18 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

I can’t believe it is already the end of March…time sure does fly by!! Not to mention we are only 18 weeks out from Ironman Boulder and 10 weeks out from Legend 100 Triathlon…eek!! So this is what my week post spring break consisted of…

Monday:

I was so tired that I slept in Monday morning and completed both my trainer ride and strength routine after work. The trainer ride was one that I LOVE…3 x ladder (10 minute warm up, 3×3 min Z4 (with 2 min recovery between), Spin 4 minutes, 3×2 min Z4-5 (with 90 sec recovery between), Spin 4 minutes, 3×1 min Z5 (with 60 sec recovery between), Spin 4 minutes, 4×30 sec sprint (with 30 sec recovery between), 7 minute cool down). It is a good physical challenge 🙂 #bikelove #progress

IMG_2359

IMG_2361

Tuesday:

I got up Tuesday morning to run my “Lucky 7s” treadmill run. I was dreading this run, but it turned out to be my #FaveWorkout this week and gave me lots of #runlove. This workout was all about overcoming mental challenges. Ok…I’ll admit, it is full of physical challenges as well. After work I headed to the pool for some #swimlove. Typically I don’t enjoy swimming at this particular pool, but today was much better…they were refilling the pool and the water was cool. 2400 yards later, I was wishing my workout were a bit longer instead of shorter for a change 🙂

IMG_2369

IMG_2371

IMG_2372
My girls love each other so much!!

Wednesday:

I was so tired this morning! I didn’t want to get out of bed to ride, but I did and I’m very glad I did.

“If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten.”  ~Anthony Robbins

After a long day of school, I made my way back to the pool for some more #swimlove. I was hoping the pool would be the same temperature as yesterday, but alas the heater was working and the water was back up to the 85F range…UGH. Despite the warmer water, I still managed to enjoy my 2400 yard workout 🙂

IMG_2378

IMG_2381

Mya treed a squirrel, which continued to tease her...poor girl ;)
Mya treed a squirrel, which continued to tease her…poor girl 😉

Thursday:

I was really tired today…this was turning out to be a very long first week back at school post spring break. I decided to sleep in and skip my morning run. Sometimes listening to one’s body is really important and mine was telling me I needed sleep. After work, I had some #bikelove with a 10 x all out workout. I was super happy with this workout since I am making #progress and getting stronger with every workout. I followed this up with a full body TRX session, where we did a lot of leg work.

IMG_2388

Friday:

Friday was a rest day for everyone in our house…

I'm not sure how this is comfortable, but Basil slept like this for quite a while.
I’m not sure how this is comfortable, but Basil slept like this for quite a while.

Saturday:

I started my day with some core work…I finally reached 5 minutes of holding plank…WAHOO!! Then it was time to hop on the bike for a 3 hour ride followed by a 30 minute run. I love brick workouts, but this ride was a bit boring…mostly Z2 ride with only 2 x 15 minutes in Z3. The run was awesome…cold, but fun. My sister and twin nieces came down to visit us and stay with us for the weekend. They arrived at about 12:30 pm. After lunch we walked to the park and enjoyed some time in the sunshine…playing on the playground, throwing the frisbee for the dogs and playing tag. We made homemade pizza for dinner and then went to get some froyo for dessert 😉

IMG_2395

IMG_2409

IMG_2410

IMG_2411

IMG_2413

IMG_2414

IMG_2417

IMG_2424

IMG_2425

IMG_2426

Sunday:

I got up early to run some long miles, but it was raining and COLD…there is nothing worse than being cold and wet, so I went back to bed. I knew the rain was suppose to quit by 8 am, so I decided to run later in the day…it would have to be way later in the day, since my sister and I were participating in a 5K race at 11 am in Des Moines. I asked Sarah what her goal time was for the 5K and she though 45 minutes was doable. Now that I knew her goal, I decided to try and push her just a little bit. We finished in just under 42 minutes. Congratulations Sarah!! I know you can break 40 minutes next time 🙂 We met my aunts and cousin for some lunch in Des Moines before heading home. This meant the Iron Hippie and I went out for our long run at 3 pm. It was about 57F, which was nice, but the winds were sustained at 28 mph with gusts up to 40 mph. Can you say WINDY?!?!?! I was just grateful to be running outside in the sunshine and in a tank top and shorts.

