35 Weeks to Ironman Boulder

Last week was very successful despite coming down with the common cold on Monday (which lasted all week) and having Thanksgiving celebrations later in the week.

Monday:

45 minutes of TRX…this was mostly a core workout since I came down with the common cold, but it was still a great workout despite how I felt.

Tuesday:

50 minute run…It was a BEAUTIFUL winter day for a run, so we ran up to the golf course and ran from hole 1-9 before hopping on the trails by our house. It was fun to do something different for a run πŸ™‚

A nice an easy run...I struggled with breathing a bit due to my common cold.
A nice an easy run…I struggled with breathing a bit due to my common cold.

Wednesday:

AM: 1:15 Trainer Ride with single-leg drills…this was a great way to start the short school day (1 pm dismissal).

PM: 50 min – 2400 yard swim…this was good, but the breathing was a bit of a challenge. I felt good and timed my 500 to see where I was (while not pushing the pace)…I was pleasantly surprised.

IMG_0608

It snowed ALL.DAY.LONG. I shoveled snow when I got home from work/my swim and an anonymous person put a smile on my face because of some fun left in our driveway πŸ™‚

IMG_0610

I finished out my evening by going to hot yoga. It felt so good to reconnect with my yoga mat!!

IMG_0613

Thursday:

Thankfully we have a 24/7 key card for the gym since it was closed on Thanksgiving day. When we woke up at 5 am to go run, it was COLD! We waited until 6:30 am and then went to the gym because of these windchill temperatures:

Ames windchill temperatures at 6:30 am...-14F...Brrrr
Ames windchill temperatures at 6:30 am…-14F…Brrrr

Thanks to Coeur Sports and Osmo Nutrition for all of your amazing support on this run and all of my training and racing in 2014!!

IMG_0624

After my 45 min easy run on the treadmill, I did a 1 hour strength training session.

We spent the afternoon and evening enjoying lots of food and fun with family:

IMG_0630
Lots of food to replace those burned calories…YUMMY!!

IMG_0628

IMG_0640
Love my Sole Sista!!
IMG_0633
Fun in the kitchen πŸ˜‰
IMG_0645
The Iron Hippie saying his prayers that Jenga doesn’t topple over on him πŸ˜‰

Friday:

AM 50 min swim – 2100 yards with lots of drills and easy swimming πŸ™‚

IMG_0675

Saturday:

AM 80 min run with LOTS of hills…what goes up, must come down πŸ˜‰ This was a challenging run as most of it was on snow covered roads and trails and my feet slipped a BUNCH!! I need to get the sheet metalΒ screws that Kristen mentioned into one of my pairs of running shoes so that I don’t have to worry about the snow throughout the winter (yes…I rotate between 4 pairs of running shoes and one could keep the screws in for the winter).

IMG_0684

I followed up the run with 1 hour of strength training and core work…it felt GREAT!!

IMG_0685

Sunday:

AM: 2 hour trainer ride Aerobic Over and Unders

IMG_0687

PM: BONUS WORKOUT = 90 minutes of Hot Yoga

IMG_0695

Weekly Totals:

Swim: 1:40:00 for 2.56 miles

Bike: 3:15:00 for 44.9 miles

Run: 2:55:00 for 18.5 miles

Strength Training: 2:45:00

Hot Yoga: 2:30:00

How was your training week? How was your Thanksgiving?

18 thoughts on “35 Weeks to Ironman Boulder

    1. Thanks Lee! I’m definitely ready for this “cold” to go away. It just keeps lingering on 😦 I decided it was time to mix things up and go for a new look πŸ™‚

  1. Wow! Amazed by your persistant intensity.I was able to do it for a few months last year but could not continue at that level indefinitely (nor do I want to). I am back to 6-8 hours a week and am happy with that. Huge respect to anyone who can make this into a rewarding and fulfilling lifestyle! Congrats!!!

  2. Great week!! Getting some yoga in now will help the injury prevention through the season!! I can’t imagine those temps! I ran in 28 degrees this morning and it was miserable(but not bad enough to run on the deathmill)!! πŸ™‚ I hope you are feeling better. I hate being sick!!!

    1. Yoga should help with injury prevention and walking into hot yoga has felt REALLY good lately with these ridiculously COLD temps! I haven’t completed my workouts so far this week due to not feeling very well, but I am feeling on the mend…I am feeling hopeful and looking forward to what the rest of the week might bring πŸ˜‰

  3. Haha, that’s cute that you call it the β€œcommon” cold, not just cold. Girl, you gotta get those screws in your shoes. That is smart to designate a pair of shoes specifically for the screws. I will need to do that. I can’t believe you are already putting in those kinds of hours! It’s going to be a great year for you. Looks like you had a fabulous Thanksgiving. How could you not with Jenga?

    1. I’m definitely getting those screws put in my shoes…as soon as this cold leaves my system and I’m back on track. I’ve missed a few days of workouts and I’m not happy about it ;(

      We did have a lot of fun this Thanksgiving! That was our first time playing Jenga…we decided we need to buy it for our house πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

