I do “tri” with a little help from my friends and family

THANK YOU to all of the people who have helped me successfully reach the finish line of Ironman #2.

First, a HUGE thanks to my main squeeze…the Iron Hippie.  I am incredibly lucky to have a partner who enjoys triathlon almost as much as I do…someone to swim with, to bike thousands of miles with, to run hundreds of miles with, to go to races with, to share an unkempt house with (especially during high training volume weeks), to understand what it is like to be the athlete AND the spouse of an athlete, to help prepare healthy foods…the list goes on and on.

IMG_4429

Second, thank you body.  I am so blessed to be able to have a body that allows me to push my limits and challenge myself.  When it doesn’t work like I want it to, I am reminded of how lucky I am when it is functioning properly.

Third, a special thanks to our friends (who we consider family) and sherpas…Sue, Michele, Allen and Lora.  What a truly AH-MAZ-ING group of WONDERFUL people!!  Sue and Michele helped us obtain lodging only 3 blocks from the finish line and have supported our immune systems by keeping us stocked in Karma Kombucha (the BEST booch on the market).  Allen rode thousands of miles and ran hundreds of miles with us, while Lora willing allowed Allen to spend MANY hours with us.  They also both traveled along side us in a canoe as we swam our 3.5 mile open water Okoboji swim.  The 4 of them chased us around Dane County and updated our families via emails and text messages as we continued to put one foot in front of the other to reach the finish line.

Allen, Lora, the Iron Hippie and myself at the athlete meeting
Allen, Lora, the Iron Hippie and myself at the athlete meeting
Sue & Michele at Finish
Sue and Michele with me at the finish line 🙂

Fourth, thank you to my parents and sisters for supporting me even when I set crazy goals for myself.  They tracked us online, posted fun and inspiring Facebook posts and have checked up on us multiple times since we crossed that finish line.  Dad also traveled along side me in a kayak as I swam the 3.5 mile open water swim…Thanks Dad!!  I love you all to pieces!!

Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 8.27.52 PM Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 8.29.24 PM

Fifth, thank you to all of our friends who have helped us train this last year.  Some of you have run with us, some have biked with us, some have swam with us, some have strength trained with us, some have supported us by feeding us, some have participated in hot yoga with us, some trekked to Ironman Wisconsin to cheer us on and others have been there for outings and conversation.

Sixth, thank you to Dr. Chris for getting me back on track with my running through ART and acupuncture.  I am truly grateful that he was able to work through some rather persistent and stubborn muscles.

Seventh, thank you to Nick for my MANY massages to help keep my muscles as relaxed as possible so I could beat them up on a daily basis.

Thank you to all of the outstanding volunteers who made completing Ironman #2 a HUGE success.  I can’t imagine what my day would have been like without their help and support throughout the entire day.

Thank you to the blog world.  Your continued outpouring of support is AWESOME, motivational and inspiring!!

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU TO EVERYONE!!

Up next…race reports 😉

8 thoughts on “I do “tri” with a little help from my friends and family

Leave a Reply

