17 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

This was the week of *meh* workouts. I started the week feeling tired from a busy weekend with my sister and twin nieces visiting us. I really enjoyed our time together, but it was nice to get back to normal this week.

Monday:

I completed an early morning strength training session before a long day at school. This was followed up with some #bikelove #interval work. While I enjoy spinning the wheels, this was a *meh* workout for me.

IMG_2473

Tuesday:

This was an unplanned rest day. My body was tired and I listened. We walked the dogs downtown for some groceries and grilled some yummy food before an early to bed.

IMG_2498

IMG_2479

Wednesday:

After some early morning *meh* #bikelove, I found out my blood test results and am very pleased that my symptoms are better, I have no negative side effects from my medication and my blood work reflects these positive changes. There was some #runlove after work in 80+F temperatures…I’m just not use to these temperatures yet, so it was a bit warm and also a *meh* workout.

IMG_2482

IMG_2492

Thursday:

After work, I had some more *meh* #bikelove #intervals outdoors. It wasn’t super warm, but it was nice to get outside and ride…even if it was stationary. I followed this up with my #FaveWorkout of the week…my TRX class. Until this workout, I was feeling like most of my workouts this week were just *meh,* so I was glad to finally have a workout that was tough…really tough…but one that I loved!

IMG_2497
Thanks to Coeur Sports for my #50womentokona shirt!!

 

IMG_2503

IMG_2502

Friday:

This was a scheduled rest day and I decided to take it since I knew I would be having a LONG day of workouts on Saturday.

Saturday:

Rise and Shine…it is our 70.3 practice day!! We started with 2200 yards of #swimlove, followed by 56 miles of #bikelove on the trainer and 13.1 miles of #runlove. There were some breaks in this workout…some longer than others, especially when having to get from the pool at the gym to our house and on the trainer, but we knew it wouldn’t exactly simulate a race. The 56 miles on the trainer was SO…MUCH…TOUGHER..than riding outdoors. This definitely required a LOT of #heartandcourage to complete. The run was also tough…going hard on the bike definitely made the legs feel like jello lead on the run. Thanks to Coeur Sports for the #stylishspeed and #noangrykitty, Osmo Nutrition for keeping me properly hydrated because #womenarenotsmallmen and Barnana for my bike nutrition. A sushi dinner was the perfect reward for covering 70.3 miles today 🙂

IMG_2512

IMG_2520

IMG_2521
I was hoping for about 3:15, but I think I might be able to come close to this outdoors.

IMG_2532

IMG_2534

Sunday:

Just an easy 2 hour bike ride to spin out the legs from yesterday while watching Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit…if you haven’t seen this action packed movie (and like that kind of movie), I would HIGHLY recommend it. It kept my attention (and distracted my from my sore sits bones) for almost 2 hours 🙂

IMG_2539

IMG_2540
This is one way to watch a movie…don’t worry, I was still warming up at this point 😉
IMG_2542
I went SUPER easy!! It felt AWESOME!!

Later in the day, my calves were NOT happy with me! I tried to play basketball with some friends and their kids and my legs were SCREAMING very bad things at me. I think they just wanted a break 😉 Thankfully Basil wanted some Easter snuggles and to relax a bit with me…

IMG_2545

Weekly Totals:

Swim: 2200 yards

Bike: 129 miles

Run: 19.6 miles

Strength Training: 1:45:00

Total Duration: 14:56:00

How was your week? What were the highlights of your week?

20 thoughts on “17 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

  1. Nice work, lady. I think we all have blah weeks… and need them. I always feel a little thrown off by holidays, visitors, family time, etc., but it’s part of life and we adjust. Way to still get the work done! The highlight of my week was completing my 13-mile simulation run on Saturday. I felt good and finished with a negative split, which is unheard of. Haha. Pregnancy definitely makes me run differently. 🙂

    1. Thanks Kristen 😉 I’m glad you are having such an amazing experience with pregnancy and running!! I hope it continues and that you have an awesome race 🙂

  2. I definitely had some blah workouts this past week, but then a decent one creeps in and it makes you feel so much better about things. You logged some solid miles on Saturday, so I totally agree that your sushi was well earned!!! You had some solid training hours this week and that is even with an additional day off! Way to go!

    1. Thanks Lee! It was a good week despite the extra rest day. The blah workouts definitely help us appreciate the good ones 😉 If they were all good, we wouldn’t know just how good/meh/bad they really were…

  3. Riding long on the trainer is SO much harder than riding on the road, totally agree. Kudos to you for sticking with it for 56 miles!

    I also enjoyed watching Jack Ryan…I will watch any movie with Chris Pine 🙂 Have a nice week!

  4. Even with meh work outs you are getting the job done! You could have just sat around all week! 😉 Nice job on the 70.3 simulation! I hope this week is going better than last!! I am sure as the weather gets better the work outs will too!!

    1. Thanks Leslie!! I think my attitude hasn’t been that great and I’m working on changing that this week so that my workouts and week are going much better 😉

Leave a Reply

