25 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

This week started off a little out of sorts thanks to Mother Nature’s bad attitude. Sunday, February 1 we ended up with about 14 inches of wet, heavy snow, so we took an extra day at my parents instead of driving back home in the storm and mayhem. So here is how my week unfolded…

Monday:

We got up and swam at the Bedell Family YMCA and did a strength training session before loading up the car and heading home. My 7×200 swim at the YMCA was my #FaveWorkout this week. Thankfully the trip home was uneventful and didn’t take much longer than normal. We arrived home to 14 inches of snow that needed to be shoveled out of our driveway so we could get to the house and unload. That once wet, heavy snow had refroze to solid, heavy, uncooperative snow to shovel…UGH!! Thankfully our neighbor came over with his 4-wheeler that has a blade on the front and helped us, so it didn’t take as long as it might have otherwise. I also had a package on the front steps…Can you say Coeur Sports Team Kits?!?!?!? LOVE!!Β After unloading, we hit the trainer for a short speed workout and Basil decided to take a nap while we rode πŸ™‚

IMG_1552 IMG_1549 IMG_1554 IMG_1557

Tuesday:

The day started with a 70 minute endurance run on the treadmill…the roads were not conducive for outdoor running.

IMG_1560

After work, I took to the pool for a rather challenging, but fun swim workout…Power Swim

IMG_1562

Wednesday:

The morning ride was 90 minutes in Zone 2. I love riding my bike, but I love it even more when intervals are involved…unfortunately that was not the case this morning and this ride required lots of #heartandcourage to finish.

IMG_1578

After work, we had dinner with friends…so much fun!!

Thursday:

Can you say BRR?!?!?! It was a rather chilly start to the day, but that didn’t stop me from completing my 50 minute treadmill run. The workout was 4×4 minutes FAST, with 4 minutes of recovery between. I ran the fast sets at a 7:30 pace…that is one way to warm up!!

IMG_1579 IMG_1582

After work I met a new personal training client who is a marathon runner looking for more functional strength training. I followed this up with our TRX class…this week was a great workout and gave me great ideas for next week’s class!!

IMG_1595

Friday:

Rest Day…I had a much needed massage…OUCH!! There was nothing relaxing about this massage. My feet and legs are so tight that we scheduled another one for next week…UGH…tightness GO AWAY!!!

IMG_1598

I also decided this is my mantra for this training/racing season…

IMG_1580

Saturday:

I started out the morning with 30 minutes of core work and followed it up with an 11 mile run with The Iron Hippie and Basil. We ran LOTS of HILLS on snow covered gravel roads…it felt like running through sand and was quite challenging.

IMG_1601
Nothing spectacular, but definitely worked hard with this one…

After the run, we cleaned up and headed to lunch with a friend who relocated to Virginia, so we don’t get to see her nearly often enough…I’m seriously thinking of holding her hostage until her husband gives in and moves back πŸ˜‰

IMG_1603

Sunday:

The day started with a 2 1/2 hour ride alternating between zone 2 and zone 3. My Garmin 310XT quit detecting my power, cadence, heart rate, speed, etc. 10 times during this ride. I would turn off my Garmin and power it back up and it would work just fine…for about 10-15 minutes before doing it again. Has anyone else had this problem? I spent almost an hour on the phone with Garmin about 2 weeks ago regarding a separate issue and can’t decide if I should call them back or just upgrade to the 910…sometimes technology is FRUSTRATING!!!!!

IMG_1617

After the ride I fueled up with my Osmo Recovery with chocolate Almond Milk and some brunch before laying my head on my pillow for an afternoon nap. I rounded off my week with hot yoga at 4 pm and a tasty salad for dinner…

IMG_1620 IMG_1621

Weekly Totals:

Swim: 4000 yards

Bike: 63.1 miles

Run: 23.9 miles

Strength Training: 2:15 (not including my daily planking)

Hot Yoga: 1:30

Total Time: 14:06

How was your week?

18 thoughts on “25 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

  1. Awesome week!! You seem to be feeling better and back to your training self!! πŸ™‚
    Yes! You should totally upgrade to the 920!! I got the 910 last year but have heard really good things about the 920! I had problems with my 310 mostly when I was running. It would stop doing anything and I would have to wait until the watch died before it would restart. It was annoying. I had it for 5 years though. The 910 was on serious sale so I bought it. Had I known the 920 was coming out a few months after that I would have waited!!
    I have seen the Coeur team kit floating around and it is super cute!!!!!
    My week was good! Running has been good lately probably because I am doing more of it!! πŸ™‚

    1. I am feeling better…I meet with my dr this Friday, so I’ll have more information toward the end of the week.

      I definitely have to consider which Garmin to go with…I can get the 910 for about 1/2 as much as the 920, but the 920 has so many wonderful bells and whistles…

      I’m in love with the Coeur Team Kit and super excited to rock that style this season πŸ™‚

      Yay for running!! It great to get to do what you want and love!! I can’t wait until the sun is shining and the temperatures are warmer so we can get outside for more bike rides πŸ˜‰

    1. You’re lucky it picks back up…mine wouldn’t and I had to restart the Garmin every time. Tonight I had no problems with it…I don’t know what to do…spend the money or deal with what I have…

  2. I’m in awe of your training! Great and solid week-fantastic job πŸ™‚ I’m not a big pink person, but that kit is very nice-I’d totally wear that. The leg tightness must be frustrating-I was wondering-do you think the swimming fights the tightness? My legs always seem so loose and happy after a long swim.

    1. Thanks Amy!! Swimming does help, but I think my muscles are just naturally really tight. Something I keep working on with massage and yoga πŸ˜‰

  3. Wow- another awesome week of training in the books! I haven’t minded the trainer this winter, but I certainly don’t miss the long trainer rides. Glad you switch it up a lot and seem to enjoy them!
    I know you taught TRX but didn’t know you personal train, too. Do you have many clients? All through a gym?

    1. Thanks Abby!! I do personal training through the city parks and rec department. I intentionally don’t have many clients. With teaching 8th graders full time, family and IM training, I don’t have time for much more. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

