28 weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

Crazy to think that we are already over halfway through the month of January!! Where does time go??? This was a really good week of workouts and without further adieu…

Monday:

AM: 1 hour strength training…I have been struggling with trying to get my left hamstring to activate, but I think I finally found a move to activate it. We’ll see if my leg responds to it and I end up with fewer injuries/problems in my left leg as a result.

IMG_1236

PM: 2400 yard #swimlove…there weren’t many people in the pool and this was actually a pretty decent time to swim πŸ™‚

IMG_1247

Tuesday:

AM: Brrr…what a cold morning!! This meant taking my run to the mill and running next to my sole sista for some #solesistasweat. While it was a hard pick for a #FaveWorkout this week, this interval #runlove was the winner!! I felt so good that I did 3 bonus intervals in memory of TRJ.

IMG_1273 IMG_1269

I immediately followed my run up with 2300 yard #swimlove, since I didn’t have to be to work this morning until 8 am (I had a whole extra hour before work…wow).

IMG_1272

Wednesday:

AM: #bikelove…thanks Erin for the amazing workout πŸ™‚ I love #intervals and this workout was a close second for my #FaveWorkout this week!!

IMG_1286

Thursday:

AM: 70 minute fartleks #runlove…this was a good run, but I could tell I was tired from Tuesday’s run and Wednesday’s ride, so I didn’t push as hard as I normally would have.

IMG_1290

PM: TRX class…this was a lot of core πŸ™‚

Friday:

Rest day…I definitely needed a rest day, so it was good that I took one.

Saturday:

AM: 12 mile #runlove…some miles were with friends and some were solo. What a great morning to run…40F at 6 am πŸ™‚

IMG_1299

I followed my run up with 30 minutes of core work and hamstring strengthening.

IMG_1315

Sunday:

AM: 2 hour & 15 minute #bikelove…alternate zone 2 and zone 3/4. I didn’t push as hard as I could have/should have since my legs were tired. I decided to let them recover a bit so I’d be ready to hit it hard again this coming week.

IMG_1321

PM: 90 minutes of hot yoga…I got some #solesistasweat and #yogalove

Weekly Totals:

Swim: 2.67 miles

Bike: 48.5 miles

Run: 24.9 miles

Strength Training: 2 hours 35 minutes

Hot Yoga: 90 minutes

How was your week of workouts?

22 thoughts on “28 weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

  1. Wow! That sounds like a great week. Haha I had to laugh when I read “I didn’t have to be to work until 8.” I totally struggled to get my run in this morning and make it to work by 9:30 today haha and you kill a big run and a swim all before 8. I’m impressed!!

    1. Thanks Kelsey! I typically have to be to work by 7, which often only leaves time for one morning workout. I’d love to have a 9:30 start time, but I wouldn’t want to work late either πŸ˜‰

  2. I had a great one today, 35 minutes, about 14 miles worth of intervals (1 minute on, 2 off)… Darn near lost what little breakfast I ate – it was absolutely awesome. Good to be back, even if I do still feel a little gnarly.

  3. I do those plants on the ball, too… so good for upper body strength in aero! Great week of training! Time can keep flying so spring gets here πŸ™‚

  4. Great week!! Sounds like you are getting more into a routine!! July will be here before we know it!! I think strength work outs help so much with staying injury free! It is so helpful! I definitely feel stronger after my strength sessions too!!!
    My week of work outs were good too!!

    1. Agreed Leslie! I definitely feel like strength training helps me stay injury free and I feel so much stronger during my SBR workouts and on race day πŸ™‚

  5. Wow! New follower to your blog, but impressive week of workouts! It’s refreshing to see the pictures of your smiles after your workouts too! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

