Motivational Arsenal

Thanks to De at Mind Over Kona for the inspiration to write this post. If you haven’t checked out her blog yet, you should!

When I find myself struggling with motivation, I dig into my motivational arsenal, which includes the following:

  1. I’ve signed up for A, B, or C race and I am not going to let myself and others down by not being properly trained for it.
  2. I have goals and dreams that I remind myself of often.
  3. I always feel so much better after a good workout!!
  4. I am part of an AMAZING team of women that I don’t want to let down…GO Team Coeur!!  IMG_0792
  5. Looking at photos from past races and finish lines.   IMG_4436
  6. Watch Team Hoyt cross the Ironman finish line:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWtmcBpai9k
  7. Watch “Rise and Shine”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tzm6TEManmQ
  8. Read “The Triathlete’s Guide to Mental Training” by Ph.D. Jim Taylor & Terri Schneider
  9. Read “A Life Without Limits: A World Champion’s Journey” by Chrissie Wellington  IMG_2023
  10. Read “17 Hours to Glory: Extraordinary Stories from the Heart of Triathlon” by Mathias Muller & Mark Deterline  IMG_2040

What do you have in your motivational arsenal to help keep you motivated?

 

8 thoughts on “Motivational Arsenal

  1. It sounds like you have a great variety of ammunition to help you through motivational struggles. When I am struggling and in a slump, I talk with my coach, train with a friend, or read blogs. Bloggers always pick me back up! 🙂

  2. As you know, I’m really struggling in the motivation department right now. It’s hard to keep my incentive to exercise up since I don’t know if I’ll ever race again.

    I’ve read the Chrissy Wellington book, but not the others. I’ll put those on my reading list and have them to read as I recover from surgery. I’m hoping to get the date soon 🙂

    You’re going to have a fantastic season!

    1. Thanks Amy 🙂 Whenever I read about others believing in themselves and steps to take to make my mental training stronger, I feel more motivated. I hope these books help motivate you too!! Let me know what you think of them 😉

Leave a Reply

