Off-Season

Ironman Wisconsin was 7 weeks ago.  The post-Ironman blues hit HARD.  I went from training 20+ hours a week before the race to basically not at all.  I thrive off of having workouts in training peaks that need to be completed and races on the calendar to train for.  I think it is fairly obvious that I don’t do well with down time.

So what have I done with all of this down time in the last few weeks?

Ran my First Trail Race:

Approaching the first aid station

Approaching the first aid station

Part of the 10 mile trail run course (photo courtesy of The Runner's Flat 50K Trail Run)

Part of the 10 mile trail run course (photo courtesy of The Runner’s Flat 50K Trail Run)

It wouldn't be a trail race if someone didn't eat dirt ;)

It wouldn’t be a trail race if someone didn’t eat dirt 😉

Walk the Dogs:

IMG_0260 IMG_0134 IMG_0108 IMG_0312

Hike at Ledges:

IMG_0067

Visit Breweries:

IMG_0033 IMG_0032 IMG_0324 IMG_0319 IMG_0325

Ride Bikes for Fun with Friends:

IMG_0181 IMG_0100 IMG_0091

IMG_0338 IMG_0347

Long shadows with the setting sun.

Long shadows with the setting sun.

Chasing the sun on our bikes.

Chasing the sun on our bikes.

Hayrides at the Berry Patch:

IMG_0311 IMG_0310 Playing Frisbee with Basil:

IMG_0286

Being a competitive, determined, driven person is amazing (although the Iron Hippie may disagree with that).  It is the firework that motivates me to train in early hours, to train when it is dark and dreary, to train when it is cold and windy, to train when it is hot and muggy.  It compels me to test myself, to improve and be better than I was yesterday.

Because of my “type A personality,” it is time to get back into a more regular workout routine.  Nothing super strenuous, but a routine with some structure.

How long does your off-season last?  How do you enjoy your off-season?

29 thoughts on “Off-Season

    • I can’t believe it has been that long either, Kathy!! I am definitely ready to be back at it and will probably start easing back into it this coming week.

  1. Wow, those fall colors! Looks like you are having so much fun!! I know what you mean though, I really enjoy having a goal to work toward to, it is so fulfilling 🙂

    • The fall colors have been magnificent up here this year!! We are having fun, but I think it is time to start easing back into some easy workouts 😉

  2. No off-season…yet. My cycle is running spring and fall, triathlon wedged in between. IMOO moved right into my fall running series. So far, I did the TC Loony Challenge (5k, 10k, 10 miler-PR on the 10 miler by over 10 minutes). Monster Dash half marathon last weekend (beat my PR by over 10 minutes). Next month Route 66 marathon (and a 5k and 1 mile) followed by Turkey Day 10k. Then a 5k/10k1 mile on New Years Day, and the Houston Marathon (and 5k) mid January. Then, I get my off season. Only one “race between mid January and early May. I’ll let you know when I get there…but there is an awful lot season left!

  3. Kecia, this is all new to me. Completed my 1st full marathon a week ago (I am 56 years old). I am back running (gone out twice so far), but should I be taking some time off)? My next event is the beginning of March, a half marathon, but it is still Canadian winter then, so it will have it’s own challenges.

      • Wow, 10 years racing is AMAZING. Thank you so much for your kind reply, and the link. It does make sense now, even pro athletes have their off season for that recharging and rejuvenation.

        No doubt I will have questions down the road Thanks so much for your offer of assistance to my queries.. It shows a lot of the character you possess.

        ~Carl~ 🙂

      • I love to help fellow athletes, Carl!! Watching (and helping) others accomplish their goals is so rewarding for me…often more so than accomplishing my own goals. It is fun to see the joy it brings others!! Let me know if you have questions down the road. I’ve seen a lot over the years 😉

  4. It seems like you have been keeping really busy, regardless! I love that you tried something new (trail running) and that you are getting to spend some time with your friends riding bikes and enjoying life. Fall is a great time to just have fun! I have not been able to commit to the off-season yet. It scares me. My last race this year will be on December 7 and then I will officially be “off” for two to three months. I am hoping to enjoy some down time during the holidays, hang out with family, celebrate, and re-evaluate my goals before heading into the new year. I want to use the winter months to build a strong base for the 2015 tri season. Can’t wait!!

    • We have been having a lot of fun!! I am definitely ready to start back up with some more serious training though. Just over a month left in your training cycle…that will be here before you know it and then you can relax a bit too 🙂

  5. I bet your dogs are loving your extra time 🙂
    Glad you’re taking some time off, even if it’s tough for you! I’m sure your body appreciates it!
    I’m not sure if you read her blog, but Tri Marni has written a couple great posts on this topic lately:
    Avoid overtraining and burnout, http://trimarni.blogspot.ca/2014/10/avoid-overtraining-and-burnout.html
    Athlete (not-in-training) – Off Season Tips,
    http://trimarni.blogspot.ca/2014/10/athlete-not-in-training-off-season-tips.html

    • The dogs are loving the down time and I think my body is, but my mind is definitely not enjoying the break. I feel lost, but I know that will change as I get back into the routine soon. Thanks for the links Abby!! I have not seen these, but will definitely read them 🙂

  6. Great off season!! That is the way to do it!! Looks like you have been having a great time! Training for Boulder will start soon and it will be back to the ol’ grind! 🙂
    I haven’t really had an off season yet! I am looking forward to Monday until the end of November for my off season! I am going to Costa Rica and i can’t wait to relax! I usually like to take a couple of months of little to no structure but it was a little different this year due to the marathon!

    • Every year is different 🙂 I had 2 months off with no structure, but now it is time to get some structure back into my routine. Have a FABULOUS race!! I hope you have the wind at your back and wheels on your feet!! I’ll be cheering you on from central Iowa 😉

  7. Looks like you are really enjoying your off season! The post race blues are for REAL! I had such a hard time during the first couple of weeks… so depressing! My dog Oliver is also loving my ‘down time’ and getting to go for extra long walks! My off season starts next week, where I will take a FULL two weeks off, then just ease back into things. I am running the Boston Marathon in April, so it doesn’t allow for several months ‘off’. I don’t think I’ll start training for that until after Christmas though!

    • It is good to have down time, although 2 months off is enough for me. I wish you the best on your decision making process for this weekend and if you choose to run, run smart 😉 Taking 2 full weeks off sounds like a good plan…your body will appreciate the off season 😉

  8. What a fun off-season! We’ve had an amazing autumn this year, right?! Mine’s been filled with girl time, bike rides and lots of reflection 🙂 Awesome, but ready to hit it again tomorrow (workouts are already loaded in TrainingPeaks!)!

    • Thanks Erin!! It has been a fun off-season, but I’m ready to hit the training plan again!! I’m so excited to see workouts in Training Peaks (even if I write them myself)!! 😉

Leave a Reply

