31 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

Hmmm…just when I have LOTS of time off work to focus on workouts, I end up with pneumonia. So much for working out much this week. Here’s how the week rolled:

Monday:

AM: I started planning for 2015 with a little Karma Kombucha and my new Believe Training Journal πŸ˜‰

IMG_0861

PM: TRX class was mostly core work with LOTS of coughing

Tuesday:

I went to the doctor…pneumonia was the diagnosis and Z-pack was the prescribed meds to get me back on track. I took a 4 hour nap and drank lots of fluids today. The Iron Hippie went to the doctor today as a precaution because he had a bit of a sore throat and knew the doctor’s office would be closed for the next few days…no diagnosis.

Wednesday: Christmas Eve

I slept over 10 hours the night before and took a 2 hour nap today. We did get our best Christmas present in the mail today…

IMG_0886
Thanks Mom and Dad for our AWESOME gift!!

I shared some grapefruit with my favorite girl…Basil. Do you know any dog that LOVES grapefruit?!?!?! Basil starts salivating profusely for grapefruit as soon as she smells it.

IMG_0890
Merry Christmas Basil

About 7 pm, the Iron Hippie had a temperature of 101.6F…here we go…this is going to be an amazing Christmas!

Thursday: Christmas Day

The Iron Hippie and I were sick ALL day. Aside from sleeping,Β all we got accomplished was watching NCIS episodes on DVD…we have all of the seasons (except the last 2). Β This was not how we had hoped to celebrate Christmas, but I am thankful we both had time to rest and fully recover from our illnesses.

Friday:

I finally started to feel like a normal human being today. I really wanted to ride my bicycle, but decided one more day of resting and drinking lots of fluids were more important. The Iron Hippie went back to the doctor today and was diagnosed with a strain of influenza that wasn’t covered with the flu shot.

So I decided to put a puzzle together…

IMG_0904

IMG_0906
This was only 500 pieces, so I was able to complete it all in one day.

Saturday:

I took the last of my Z-pack meds this morning and was feeling MUCH better. TimeΒ to start another puzzle…

This one was 1000 pieces and a little bit more challenging.
This one was 1000 pieces and a little bit more challenging.

It took some #heartandcourage (Thank you Coeur Sports) to try riding my bike and see how my body felt. I was really nervous that my body would tell me that I needed more rest…aside from heavy breathing, I felt really good…YAY!! I rode mostly in Z1-2, but incorporated 4×1 min at Z4, just to see how it would feel. #bikelove πŸ˜‰

IMG_0927

Sunday:

I continued to put the puzzle together…

DONE!
DONE!

I also ran with Allen and Basil. My goal was to run 3-4 easy miles and see how my body would hold up. It felt GREAT to be outside in the fresh air! When I got to mile 4, I decided I would keep running a bit since I was feeling great…No chest pain (my breathing was heavier than normal, but that was the only sign that I’d been sick recently). #runlove

IMG_0931

Weekly Totals:

Swim = 0 miles

Bike = 14.3 miles

Run = 6.21 miles

Strength Training = 45 minutes

How was your week of workouts? How did you celebrate Christmas?

29 thoughts on “31 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

  1. I guess the one good thing is that you and the Iron Hippie were both sick, so you can go through it together and get it over and done with. I was sick last week and now that I am feeling better, my hubs is starting to feel a little under the weather. Hopefully his symptoms will go away more quickly. It must be that time of year, eh?

    I love doing puzzles, but don’t do them very often. I associate puzzles with a lot of rest and down time. They are very relaxing.

    Glad you are feeling better and have been able to get back into cycling and running!

    1. It was good that we both have been sick at nearly the same time. Get the germs over and out of the house. I hope your husband feels better soon! I love doing puzzles also, but it does mean down time for us as well. I hope 2015 finds you happy and healthy!

  2. Sounds like you have knocked out that nasty sickness relatively quickly! Good for you! Hopefully the same will be true for your hubbie! Slowly getting back on track is such a good feeling after sickness. I forget about puzzles! That was a great thing to do since you probably had watched plenty of TV! I want to start one now!

    1. I think having the Z-pack definitely helped me heal faster! My husband was not given meds and it is taking him longer to heal up 😞 I enjoy puzzles, but always associate them with down time or the off season. It was nice to have a change from the television though. Here’s to a happy and healthy 2015!!

  3. I received a new blender as well! A Oster Versa, just made my first green smoothie this morning…so good! Love that you have been doing puzzles. My work keeps bringing one in and I have been having way too much fun completing them.

    Glad your run went well! Sounds like everything is getting back on track.

    1. Yay for green smoothie goodness!! I love puzzles, but they mean down time to me, so we typically only do them when sick or in the off season. I think I’m finally getting back on track…feels good! Here’s to a happy and healthy 2015!!

    1. Thanks lady!! I definitely feel better and am very grateful that it didn’t last any longer than it did! Here’s to a happy and healthy 2015 πŸ˜‰

  4. Ugh, you were supposed to get BETTER!!!! So sorry you both were sick. Hope he’s on the mend now too! Looks like you had good things to do. My hubs and I have talked about puzzles and we love them, but our cats make toys of them, even when we cover them up. Grrrr. Well, continue to feel better!!!! We had a great Christmas, if you count that as eating and drinking too much while laughing a lot, playing games, watching all the cheesy movies, and then wishing it was continue for another week πŸ™‚

  5. Yay! Glad to hear you’re on the mend! This flu and pneumonia is epidemic! So glad you have access to health care, too, and are back on the bike. I was excited to pump out 9.5 miles myself today!

  6. The 1st puzzle was Glacier National Park, yes?

    My husband got sick last week and I’ve been utilizing all my tricks to avoid getting it. With 9 days to Dopey, this girl doesn’t have time to get sick.

    Glad to hear your house is on the mend!

    1. The box doesn’t say where it is, but i think it is Glacier National Park.

      I hope you are able to evade this crap! It isn’t fun and you definitely don’t need this with Dopey just around the corner. Have fun and run safely! πŸ˜ƒ

  7. I am so glad that you are feeling better!!! You are going to love your Vitamix especially in the thick of IM training!!!
    I got a Believe journal too(I am sure everyone who has even heard of Lauren has one)!! πŸ™‚ I wanted to start using it Jan 1 but I am still having foot trouble so I might hold off a bit! 😦
    OMG!!!! I can’t believe you did 2 puzzles!! We started the Christmas Vacation (think movie poster) puzzle and couldn’t finish it before we left LV! It was hard! I want to go get another puzzle to work on!! πŸ™‚

    1. We are already loving the Vitamix, but I know we’ll love it even more as IM training ramps up!! I love the Believe journal…the focus to goals is awesome!! I hope your foot heals up quickly!! We are currently putting a 3rd puzzle together, but have to complete it by Saturday so we can clean house before heading back to work. This one is a bit more challenging and we haven’t been as focused on it. πŸ˜‰

      1. Love it! I told Dan I wanted to go get a puzzle today because you gave me some motivation to actually finish one!! πŸ™‚
        (I am going to the MD tomorrow about my foot. I am nervous but it has gone on long enough! ) 😦

Leave a Reply

