and I successfully finished our 3.5 mile swim “race”
Having the pool to myself is priceless!!
Having the pool to myself is priceless!!
We successfully completed hill repeats...2 bonus repeats were done in memory and honor of an amazing kid never to be forgotten.
We successfully completed hill repeats…2 bonus repeats were done in memory and honor of an amazing kid never to be forgotten.
2500 yard swim followed by a challenging brick.  3x(60 min ride + 20 min run) with each brick repeat at a higher power zone on the bike and faster pace on the run than the last.
2500 yard swim followed by a challenging brick. 3x(60 min ride + 20 min run) with each brick repeat at a higher power zone on the bike and faster pace on the run than the last.
Completing a 9+ mile run with friends after a 1 hour power session on the trainer...priceless!!
Completing a 9+ mile run with friends after a 1 hour power interval bike session on the trainer…priceless!!

Life Update:

Lately our lives have revolved around our training, but we have managed to find some time to spend with friends, make sure the laundry gets done and that we have healthy foods in our bellies.  Snuggling up with my two favorite furry friends and spending time with our twin nieces has also been enjoyable!!  Every night I try to read a bit before going to bed (I’m reading the Divergent series since the 4th book came out), but lately I’ve been so tired, that I think I’ve reread the same page multiple times 😉

Grill out with my sole sista...love this girl!!
Grill out with my sole sista…love this girl!!
After our 3.5 mile swim, we took the nieces to the amusement park and then stopped off for a few snow cones on our way home...sure hit the spot on a warm August day.
After our 3.5 mile swim, we took the nieces to the amusement park and then stopped off for a few snow cones on our way home…sure hit the spot on a warm August day.

Starting tomorrow, I’ll be back at school with inservice days on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday and students starting on Thursday.  With a 24 hour training week this coming week on top of going back to work and balancing chores at home, this will likely be my most challenging week of the 2014 calendar year.  I know what I need to do and will get it done…it is only one week after all 😉

What have you been up to lately?  How is your training going?

12 thoughts on “What’s Up?!?!?!?!

  1. Great to get an update! Looks like your training is going fantastic! Funny how the body evolves during this process. I remember seeing your 20+ hour training weeks when I was barely reaching 17 hours. I could not imagine how you found the time. Well, I have had 4 straight weeks of 22+ hours of training! Next week will top it off at 25-26 hours before I taper. I have preliminarily plotted my taper weeks. I want to drop to about 14 hours week one of the taper, and I struggled to do it. I just kept slashing my workouts and still ended up long! Looking at the schedule and only seeing 1-2 hours of activity during a day just seems so foreign now! Next week, along with my biggest training week ever, I will reach 100 total swimming miles and 2500 total cycling miles since my 30 week program began. I will also hit 400 total training hours. The following week, I should reach 1000 total running miles. These numbers boggle my mind since I was an obese couch potato just 3 years ago (and who had never done any cycling or running, and had not been in a pool in 20 years). Ironman will be a celebration of my journey and metamorphosis. I want to thank you for the inspiration and the cheerleading over the past several months. Whenever I thought I could not take another day of training, I would look at some of the inspirational blogs in my reader (including yours) and find a way to set the alarm for 3:00 am yet again. No matter what happens on September 7th, this has been a life altering, and life affirming, journey. The victory will be crossing the starting line. Everything after that is the celebration that I have worked three years to achieve.

    Good luck! I am sure your will be amazing!

    1. Thanks!! Our journeys are all so unique and different, but the end goal is nearly the same…get to the start line and do everything in our power to cross that finish line and celebrate. 🙂 Congratulations on your successes thus far, with more to come!!

      Have a stellar last big build and enjoy the taper 🙂

  2. Only a month left!?! So exciting. I have never done a bike – run – bike – run combo. Is this something you do a lot in your training? I wonder why my coach doesn’t have me do these types of workouts. Maybe they are more suitable for full IM training? I can’t believe school is already starting for you guys. Our youngsters in Oregon don’t go back until September. Can’t wait to hear how your BIG training week goes. As long as you are mentally in it, you will be golden!

    1. It is exciting and crazy all at the same time 🙂 We have done this bike – run – bike – run – bike – run brick in preparation for our 70.3 events as well. I’m not sure why your coach doesn’t have you do them…maybe inquire. Our coach had us do them a few weeks out from our 70.3 races. It is a challenge and by the last one, it is all I can do to push hard enough to cover more distance in the same amount of time. I have a love/hate relationship with this workout 😉

      I wish we had the month of August off…it would be so nice!! Unfortunately we are starting one week earlier this year than we have in the past and that made for an even shorter summer 😦

      I will let you all know how these last few days before the taper go…so far, so good…only 8 more to go 🙂

  3. YAY!!! Great update!! Keep training hard! I can’t believe you are getting so close!!! Good luck starting school and having a super heavy training week. I am sure it will be awesome!
    I am having a great time not “training” hard. I have started to work out and feeling good! 🙂 It is nice not being on a strict regimen!

    1. Thanks Leslie!! It has been a rough week, but I managed to complete all my scheduled workouts except for one swim…oh well. I’m glad you are enjoying life!! I’m looking forward to the less strict regimen as well 🙂

  4. Good luck with the school/training balance. I’m a teacher and the transition from summer to school is always a challenge. Glad that you’ve had such a great training cycle (or so it seems), and hope that the final push went well for you!

    1. Thanks Kristina!! The school/training balance was a struggle this last week, but I managed and am glad to finally reach the taper 🙂 I hope you have a good transition back to school as well!!

Leave a Reply

