22 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

This was a recovery week and was supposed to be a week of parent teacher conferences. Thanks to Mother Nature deciding to continue to force her bad attitude on us, we had an early dismissal from school and no parent teacher conferences on Wednesday. This was a nice reprieve, but it puts a kink into my training schedule for the coming week since we have to make up those conferences…

Monday:

Rest Day…While I had planned to get up early and complete an hour strength training session, I decided resting up for the coming week would be more advantageous due to the long days ahead of me. After a 13 hour work day, I came home to a very special delivery…my new Coeur Sports gear!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!! #heartandcourage #stylishspeed

Basil loves my new Coeur gear!!

Basil loves my new Coeur gear!!

Tuesday:

Rest Day #2…I intentionally took Tuesday and Wednesday off from working out since I had an FTP test on the calendar for Thursday afternoon. My 13 hour work day #2 is in the books…

Wednesday:

Rest Day #3…I did have to shovel some snow, but that was the only working out that I did in preparation for my FTP test tomorrow. Instead of leaving work at 7:30 pm, we were released at 1:30 pm due to the weather. What does one do with this extra down time?!?!?!?

IMG_1912

Relaxing with the dog and a good book.

Thursday:

This was a half day of work, so I was home by noon…just in time for a nap before my FTP test 😉

And now for the FTP test…after a 20 minute warm-up, I pushed hard for 20 minutes and sweat A LOT. The results??? I improved my FTP by 21 watts (up from 156 watts to 177 watts) from my last test 2 months ago. #progress 🙂 I still have LOTS of room for growth and will continue to work hard to continue to get stronger and faster on the bike!!

IMG_1917

IMG_1921

IMG_1923

I followed my FTP test up with TRX…this was my #FaveWorkout this week. OUCH!!

Full class!!

Full class!!

Friday:

HOLY COLD…BRR!! Going outside in this weather = #hardcoeur

IMG_1929

With the day off, I could go to the gym and complete my workouts whenever I wanted, so I opted for about 10:00 am…

3500 yard swim...in sets of 3x1000. Not my ideal pace, but it gives me room for improvement.

3500 yard swim…in sets of 3×1000. Not my ideal pace, but it gives me room for improvement.

I followed my swim up with 50 minutes of #runlove including 6×1 minute at faster than 5K pace. I ran these at a 7:03 pace…I’m not sure I could have gone much faster today. My legs were still REALLY tired from yesterday’s FTP test and TRX class.

IMG_1944

No…I didn’t pee myself, lots of sweating on this run!!

After refueling and cleaning up, it was time for a massage. Bad news…OUCH!!! Good news…Nick noticed that my muscles aren’t as tight as they have been in the past. Maybe my thyroid meds are slowly starting to work. 🙂

IMG_1951

I also had a very special delivery from Barnana today!! #realfoodfuel #potassiumboost

IMG_1931

Saturday:

We opted for an early morning run on the mill again due to the cold morning temps…it looks like we MIGHT have warmer weather in the next 7 days. We’ll see…

IMG_1966

9.9 miles of #solesistasweat is the best start to my Saturday…ignore the creepy guy in the background…

I followed this run up with 30 minutes of #hardcoeur work…

Yes...that is a weight on my glutes to make this plank a bit more challenging. This after a 3:30 plank, 1:00 plank and 1:00 plank. I was a planking fool this morning ;)

Yes…that is a weight on my glutes to make this plank a bit more challenging. This came after a 3:30 plank, 1:00 plank and 1:00 plank. I was a planking fool this morning 😉

After cleaning up, we did a little photo shoot for my Coeur Sports Ambassador Team photo 😉

IMG_1976

Sometimes you need to move mountains to accomplish dreams. ‪#‎hardcoeur‬‬ ‪#‎dreambig‬

IMG_2299

IMG_2322

IMG_1979

When you conquer the mountain of obstacles in your path, the victory is yours!!

Sunday:

I started my morning with the Z2, Z3 and wall sit workout lasting 2 hours…this was tough, but when you conquer the mountain of obstacles in your path, the victory is yours. I’m hoping the victory becomes mine on race day 🙂

IMG_1996

IMG_2011

I followed up this workout with good food, a little rest and 90 minutes of hot yoga with friends 🙂

Taking child's pose

Taking child’s pose before we got too sweaty

Weekly Totals:

Swim: 3500 yards

Bike: 42.7 miles

Run: 15.4 miles

Strength Training: 1:15:00

Hot Yoga: 1:30:00

Total Duration: 9:15:00

What were the highlights of your week?

14 thoughts on “22 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

  1. Is it just me or is that swim amazing? Anyway, great week, no matter which way you look at it! Well, not the weather and delayed conferences, but we just won’t talk about that. Few questions, does Coeur run true to size? Did you try the beet powder yet? And do you love Cy as much as I do? 🙂 Have a great week!

    • Thanks Kelli!! That swim was a challenge. My pace wasn’t quite where I had hoped it would be, but it gives me room for improvement for next time. Coeur does run true to size 🙂 I haven’t tried the beet powder yet, but am planning on it for tomorrow post swimming 🙂 I am definitely a Cyclone fan and LOVE Cy!!

  2. Amy says:

    Wow-you still managed to do a lot over the course of the week! I’m so happy that your legs seem to be getting happier with the medicine-I loved the snow photoshoot. I had a great week and am starting to embrace being active without the ‘training’ aspect. I had a great swim and tried xc skiing for the first time. I can’t wait for spring though…I’m tired of the cold.

    • Thanks Amy 🙂 It was a good week!! I am looking forward to getting my blood work done again at the end of the month to know how my body is responding to the meds. I think I notice a few subtle changes, but it might be too early to tell.

  3. Can I just say how jealous I am of your giant Barnana order?! I need to get more asap! Love your Coeur pics, adorable! Unfortunately, my Team Kit top is on backorder.. so sad.. hope to have it soon! Oh and I totally need a massage… you just reminded me:)

    • I decided to go big with this Barnana order Kristin 🙂 With two of us consuming them, they leave quickly!! I hope you get your Coeur Team Kit top soon!! My massage hurt, but it was necessary!! I typically have them about every 2-3 weeks.

  4. You are killing it on the bike! 17 watts is a huge improvement – way to go!!! Love all of your cute Coeur kits. I’m sure you will represent and wear them well.

    I have never heard of Barnana. Need to learn more. 🙂

    • Thanks Kristen!! I was super happy with my increased wattage 😉 You should definitely try Barnana. If you do, use Coeur15 for 15% off your order. I forgot to put that in my post!!

Leave a Reply

