How does one pack for Ironman?

This is a question that can be answered many different ways…

If you are my husband, you just make lots of piles around the house and check it over a hundred times.  He may refer to his packing method a little bit differently, but that is how it appears to me.

If you are more like me, you make a list, label 2 gallon Ziplok bags with the following:  Race Morning, T1, Bike Special Needs, T2, Run Special Needs and start filling each bag off of the list you’ve generated.  It looks something like this…

IMG_4369 IMG_4370 IMG_4371

We will be leaving for Madison tomorrow.  If you want to track me on Sunday, I’m race number 819 and will have an athlete tracker that will update at myathletelive.com 🙂

44 thoughts on “How does one pack for Ironman?

  1. So Kecia, basically you have several piles of stuff to, no? Or does the fact that you have a plastic bag around the outside of that pile change something?

    I’m taking the iron hippie’s side on this one tough girl.

  2. I’d love to track you, but I will be busy that day ;-). The packing system looks like mine. Usually I just pile everything into one huge bag, but the various transition and special needs bags have left me stressed. Leaving in an hour or two, and will be at this afternoons briefing. Will you be at that one?

    1. Yay for you being busy too 🙂 We will be leaving here by about 8 am. I don’t know if we will be at the athlete meeting today at 2 pm or not. Drive safe 🙂

  3. I’ll be thinking of you and wishing the wind at your back and a smooth, amazing race!!! I pack enough for just a simple marathon, I can’t imagine doing such for an IM. Maybe some day I’ll find out! Kick some booty! We are all rooting for you!!

    1. Thanks Lee! It is suppose to be about 73F for a high and mid 50s for a low. Partly cloudy skies and very little wind. It should be a great day for racing!

  4. Hope you are feeling great and have a GREAT race! Will be cheering for you 🙂 (sorry I have been terrible about commenting but have enjoyed reading your IM journey!)

      1. Saturday 3-4 pm right after the race meeting (at the finish line) which is at 2-3pm. Pick up location will be right in front of the Capitol building at Martin Luther king and Main Street in the park.

      2. Sorry we missed you. We ended up leaving the race meeting early since it was all info we had read in the athlete guide. I hope you have an AMAZING first race and remember to make sure your own worst enemy doesn’t live between your own two ears. You have had a great season of training, so use that to your advantage! Have Fun! Swim straight, bike smart and run with purpose! Don’t let anything get you down tomorrow 🙂

  5. I used the Ziplock bag methos for IMMT and it was very helpful! Wishing you the VERY best of luck tomorrow! I’ve loved following your training journey and I can’t wait to see how you do! I know you will crush it out there!!! I will be tracking you! GOOD LUCK!!!!

Leave a Reply

