Eureka!!

Eureka…Greek for, “I have found it.”  Archimedes exclaimed, “Eureka!!” when he discovered the method for determining the purity of gold.

It has been 9 weeks since Ironman Wisconsin and weeks 4-8 I felt like I lost my mojo.  While it is good to take a break and recover, falling off the wagon and being drug behind the wagon by a rope is not recommended.  That is what I feel like weeks 4-8 were.  I didn’t swim once in the 8 weeks post Ironman Wisconsin, I was on my tri bike once post Ironman Wisconsin, my strength training and running were very limited and I was beginning to feel like a potbellied pig…pudgy, dumpy and lardy.

Signing up for Ironman Boulder 2015 gave me new focus and drive.  “Eureka!!  I have found it!!”  I have found my mojo again 😉  I have found the motivation to get out the door and do what I love!  Exercise makes me happy, but I do best when I have a race on the schedule and goals that I’m working toward.  Without those races and goals, my exercise routine often becomes stagnate.

Week 9 post Ironman Wisconsin finally had workouts in Training Peaks and gave me a routine to get back in to.

Finally...workouts are loaded in Training Peaks!!

Finally…workouts are loaded in Training Peaks!!

Monday:

One hour strength training session…

IMG_0409

Tuesday:

An early morning EASY run…

IMG_0410

A swim after work…First swim post Ironman Wisconsin and it felt good 🙂

IMG_0420

Wednesday:

An early morning trainer ride…6×2 min power zone 4

IMG_0426

After work, I taught TRX for two sessions back to back totaling 90 minutes…I actually participated for only about 60 minutes though.

Thursday:

A 45 minute run after work at a very easy pace, followed by 45 minutes of TRX.  Normally I only teach TRX on Thursdays, but this week I was asked to fill in for an instructor on Wednesday, so I got more strength training than I typically would do.

IMG_0429

Friday:

An early morning swim…6×50 negative splits and 5×200 yards.  My Ironman Wisconsin swim cap gave me some much needed motivation.

IMG_0441

Saturday:

An early morning run with our local running group (and friends) for a total of 7.3 miles followed by an hour strength training session at the gym.

Finally a run that felt good post Ironman Wisconsin!!  7+ miles at a sub 9 min/mile pace...I'll take it!!

Finally a run that felt good post Ironman Wisconsin!! 7+ miles at a sub 9 min/mile pace…I’ll take it!!

Sunday:

An early morning trainer ride with friends in our basement…90 minutes including 2×20 min power zone 3.

IMG_0484

Time to sweat!!

IMG_0486

Those who train together…

This was a successful training week with all of my workouts showing up green in Training Peaks 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 3.49.24 PM

IMG_0485

What “eureka” moments have you had?  How was your training week?

29 thoughts on “Eureka!!

    • Thanks Abby!! It is nice to be back, although this week won’t be as productive since I have parent teacher conferences every night this week after teaching all day. It will be an exhausting week, but I’m looking forward to having Friday off 😉 My first swim was a bit of a struggle, but the second swim back felt really good!! It felt good to get back in the pool 🙂

  1. Amy says:

    I know what you mean about needing a goal race. The registration for my two (little races) I want to do won’t open for awhile yet. I can’t wait to get signed up!

  2. Glad to see you smiling and sweating again in all of your pictures. 😉 Isn’t having a race on the schedule and a training plan nice? I am so excited that you are doing IM Boulder… we will be on a very similar schedule this year. I need to learn more about TRX. Maybe you could do an entire post about it?

    • It is nice to be smiling and sweating again 😉 It will be fun to be on similar schedules for 2015. I just have to dial in what my race schedule will look like leading up to IMBoulder 🙂

      Thanks for the TRX post idea!! I’ll see what I can come up with after parent teacher conferences this week.

    • Thanks Sandra!! This week hasn’t been as workout friendly thanks to parent teacher conferences, but I knew that going into this week and was looking at it as more of a recovery week. 😉

    • Thanks Lee!! It felt really good last week 🙂 This week has not been as successful. I have been working 13 hour days due to teaching all day and having parent teacher conferences all evening every day this week. Early mornings are getting harder and harder as the week progresses 😦

    • Most definitely Erin!! I must say this week has been a downer for me since I have had parent teacher conferences every evening after school and have not been able to workout like I would prefer. I am definitely looking forward to next week 🙂

Leave a Reply

