It’s All About Attitude

I recently I’ve noticed Negative Nelly creeping into my thoughts. Where is Positive Patty?!?!?! I’ve decided that I need an attitude adjustment in multiple areas of my life…

  1. Work…I am ready for the end of the school year and it is still 7 weeks away. Is there a way to fast forward to the end of the school year and then have time just stand still??? πŸ˜‰
  2. Training…I’ve allowed negative thoughts to creep into my mind during training sessions…this is NOT good. It is definitely time to ignore Negative Nelly and start focusing on Positive Patty. I am ready to ride outside and swim at the outdoor 50 meter pool, but it is April in central Iowa. That means about 2 more months until the outdoor pool opens and who knows when Mother Nature will decide to cooperate and provide us with warmer weather.
  3. Home…I want to have a clean house again, but with all the training, the rainy weather, muddy backyard and two black labs going in and out of the house, I think it will have to wait a bit longer. We also need to take some time and make more healthy, ready to eat foods and restock our freezer.
  4. Finances…Since the start of 2015, we have spent a lot of money…new bike for the Iron Hippie, deductible for a car accident I was in, restocking the cupboards/refrigerator/freezer/pantry, paying for our summer CSA in advance, paying for new parts to our washer, not to mention all the monthly bills we have. It is definitely time to start saving money!

Have you been in a negative funk? When this happens, what do you do to bring Positive Patty back to the forefront?

16 thoughts on “It’s All About Attitude

    1. It is all about perspective! So true…there are so many people who have it far worse than me. I should be thankful I have a job, can pay my bills, have money for extras, have a house to clean and have the time/money to do triathlon. Thanks for the reminder Kay πŸ™‚

  1. Yes, I think it is good to keep things in perspective and be thankful for the things we are blessed with. However, the funk can creep in now and again and we just have to find ways to manage. I have been in a major funk with my job for several months, so it is hard to be excited everyday for a long commute and a job I don’t like. I try to focus on the other things in my life that bring me joy while I am trying to look for opportunities to “fix” the job funk! Hang in there and you will rise above the negative stuff circling around!

  2. I think it’s ok to embrace ol’ Nelly every now and again. I find if I let her in for a day, give myself permission to be upset and complain-I feel better the next day and am ready to move on. It’s not realistic to be happy and positive all the time.

    It’s been a long winter for so many of us-once the warm weather arrives for GOOD and you are soaking up some sunshine everyday (so jealous of the outdoor pool!), this case of the blahs will be history.

    Hang in there!!

    1. Thanks Amy! Realistically I know that I won’t be happy/positive all of the time with all aspects of my life, but I’m rarely unhappy/negative about almost all aspects of my life. That is what sparked this πŸ˜‰ Yesterday I decided I was going to change my attitude and my workouts yesterday were AWESOME…I’m hangin’ and I’m changing πŸ™‚

  3. Take a look at the 5 Minute Journal. I’ve been using it for over a month and its a great way to prime your day for positive thoughts. You write down three things you are grateful for, three things that could make the day great, and a personal affirmation.

  4. Without the bad days, we can’t really experience or appreciate the good days. Whenever I am in a funk (which recently, I’ve been on an up and down rolleroaster) I just allow myself to ride it out and don’t force my feelings to do what isn’t natural. If I have a bad day, week, month (February), I cope the best I can and learn from it.

    Mindset to me is very much like physical changes our bodies undergo, especially when training as much as you are. You are going to have weeks where your body is tired, sore, run down, just like you are going to have weeks where your mind is fatigued and not in it. That is a GOOD thing, in my opinion, because it makes you stronger, more appreciative, and gives you different perspectives on things. It brings more value to those weeks that ARE good and those moments that ARE optimal. You are not alone, Kecia, and I have a feeling you’ll bounce back! Hugs!

    1. Thanks so much Kristen! Your words lifted me up πŸ™‚

      I know part of my funk is being surrounded by negativity (with people around me…mostly at work) and I’m trying to limit my contact with them, which will also hopefully help. I am already starting to feel the funk leave and I appreciate the uplifting good feelings coming my way πŸ™‚

  5. I agree with Kristen – there is a certain ebb and flow. I was definitely in a funk in March, and there was a lot going on. It would have felt inauthentic to pretend that everything was just great, but I tried to not let the negativity seep into other aspects of my life (although it did impact my training for a week there).
    I also find that I’m more negative when I’m tired – both physically and emotionally.
    It sounds as though you’ve identified specific areas, and maybe knowing what’s going on will be a help.

    1. Thanks Kristina! I am pretty sure I know where it is stemming from…all the negativity at work and has slowly seeped into other areas of my life. I have started looking at ways to prevent the negativity at work to infiltrate other areas of my life. I’m getting back on track πŸ™‚

  6. I’m very familiar with Negative Nelly… I don’t particularly like her, but as others have said, sometimes you just have to accept those feelings and then let them go. Just be sure you don’t try to change EVERYTHING all at once or that could lead to spontaneous combustion πŸ™‚ Or signing up for all the races. HA! Hugs!!! Sometimes we just need a nice sunny day.

    1. So true Kelli!! We haven’t had sun in over a week and it doesn’t look there is a good chance of seeing it in the next 10 days either. Maybe that is part of my problem πŸ˜‰ In the mean time, I will try not to spontaneously combust and sign up for all the races πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

