Keeping it Real – Update 2.0

I recently had another round of blood tests to see how my body is responding to the 75 mcg Synthroid medication that I have been taking for just over 6 weeks now. In case you’ve missed it, I have been under going testing and treatment for Hypothyroidism for almost 6 months. There was a lot of analyzing my options and thinking about what I should do before actually starting my medicine…

How do my symptoms now compare to what I was experiencing before starting my medication?

  • Increased fatigue…I am actually sleeping 7-9 hours each night and not feeling sleep deprived. For a while there, I felt sleep deprived even after sleeping for 14 continuous hours. How is that possible?!?!?! Who sleeps that long?!?!?! Now that I am requiring more normal sleep hours, I feel very rested and much more energetic throughout the day.
  • Increased sensitivity to cold…I haven’t had to wear my winter coat much throughout the day (while in my classroom with the thermostat set at 72F) during the last few weeks 🙂
  • Dry skin…my skin is still dry, but not to the point of cracking and bleeding. My dry skin is typical for someone who washes their hands MANY times throughout the day. Working with middle school students and being exposed to many germs on a daily basis requires lots of hand washing and de-germing.
  • Unexplained weight gain…I am no longer gaining weight. I’m not really losing the weight that was gained, but I’m not gaining weight 🙂
  • Muscle weakness…I have noticed that my left hamstring that wasn’t firing during exercise is starting to fire. I have been doing exercises to isolate my left hamstring to cause it to fire and these exercises have definitely been helping. I haven’t noticed other muscle weaknesses anywhere else in the body 🙂
  • Muscle aches and stiffness…I still have tight muscles and get a massage every 3 weeks, but this may just always be the norm for me. I’m beginning to think that my body operates best when tight. While I’m not a fan, I can live with this symptom.
  • Heavier than normal menstrual flow…my menstrual cycle is back to normal. 🙂
  • Bouts of constipation…I have not had any signs of constipation since starting my medicine 🙂
  • Depression…I have noticed that my mood is lighter and I am not randomly crying for no reason.

My most recent TSH and T4 numbers are reflecting these improved feelings. My TSH is at 0.53 with normal being between 0.35 and 4.9 (2.4 is really the high value of normal for an active woman of my age according to my doctor) and my T4 is at 1.14 with normal being between 0.75 and 1.76.

What does this mean for the future?

I will continue to take 75 mcg of Synthroid daily and have my TSH and T4 tested again in 4 months. While I was highly opposed to taking medicine everyday for the rest of my life, I am grateful that I am feeling so much better. I am slowly adjusting to the changes I’ve had to make to my everyday life.

25 thoughts on “Keeping it Real – Update 2.0

  1. This is all great news! I understand about not wanting to take medication daily, but when it is having such a positive impact-then it’s the right thing to do 🙂

  2. Glad to hear you’re feeling better overall!
    I missed your first post on it, but I’m also on medication. I have been for over four years now and started shortly after my first ironman. I don’t mind the medication either since I feel so much better! Thyroid issues can also lead to fertility issues and, post baby, milk supply issues!

    1. Good to know it is working well for others too!! We won’t be having children, so the fertility and milk supply won’t be an issue 😉

  3. I’m really glad to hear that the medication is working positively for you, Kecia. Have you had any negative side effects or are you handling it pretty well?

    1. Thankfully I have not had any negative side effects and my body is handling it well. My dosage is the lowest possible, so the positive effects are good 😉

  4. Glad you are feeling better. Numbers look perfect, but the improvement in your symptoms is the critical outcome. Glad you found help and it hopefully your training is back on track. You will rock Boulder!

  5. So happy to read this positive report. It is great that you are responding so well to the meds. I totally understood all your hesitation when you first shared this about being on medication, but it seems to really have gotten you back on track. That is awesome! I could not imagine having any MORE fatigue that what is “normal” when training for an IM. At least you jumped on your symptoms early and got it regulated before you got to the real long hours of your training plan. YAY!

  6. So sorry you’re dealing with hyperthyroidism, but I’m glad to hear you’re feeling normal and happy again. While taking medication every day is never an enticing thought, if it means normalcy and makes you feel better, it’s worth it. Glad you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

