23 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

What a great week of workouts!!

Monday:

I started the day with full body strength training and ended the day with a 2.5 hour ride. I typically don’t ride this long on a Monday evening, but we missed our long ride yesterday due to the 4 hour swim clinic (which was a 90 minute drive away in each direction…making for a very long day). While on the trainer, I watched the Bourne movies…the action-packed films made the time go by a bit quicker.

IMG_1792 IMG_1802 IMG_1804

Tuesday:

I started the day with a 50 minute fartlek run on the treadmill. I didn’t run outside due to the early morning darkness and the cold temperatures…

IMG_1809

After work, I went to the pool for 2800 yards of #swimlove, only it wasn’t the kind of love I was hoping for…I struggled with this swim. After Sunday’s swim clinic, I had LOTS to work on, so there was no time like the present to get to work. Changing form never feels well…it was true of this swim as well.

IMG_1812

Wednesday:

I started the morning with some #bikelove in the pain cave…Can you say brrr?!?!?! The windchill temperature was -25F…good thing I can just roll down the stairs and onto my bike without having to leave the house.

IMG_1817

IMG_1816

I ended the day with my #FaveWorkout of the week that involved some serious #swimlove. If you haven’t read about this swim workout, I overcame some huge mental obstacles that allowed me to push harder than I thought possible. This was also a great workout to start preparing the body for altitude in Boulder!!

Quote of this swim workout…

“Success is not final. Failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.” ~Winston Churchill

IMG_1819
I had a GREAT swim…I was sad that it was time to retire my swim cap, although it was 3 years old 😉

Thursday:

The bitterly cold temperatures Thursday morning sent me back to the treadmill for some #runlove…

IMG_1823

After work was my weekly TRX session…we completed a full body workout with good variety.

Friday:

Rest Day…What a great day 🙂

I received a beet powder sample in the mail and I can’t wait to try it!! Thanks Erin 🙂

IMG_1825

Saturday:

We had plans to meet the Iron Hippie’s parents for lunch in Cedar Falls (~90 minutes drive each way), so we had to get our run done early. It was cold and it was dark, so it was back to the mill for our long run. Thankfully I got to run next to my sole sister, so I started my day with #solesistasweat and ~15 miles of #runlove…

IMG_1851

This was followed up by 30 minutes of core work including 3:30 of plank. I am slowly building up the time I can hold planks…little by little everyday.

After completing our workouts, we loaded up the car and headed to Cedar Falls. While there, I also got a shoe fit from Scott Gall at The Runner’s Flat. He is not only a very knowledgable shoe fit expert, but also an amazing triathlon coach. When we go back to training with a coach, he will be the first person we call. He said I am alternating between two great shoes that are a perfect fit for me…Asics Gel Nimbus and Brooks Pure Flow. He also recommended that I try throwing the Newton Kismet into the mix…

IMG_1866

I can’t wait to give these a try 🙂 We couldn’t leave Cedar Falls without stopping off for some yummy goodness at Scratch Cupcakery…the two on the left were mine (Butterfinger and Mint Chocolate) and boy were they tasty 😉

IMG_1864

Sunday:

We started the day with #bikelove and hill repeats. My legs felt like lead when I was done…good thing next week is a recovery week 😉

IMG_1897

I followed this up with some fueling and napping before getting ready for what will surely be a VERY long week…

Weekly Totals:

Swim: 5400 yards

Bike: 82.4 miles

Run: 25.6 miles

Strength Training: 2:15:00

Total Time: 14:13:00

How was your week?

22 thoughts on “23 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

  1. I admire your dedication to your workouts. I think you’re going to see amazing gains this spring with how hard you’re working on all aspects of your strength. Ironman Boulder won’t know what hit it!!

  2. Love the phrase “bike love in the pain cave”. Sounds like a triathlete’s version of 50 Shades of Grey 🙂 Did you see the new Nimbus coming out beginning of March? I’ve already pre-ordered mine. So excited! Let me know about the beet powder. I’m not a fan of beet itself, so if I could mix the powder in something to make it taste better, I’d definitely give it a try! Great workouts!!!!

    1. Ha Ha!! 🙂 I did see that the new Nimbus are coming out in March, but I haven’t ordered them yet. I just ordered a pair of the older version, which should hopefully get me by for a few months (especially since I rotate between 3 pairs of running shoes). I will definitely let you know how the beet powder tastes!! I can’t wait to try it, but will probably have to wait until next week as this week is REALLY busy!!

  3. Great week!! Another week down!! Crazy how they are flying by!!! Sounds like a solid and hard week!!! I bet you are looking forward to a recovery week!! 😉
    I have heard that beet powder is good for inflammation! I have it and put it in my smoothies. I am not sure if it works or not!!??

    1. I am definitely looking forward to the recovery week, although part of the recovery week involves 13 hour days at work for the first 3 days 😦

      I am excited to try the beet powder, but will probably wait until next week 😉

      1. I think I’m just going to put it in a smoothie. I love beets, and we often add them to our smoothies. Do you have a different/better suggestion?

  4. SOLID week Kecia!! I continue to be impressed by your long treadmill runs! I am beyondddd ready for spring/summer when we actually have roads to run on. I have 16 miles this weekend and I hope I don’t have to do it on the treadmill. What did you find out in your swim clinic? I’m sure you are planning a post about this, but I would love to hear what you are working on.

    1. Thanks Kristin!! I’m ready to get outdoors and run…although we are currently getting more snow and school dismisses in less than 30 minutes for the day due to the weather, so I’m not sure when outdoor running might commence. As for the swim clinic, I really need to work on my catch and keeping my elbow high as I pull through the water. I am so flat armed…grr. I am going to try some in water and out of water exercises to practice this, but as you know, it isn’t easy to change your form 😉

Leave a Reply

