Best Race Memories

This Sunday marks the 10 year anniversary of my first race.  I have raced hundreds of races ranging in distance from 5K to marathon and sprint triathlon to Ironman over the last 10 years.  I decided to take a minute and share with you my top 10 race memories.

10.  Crossing the finish line at the Run for the Roses 5K in 2004.  This was my first race and I was unsure if I would actually survive the short 3.1 mile distance.  It is fun to look back and see how far my training, racing and mental fortitude have come in the last 10 years.

9.  Crossing the finish line at the Dam to Dam 20K in 2005.  This was the farthest I had ever pushed myself.  I had no idea where I would go with endurance sport, but when I crossed this finish line, I was hooked…I found my passion.

8.  Crossing the finish line at the Chicago Marathon in 2005…my first marathon.  I had just conquered something I would have never suspected that I could or would ever do.

7.  Crossing the finish line at the Copper Creek Sprint Triathlon in 2009.  This was my first triathlon and I had found a new passion….I could combine my love of swimming, cycling and running and still challenge myself in endurance sport.

Copper Creek Run

6.  Crossing the finish line at Ironman Kansas 70.3 in 2010…my first 70.3 triathlon.  I had found my favorite triathlon distance!!  I love triathlon and this distance was far enough that I had to train for it, but short enough that it didn’t consume all of my spare time.  I LOVED meeting Chrissie Wellington for the first time after I finished as well…

Chrissie and Me IM Kansas 70.3

5.  Crossing the finish line at Ironman Kansas 70.3 2013 in 6:05:53…I set a new PR by 26:51.  WOW!!  I was super pumped to be so close to breaking the 6 hour barrier for the 1/2 Ironman distance.  I’ve got my eyes set on breaking the 6 hour barrier…

Finishers medal around my neck!!  70.3 miles in 6:05:53...that is nearly a 27 minute PR!!
Finishers medal around my neck!! 70.3 miles in 6:05:53…that is nearly a 27 minute PR!!

4.  Crossing the finish line at the USA Triathlon Olympic-Distance Age Group National Championships in 2013.  Not only did I set a new PR, but I had a blast and got to meet Sister Madonna Buder on the course.  She is such an inspiration!!

Getting my medal and a hug from Chrissie Wellington at the finish line of USA Triathlon Olympic-distance Age Group National Championships.
Getting my medal and a hug from Chrissie Wellington at the finish line of USA Triathlon Olympic-distance Age Group National Championships.

3.  Crossing the finish line at the Boston Marathon was so much fun.  I had worked so hard to get to Boston that running it for fun was definitely the best reward.

I made it...the finish line of the Boston Marathon :)
I made it…the finish line of the Boston Marathon 🙂  The view from my camera that I took pictures from all day long.

2.  Crossing the finish line at the Lakefront Milwaukee Marathon in 2008.  I qualified for the Boston Marathon with 1:13 to spare…YIPPEE!! 🙂

1.  Crossing the finish line at Ironman Wisconsin 2014 after overcoming obstacles earlier in the day.  The fact that I did not remember crossing the finish line in 2011 made this finish so much more rewarding 🙂

Yahoo!!  Photo courtesy of Finisherpix.
Yahoo!! Photo courtesy of Finisherpix.

What are some of your best racing memories?

14 thoughts on “Best Race Memories

    1. Even if it hasn’t been the best racing lately, think back to those that were good in the past. It is a fun and rewarding way to reconnect with racing 😉

  1. So fun and inspiring reading about your personal evolution of racing over the last ten years. It all started with a 5K and now look what you have accomplished… an IRONMAN!!! (twice) This year was full of wonderful race memories. Ironman 70.3 Lake Stevens was probably the race I am most proud of, because I completely surprised myself in every way possible.

    1. Thanks Kristen!! I love it when you have a race that completely surprises you!! I had one of those as well a few years ago and wanted to include that as well, but I wanted to also keep it to 10 in 10 🙂

  2. I loved this!! 10 years of racing!! Yeahyaaa! Such a great look at all your best memories!! I need to look at mine and do a top 10 list!!! 🙂
    I would say MCM marathon memories… I dug real deep for that PR in that race! It was such an awesome race and such a hard day! IMAZ is definitely in the top also! I couldn’t believe that I had such an amazing day there!

  3. So wonderful, and such awesome memories! I wish you many more years of racing, and swimming, biking, and running 🙂
    I think I have too many favourite race memories to mention, but top three: 800m outdoor finals race in 2000 (grade 11), first marathon (painfully undertrained but ran it with kelly), first Ironman (nothing like your first!).

Leave a Reply