IMG_2429

IMG_2434

IMG_2441

IMG_2446

IMG_2452

IMG_2450
Legs up a wall staring at Ironman motivation post long run

Weekly Totals:

Swim: 4800 yards

Bike: 91.7 miles

Run: 22.2 miles

Strength Training: 2:15:00

Total Time: 14 hours & 15 minutes

How was your week of training? What were the highlights of your week?

26 thoughts on “18 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

  1. Ah, dealing with the cold, snow and wind last week. Still managed 126 miles. Not bad, kinda ‘meh’. Yesterday and today were highlights. Way too much wind and I killed it both days – 53 miles between ’em. Builds character (or so they say).

    1. Nice work!! I know all about the wind…we’ve had sustained winds at 35 and gusts over 40 for the last 2 days. It is bringing warmer temperatures our way though 😉

  2. The best picture was Basil sleeping in the coffee table 🙂 It looked like both you and your sister had a great run together-well done!

    1. I don’t have any idea how sleeping on the coffee table was comfortable, but she slept like that for quite a while. Silly girl 😉 We did have a good run. I love that I get to share my passion with her and she is slowly becoming more of a runner.

  3. Sounds like you had a solid week – congrats! Love the doggie photos – we have a black lab mix (a bit of a grumpy old man at this point).
    Crazy wind – that is intense!

    1. Thanks Kristina!! I think Mya is a black lab mix, but Basil is a pure bred. We adopted Mya when she was 2, but Basil we got from the breeder at 8 weeks old. It was crazy windy again today. At least the winds are from the south bringing in warmer temperatures 😉

  4. Great week!!! Way to keep the motivation up!! Spring is coming!! (hopefully)!! 🙂
    So fun to run with your sister!!
    My week was pretty good!! I am still not running which bums me out but I am going to run this weekend!! I think that it will be good!! Fingers crossed!!

  5. First off…way to go with the 5 minute plank…AWESOME!! You have motivated me a bit and I am thinking about trying to increase my plank time as well.

    I totally agree with you about being wet and cold…BAD combo!

    What a fun run with your sister and great job to her for breaking her goal. It sounds like you had a fun weekend with good training wrapped in as well. Homemade pizza and froyo…yum!!

    1. Thanks Lee!! I didn’t know if I could ever get to 5 minutes, but I wanted to try. Now that I’ve gotten there, I know I’ll stick to 2-4 minutes in the future 😉 We had a good weekend with training, family and fun…good balance!!

  6. Love the pain face picture of you on the trainer. That’s the way it should be, right? 😉 The weeks definitely seem to be flying by! 18 weeks… WOW!!!

    Five minutes is a long time to be in the plank position. Dang. I wonder what my limit would be right now? Where did you start? Do you have a specific plank time goal?

    Congrats to your sister – you ladies rocked it!!!

    I did an 11-mile run on Sunday that felt amazing. Running with a friend is so much better right now than running alone.

    1. The “pain face” is definitely the way it should be when working hard on the trainer, Kristen 🙂

      My goal was 5 minutes of planking. Now that I’ve achieved it, I’ve decided I will hold plank between 2 and 4 minutes in the future. 5 minutes is a long time 😉 I started with 1 minute planks (but I’ve been doing that duration for quite a while now) and slowly added 15 seconds every 3 to 4 days with a rest day built in every Friday. It has taken me a couple of months, but I finally achieved it 🙂

      Yay for long runs with friends!! They always make the time fly by and make endurance exercise so much more enjoyable 🙂

Leave a Reply

