My #FaveWorkout – Week 14

This week’s #FaveWorkout involved some #swimlove and #courage.

5241130944e4166490078c3b6145471a

The working set became tough in the 2nd interval and I noticed Negative Nelly creeping into my head…I wasn’t sure I could keep pushing. I repeated, “I can and I am” over and over in my head while I pushed forward. This workout was all about continuing…

And now for the workout…

Warm-up: 200 swim, 4 x 50 drills
Main Set: 200 moderate to fast swim
60 sec rest
800 as 4 x 200 (200’s on 4:00- so swim faster than 4:00/200 yards to get rest, leave on the 4 min interval- this should be HARD!)
200 drills
60 sec rest
800 as 4 x 200 again (repeat as above)
Cool-down: 200 easy

I had some self doubt going into this workout…I typically swim about 2:00/100 and knew that I would have to work HARD to execute this workout like it should be executed. Not only did I successfully finish the first set, but I also pushed hard and successfully finished the 2nd set too!! I was super pumped that I mentally persevered and finished the workout strong, swimming each of my 200s in 3:30 (give or take a second). What?!?!?!?! AHH…YES!!!!! 🙂

IMG_1819
I think it is time to retire this swim cap 😉

On a side note, this was good training for what it might be like to swim oxygen deprived at #IMBoulder in just over 23 weeks 😉 “Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming.” ~Dory

What was your favorite workout this week?

15 thoughts on “My #FaveWorkout – Week 14

  1. Yup. Time for a new cap. Wasn’t able to do anything yesterday… Came home to busted pipes at the office so my trainer ride was out as I had three guys trying to clean my office up and they had the front door propped open to get the hoses in. Sucked! Literally. Today was a waste (and -24 degrees). Ah well, I’ll get a ride in tomorrow am.

  2. Girl…what?!?!? Am I reading this right? You typically swim 2:00/100 yards and you busted out 3:30s for you 200s?!?!? That is tremendous! I am in the 1:53-1:55ish range for my 100s right now and I can not imagine swimming a 3:30 200. I wish I could high five you right now in person! As I was reading through your workout and you noted 200s on the 4:00, I was thinking I would have like 5 seconds rest if I was swimming it. Then I read your results…….

    So IMPRESSED right now!!!

  3. I have to laugh-I don’t understand most of what you wrote up there 😉 When my time comes, I better join a swim group to get the lingo figured out. Glad you had a great swim!

  4. I read this the other day and don’t know why the reply isn’t on there, (maybe it’s stuck in my phone) but swimming is so hard! Great job and just go tell Nelly to shove it 🙂 Sorry about your cap – I have one I really like so hoping it makes it a year, let alone three!

    1. I definitely told Nelly to “go fly a kite!!” among a few other things 😉 I hope your swim cap lasts also!! I’ve found that sprinkling the inside with powder helps the swim cap last longer 😉

  5. Nice job!! I have a love/hate relationship with 200s! Pushing through and having mental toughness is sometimes hard but sounds like you did a great job of beating it!!! So sad about your swim cap. I ripped mine the other day just as I was getting in the pool and luckily Dan was there so I could borrow his(and he hardly swims)! 🙂
    My favorite work-out: I had a great spin on Wednesday. We did 6x 3:00 intervals. It was good pushing hard but they weren’t as long as usually because we were tapering down to do another TT this week!

    1. Thanks Leslie!! I too have a love/hate relationship with 200s. Perseverance served me well on this workout 😉

      I love bike intervals!! Good luck on your TT this week!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

