19 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

IMG_2355
Preparing for the coming weekย in my Believe Training Journal…19 weeks ’til IMBoulder

19…there is a #1 to start this week…eek!! With spring break behind me, that leaves only 9 weeks left in this school year…only 9 weeks left until summer break. I will survive 9 more weeks ๐Ÿ˜‰

Monday:

I slept in, completed an hour of strength training, met with a personal training client and then went to the pool for 2600 yards of #swimlove. After a quick shower, I loaded Mojo into the car and went to Kyle’s Bikes in Ankeny for a bike fit by the best…Kyle himself ๐Ÿ™‚ He put me in new bike shoes, made a few minor adjustments to the height of my saddle and sent me on my way. When I got home, I hopped on Mojo in the backyard for some single leg drills. It was 85F, sunny and VERY windy, but boy did it feel good to ride outside in the sunshine!!

IMG_2266
4:30 plank…I’m getting SO close to holding plank for 5 minutes. I know I can definitely reach 5 minutes by the end of March!!

IMG_2274

IMG_2273

IMG_2278

IMG_2283

IMG_2285

IMG_2302
New shoes ๐Ÿ™‚

Tuesday:

I slept in again this morning. When I got up, I eventually made my way to the pool for some more #swimlove swimming…there wasn’t much love with this workout. I was tired. So tired I thought about skipping my run workout. I knew Basil could stand to burn off some energy, so I changed into winter running gear (yes…the colder weather returned). I wasn’t holding out a whole lot of hope for this run, but I surprised myself. Can you say SERIOUS #runlove?!?!?! Thisย run turned out to be AMAZING and my #FaveWorkout this week!! After cleaning up, I ran a few errands before getting beat upย havingย my legs massaged for a whole hour…OUCH!! Dinner with a girlfriend was a perfect way to cap off the night!!

IMG_2305

IMG_2307

IMG_2311

IMG_2316

Wednesday:

I woke up early so I could get some #bikelove in before heading to Kansas City for an overnight excursion with my #solesista. When we got to Kansas City, we had an amazing lunch, did some shopping at the plaza, relaxed in the hot tub at the hotel, went out for dinner and ended a very lateย night at a dueling piano bar in the Power and Light District. Relaxation, lots of fun and amazing company!!

IMG_2321

IMG_2322

IMG_2324

IMG_2328

Thursday:

After a very short night’s sleep, we got up and ran in a cool, drizzle before cleaning up and heading back home. We listened to Iowa State crap the NCAA basketball game down their leg while we drove home…seriously boys…you have to show up and actually play ball to win. UGH!! When I got home, I was so tired that I took a 2 hour nap. I followed this up with a brief walk with the dogs and the Iron Hippie and called it a night at 6:40 pm.

Friday:

Hello spring!! I slept in, met with two personal training clients, had some active release therapy done to my left hamstring (OUCH) and spent the afternoon alternating between ice and heat on the hamstring. I also played frisbee with Basil this afternoon and got some special deliveries today…

IMG_3430

IMG_2341

IMG_2333
Coeur Sports Love!! #stylishspeed #noangrykitty #heartandcourage
IMG_2346
Osmo Nutrition…#womenarenotsmallmen

Saturday:

I woke up tired, so I went back to sleep and slept in, which meant I didn’t get to the gym in time to start our practice 70.3…so, I went to the gym for one hour of strength training. I followed this up with a 2 hour nap. The late night Wednesday was WAY MORE than my body can handle. We capped the evening off withย a sushi dinner andย great friends who are moving to Delaware. I am sad to see them go, but very happy for their new adventures and super excited for a chance to go visit them ๐Ÿ™‚

Sunday:

I woke up tired again. Lesson learned…late night outings need to be avoided so I can keep myself somewhat regulated. I slugged through my brick workout, but got it done. After cleaning up the house a bit, doing lesson plans for the week, taking the dogs for a walk and mentally preparing for the week to come, we made dinner and hit the bed early to hopefully be well rested for the last big push to the end of the school year…only 9 more weeks, but who’s counting ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_2352

Weekly Totals:

Swim: 5000 yards

Bike: 60.5 miles

Run: 12.3 miles

Strength Training: 2 hours

Total Duration: 10 hours & 12 minutes

How was your week of workouts? When you get off of a regular sleeping routine, how long before you’re recovered and back to “normal?”

