2015 S.M.A.R.T. Goal for my “A” Race

Many people start the new year with “New Year’s Resolutions” and most of those people quit trying to keep these resolutions within the first month of the new year. According to the Huffington Post, only about 13% (1 in 8) of people who set New Year Resolutions successfully keep their resolutions for one year. This is why I don’t set New Year’s Resolutions…instead, I set S.M.A.R.T. (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant and Time-based) goals.

I evaluated my 2014 journey, which allowed me to reflect on successes and failures throughout the year. Being truthful with myself and my 2014 journey, has helped me set S.M.A.R.T. goals for my 2015 training and racing season.

Smart Goal

When setting S.M.A.R.T. goals, it is important that they are:

  1. Specific…having precise goals stated in terms of performance.
  2. Measurable…being able to determine if the goal has been accomplished.
  3. Attainable…setting high, but realistic and achievable goals.
  4. Relevant…setting a goal that is important to YOU and NOT because a friend or family member has a similar goal.
  5. Timely…having a specific time frame for completing the goal.

My “A” race for 2015 is Ironman Boulder on August 2. My time goal for this race is sub 14 hours…

Ironman Boulder

  • What does this mean for a time goal for each discipline of the race? Swim = 1:15-1:20 (I swam 1:21:52 in 2014 at Ironman Wisconsin); Bike = 7:00:00…or less (I biked 8:15:12 in 2014 and 7:56:58 in 2011 at Ironman Wisconsin); Run = 4:30:00-4:45:00 (I ran 5:15:32 in 2014 at Ironman Wisconsin)
  • Why do I have a sub 14 hour goal? While it would be awesome to set a new PR (and sub 14 hours would be a PR by over an hour), I really want to push my limits and see what I can actually do, even if it is at a higher altitude. I have BIG DREAMS and a sub 14 hour Ironman would get me one step closer to fulfilling these #BigDreams.      IMG_0973
  • What steps am I going to take to get there? I am going to focus most of my efforts on the bike to improve my bike strength. Incorporating more power focused workouts on the bike into my training plan will definitely help me build the bike strength I am seeking. I am also going to incorporate more brick runs off the bike to teach my legs to run strong when they are tired. I am going to follow a well laid out training plan making sure it includes proper recovery. I am going to continue to incorporate strength training into my training plan to prevent injuries. I am going to continue to incorporate mental training into my training plan so that I continue to teach myself to #believe in me, my abilities and my training.

I am expecting some challenges along the way…after all, it wouldn’t be an Ironman if there weren’t challenges. One of the biggest challenges we will encounter is going from an altitude of 956 feet in central Iowa to an altitude of 5430 feet in Boulder, Colorado. Thankfully, we have a plan to help diminish the effects such a drastic change in altitude can have on a person…we are going to arrive in Colorado on Saturday, July 11 and start at an altitude of just over 8,000 feet to acclimate for a few weeks. This will give us 3 full weeks to acclimate (as best we can) to the higher altitude before race day…who doesn’t love a 3 week vacation leading up to a big race?!?!?!?!

What is your “A” goal for 2015? Have you made this goal a S.M.A.R.T. goal?

24 thoughts on “2015 S.M.A.R.T. Goal for my “A” Race

  1. I loved reading this post. When I come back to racing, I need to be this organized and ready! I think are definitely on the right path to meet your goals 🙂

    1. Thanks Amy! I am definitely a planner and like to revisit where I’ve been to help me determine how to successfully achieve my hopes and dreams for the future. 😉

  2. Wishing you the best in reaching your goal for the Ironman. I was going to say wishing you the best “of luck”, but I think with all the hard, smart work you are going to put in, extra luck isn’t needed!

  3. If there’s any recon or Colorado logistics, do not hesitate to bug me.

    I think coming out here so early is smart. Get used to training in the heat too. I cooked in Boulder last year.

    1. Thanks Erin!! I may definitely contact you 😉 While we have similar heat to train in here in central Iowa, we have humidity, not the dry heat. Acclimating will be good.

  4. Yes!!! I love it!! You are totally going to smash Boulder! I think you have great realistic goals that will get you to the finish line happy and smiling!
    I think that my goal race is Victoria 70.3 but I haven’t quite decided!! 🙂

    1. I am so excited Leslie! Thanks for your support and belief in me and my abilities. I know I can achieve this goal and am looking forward to it.

      Victoria 70.3 would be awesome! I’ll be looking for a solid decision soon

  5. Are you planning on doing any 70.3 distances leading up to the race? That is AWESOME that you get to arrive in Canada so early and adapt before the race. That is very “smart” 🙂 I think your goal is completely realistic and doable. I have heard that Boulder is a faster course compared to Wisconsin. Hopefully the weather will be a little better than last year – I guess they had a huge heatwave on the day of the race. Our races are only a week apart, so it will be fun to cheer each other on!

  6. We are not planning to do a 70.3 race at this time (although I haven’t ruled it out just yet). We do have a 100 mile race scheduled in early June, so that should give us a good test of where we are at before the race…more details to come on the 100 mile race.

    I do hope the weather is better in Boulder than last year, but we are all dealt the same weather conditions on race day, so I’ll deal with whatever may come.

    I am really excited to have such similar training schedules…it will be fun to follow your journey and successes on race day!! Here’s to an epic 2015 😉

  7. Love reading this! After talking with my new triathlon coach, I’m thinking of doing Boulder for my first full instead of Louisville. Less time to build up, but as a teacher I feel like I need to capitalize on my time off to train in the summer.

    1. I too am a teacher 😉 My first 2 Ironman races have been Ironman Wisconsin, where I have finished my last week of intense training during the first week of school and then tapering. I’m looking forward to getting the training and racing behind me before starting a new school year. We are going to Boulder for our taper (3 weeks) to acclimate to the altitude and do some training on the course. It would be fun if you do the same race to meet up!! I’m looking forward to what you decide!! Cheers to an amazing 2015 🙂

  8. I am so impressed with your focus and how you’ve put your goals out there! Also, I can’t imagine starting the academic year with an Ironman (or any race, to be honest). I think that you’ll appreciate the timing of the race – you’ll be able to peak, taper, race and then recover before the year begins!
    We should definitely hook up in Boulder – we’ll also be there a few weeks before the race.

    1. Thanks Kristina! It should be fun and I am definitely looking forward to having the race behind me before the new academic year starts back up!!

      Yes, let’s plan a meet up in Boulder!! It would be great to meet you in person 😉

  9. Love the SMART goals!! I am totally inspired after reading this.. I need to set some myself:) I can sense your determination and I know that you can do this if you put your mind (and body) to the test!! I can relate about working on bike power… that is a huge goal of mine in 2015! I am also trying to take an hour off my IMMT time, eeek! Here’s to crushing big goals this year!!!!

  10. So smart to head out early to acclimate! No doubt with your determination and preparation, those big dreams are yours for the taking. Looking forward to following your journey, Kecia 🙂 Happiest 2015!

  11. I love the #DreamBig approach, and I so admire your focus and intention. Can’t wait to follow along as you guys prep for the big day & we’ll be cheering you along the whole way!!

Leave a Reply

