Racing in 2015

It has taken me a bit of time to solidify my 2015 racing calendar, but this is what I’ve decided on…

Elkhart Time Trial Series – April, May, June, July and August (one Thursday evening each month) in 2015

  • I did race the Elkhart Time Trial once in 2014, but I am looking forward to racing the Time Trial Series more consistently this year.   IMG_3713

Drake 1/2 Marathon – April 26, 2015

  • I’ve raced this many times in the past and am not super thrilled with the new route, but it is close to home and gives me a running race to test my run strength before my tri season really starts up.

Legend Tri 100 – June 7, 2015

  • This will be an automatic PR for me when I cross the finish line. I have not finished a 100 mile triathlon before. I am really looking forward to this event since I have raced the 70.3 mile distance at this venue twice and loved it!!

Accel Olympic Triathlon – June 14, 2015

  • This will be a new event for me. I am excited to get the opportunity to race an Olympic distance triathlon before Ironman Boulder. I love the distance and am thrilled to have the opportunity to go fast 🙂

Eastern Iowa Tour de CURE – June 27, 2015

  • This will also be a new event for me this year. While it is not a race, it will be a great training day and opportunity to ride 75 miles on relatively protected streets and for a great cause!!

Ironman Boulder – August 2, 2015

  • This will be my 3rd Ironman race, but the first time I’ll be racing in Boulder. I am pumped to be taking a 3 week vacation out in Colorado prior to the race to acclimate, relax and train a little.

Des Moines Triathlon – September 6, 2015

  • Since the Hy Vee Triathlon is no more, I will be participating in the first ever Des Moines Triathlon on Labor Day weekend. I am planning on doing the Olympic distance race and seeing what my body has left with only a few weeks post #IMBoulder 😉

Runner’s Flat 50K – October 10, 2015

  • Last year we participated in this event for its inaugural year, but only ran the 10 mile distance. This year I am going to attempt my first ever 50k and am looking forward to having something a bit more challenging to train for post #IMBoulder.

    Approaching the first aid station
    Approaching the first aid station on the 10 mile course

While I am sad to be missing some of my favorite local events this summer, I am super pumped to attempt some new events and challenges in 2015!!

What fun races do you have planned for 2015?

26 thoughts on “Racing in 2015

  1. I love that you are venturing out and trying new distances and races. I think it is going to be a pretty epic year for you and I’m excited to see how everything goes. A 50K!!!? So awesome. I’ve never considered anything further than a marathon, but perhaps you will convince me…

    I’m planning on doing a few 10Ks and a half marathon through pregnancy. The real challenge will come once the baby is here!

  2. Kansas was an under appreciated IM course. The bike was epic, and was almost as challenging as a single loop in Madison. If the extra section to the bike leg is as difficult, then you will have a challenge! I was lucky to not have crazy heat or wind when I ran it in 2013. That said, I didn’t care for the swim, run or split transition. I will be curious of your thoughts of the new hosts (make sure you post a pic of the “World’s Biggest Finishers Medal!”

    I will be in KC and Des Moines for back-to-back marathons in October (the “I-35 Challenge”). Taking a breather from triathlon this year. Four local sprints (Lifetime MPLS, Lifetime Maple Grove, HITS Wacconia, and one just a couple on miles from my home). Hoping IM launches the rumored 70.3 in St Louis or Challenge WI Dells returns in 2016…

    1. I don’t mind the swim, run or split transition in Kansas, but definitely agree it was under appreciated. Two marathons back to back…you have your work cut out for you. 😉

  3. Awesome race schedule! I think that your 100 mile race/75 mile ride will be awesome training!!! The 50k will be a little harder because you will be burnt out from IM training and then you have to start training again!! It is definitely do-able but if I had to do last year over I would not have done the marathon 3 months after the IM!! I am sure you will do great but it is a lot of training!! 🙂

    1. Thanks Leslie!! I am only doing the 50k to do it, not to race it. I know it will be tough, but it will give me focus. Not that I’m planning it, but I can always drop down to the 10 or 20 mile events also 😉

      1. Training for it is going to be almost as much fun as actually riding it… I’m working on a post about it actually, should be ready tomorrow or Sunday though I might save it for Monday.

        Thanks Kecia.

    1. It was a HUGE event here in central Iowa, but Hy Vee decided to pull the funding and put it toward youth. No word yet on how they will do this, but that is what they’ve said…

Leave a Reply