14 thoughts on “19 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

  1. I have to work on stopping the late night thing, but the problem is that it’s the only time my husband and I get to be alone since we’re surrounded by young kids ๐Ÿ˜‰ I hate waking up and feeling like I’m dragging from the start. Also-you should move up here to do some personal training!

    1. When I get into a routine of 8 pm bed and 4 am rise, I do GREAT! Once that routine is shifted in anyway, it takes me a while to get back on track. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I know lots of people who have kids that are in the same boat ๐Ÿ˜‰ I love doing personal training work with people and wish I could do it full time…if only it paid all the bills ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Hey, it’s ok to have a week of late night fun every once in a while, right? I know what you mean though about it throwing off your entire sleep schedule. It only takes one late night for me to feel “off” and typically takes a couple days to recover. I am not one of those who can stay out late and then come home and go right to bed. I always have to unwind and lounge for a bit before sleep.

    Be honest, how often do you get massages? It seems like every week you get a massage, and if this is the case, I am incredibly jealous! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I agree, Kristen…it is good to have a late night every once and a while, but my body just doesn’t bounce back from them like it use to ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I get a massage every 3 weeks…my muscles are always SO tight. Although I think that has been improving since I’ve been on my thyroid medicine. I’ll know how my blood is responding next week ๐Ÿ™‚ Hopefully I can back down to every 4 weeks for massages…I know the Iron Hippie would like to see less money being spent on massages ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. So funny…I was thinking the same thing as Kristen….about the massages…seems like you get them all the time. I guess it is a time “flys by” type of thing!! ๐Ÿ™‚ (I get one every 4 weeks so don’t feel bad!!)
    Great week. You can have fun sometimes!!! But I totally get the having a late night out and then suffering through the rest of the week!!
    My work outs were good! I was kind of on a “recovery week” so I could finally start my Victoria training this week!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Time does fly by! I think I might actually be starting to feel recovered from last Wednesday. Who knew it would take a week?!?!?! Glad you are ready to start training Leslie!!

  4. Ah, the sleeping routine… I’ve been messing with mine lately with all of the stress. I find that the more I give in to waking up early, the harder it is to sleep till the alarm at 4:30… So even when I feel chipper at 3 or 3:30, I’ve been trying to go back to sleep before I get out of bed and I’ve been a lot happier.

  5. Wow, you kicked some booty :), sort of like what happened TO Isu. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I thought they would go at least one more! I’m currently in a non-sleeping phase. From getting up at 2:30 Sunday and not being able to get back to sleep, even for a little bit, then my mind getting in the way the last two nights, it’s probably going to hit me later this week. Grrrr. So glad you had some nice weather in there! March in Iowa is pretty tricky, isn’t it. I love your shoes and will probably order some Coeur stuff in the next month. I’m excited! #noangrykitty ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, looking for a new bike helmet…. thoughts? I don’t want to spend a ton of money, but I also know how many hours I’m going to be spending with it…. Hope you have a good week – 9 weeks!

    1. Thanks Kelli! I too thought ISU would go farther than they did. ๐Ÿ˜ข I can’t wait to see how your race went!! I love my Bell helmet…nothing fancy, but it is comfortable ๐Ÿ˜‰ Let me know when you order some Coeur gear!! Love the #noangrykitty ๐Ÿ’œ

  6. Oh man, one night of bad sleep and I’m done for the week. And I was up cleaning dog vomit in the wee morning hours last night. I was totally the mean teacher at school today. Great job getting in over 10 hours despite being sleep deprived! That is some solid determination!

    1. Thanks Courtney!! It has been one week since our overnight and today I finally felt somewhat normal again. Sorry you had to clean up dog vomit. I hope the fur baby is healthy now!!

Leave a Reply

