“I Mustache You Some Questions”

mustache

I’m doing something a little different for some Friday Fun! Jennifer did this survey on her blog and tagged me to participate, too. So here we go…

Four names that people call me, other than my real name:

  1. “Keesh”…I was chased around the kitchen as a young kid by Dad when we were making quiche for breakfast and he was joking with me that I was going to be cooked and served for breakfast
  2. “Kek”…my sister, Abbie, started calling me this when I was in high school and it has stuck
  3. “Sister Fencl”…I got this one from my local running group. I’m not really sure where it came from
  4. “Mrs. Fencl”…my students think it’s funny to say “Mrs. Fencl, can I have a pencil?” since they rhyme

Four jobs I have had:

  1. Toilet Cleaner – Growing up my parents had a motel, so I often helped out by cleaning toilets…to this day, it is not one of my favorite chores
  2. Personal Trainer
  3. Free-Lance Writer for a local magazine where I write fitness articles
  4. 8th Grade Physical Science Teacher

Four movies I’ve watched more than once:

  1. Girls Just Wanna Have Fun
  2. Dirty Dancing
  3. The Hunger Games
  4. October Sky

Four books I’d recommend:

  1. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  2. A Life Without Limits by Chrissie Wellington
  3. Mindset: The New Psychology of Success by Carol Dweck
  4. Divergent by Veronica Roth

Four places I have lived:

  1. Wahpeton, Iowa
  2. Okoboji, Iowa
  3. St. Louis Park, Minnesota
  4. Ames, Iowa

Four places I have been:

  1. Dominican Republic
  2. Acapulco, Mexico
  3. Italy (all over the country)
  4. Yellowstone National Park

Four places I’d rather be right now:

  1. On my bike…someplace warm where I can ride my bike outside without freezing (I’m not quite ready for these REALLY cold Iowa temperatures)
  2. Anywhere that an Ironman race is in progress so I can cheer on inspiring athletes
  3. On vacation somewhere…I don’t care where as long as I get to do what I want when I want 😉
  4. Thailand…I’ve always wanted to go on vacation there to experience the sites, culture and yummy food

Four things I don’t eat:

  1. Liver. Too many braunschweiger sandwiches as a kid.
  2. Cheese Balls. Choked on them as a kid and had to have the heimlich maneuver done to remove it.
  3. Pickled anything. Yuck.
  4. Gizzards. They are not meant to be eaten in my opinion…sorry Dad.  🙂

Four of my favorite foods:

  1. Fruit…I love it all
  2. Homemade, gluten-free pizza
  3. Karma Kombucha
  4. Breakfast smoothies…I love to experiment with new recipes!

Four TV shows that I watch:

  1. NCIS
  2. The Biggest Loser
  3. The Voice
  4. The Today Show (when I am not working)

Four things I am looking forward to this year:

  1. Snowshoeing with the Iron Hippie and our girls
  2. Ironman Boulder 2015
  3. Training for Ironman Boulder 2015
  4. Getting to spend 3 weeks in Colorado this coming summer

Four things I’m always saying:

  1. “What was I thinking?!?!?!” (pre-race jitters) & “Who’s ready to do this again?!?!?!?!” (post-race euphoria)
  2. “Basil, leave Mya alone.”
  3. “Can we plan…” (I am a planner and like to communicate with the Iron Hippie about the schedule for tomorrow, the week, the year)
  4. “Ladies and Gentlemen” (this is how I start every class period that I teach)

Four People I Tag:

  1. Heidi
  2. Leslie
  3. Kristen
  4. Kelli

Now it’s your turn…

I want to hear your answers! Share something with me from the list above.

13 thoughts on ““I Mustache You Some Questions”

  1. One thing I always say… When asked, “how are you”? I answer, “If I were doing any better they’d pass a law against it because they were jealous”. I interchange that with “…they’d raise my taxes because they were jealous”.

    Both are alarmingly close to reality.

    1. It was fun to living at a motel growing up, Abby…new friends to play with every week was a lot of fun!! Cleaning toilets not so much 😉

      Thailand is definitely on my bucket list as a must do 😉

  2. FUN! Thanks for tagging me! I watched Dirty Dancing so much growing (back when VHS was the thing), that I had to buy a new copy. One of my faves! Love the Biggest Loser! How do you like this season? I think they really switched it up nicely after the controversy from last season.

    1. I too had Dirty Dancing on VHS and needed to buy a new copy after watching it so many times. 😉 I do like how they’ve changed up Biggest Loser this season, although I haven’t watched it religiously as I’ve been rather busy lately.

  3. Oh my goodness, I got so behind in reading your blog and HELLER, look what I missed!!!??? Anyway, this was a lot of fun to read so I think I’ll be doing this as a post this or next week. But as a teaser, here’s a few tidbits: Something I’m looking forward to this year is IM training. It’s also something I’m terrified about but if this year was any lesson, just do the work and I’ll be fine. I LOVE chicken parmesan, especially for breakfast after a really hard workout. Strange, but true. And I hate that I hate onions, peppers, and raw tomatoes. There you go and thanks for tagging me!!!

    1. Doing the work definitely breeds success on race day!! I have no doubt you will have an awesome race IM journey and race 🙂 I’ve never thought about chicken parmesan for breakfast…VERY unique 😉 I can’t wait to read more!!

Leave a Reply

