16 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

It is hard to believe we are only 16 weeks away from Ironman Boulder. This was the last big week before a much needed recovery week. It was full of rainy weather, lots of bike bottle washing, lots of technical fabric laundry and preparing lots of food to put in the freezer that we can pull out for a quick, healthy meal.

IMG_2595

IMG_2568

IMG_2644
Lot’s of Coeur gear in this load…love my Coeur gear ๐Ÿ™‚
IMG_2645
Homemade cornbread chili…chili topped with cornbread and baked in the oven = YUMMY!!
IMG_2646
Homemade Curry…chicken, squash, eggplant, bell peppers, onion, garlic, ginger and all the curry yummies ๐Ÿ™‚

Swim:ย 7300 yards in 2 hours & 45 minutes

Overall, my swimming this week were very positive. Tuesday’s swim was even my #FaveWorkout of the week. I felt like I had good form in the pool and was able to maintain a solid pace when not working on drills.

IMG_2571

IMG_2592

#swimlove post 4 hour brick on Sunday, which felt surprisingly good :)
#swimlove post 4 hour brick on Sunday, which felt surprisingly good ๐Ÿ™‚

Bike:ย 46.9ย miles in 3 hours & 30 minutes

This week’s rides involved some #intervals, some Zone 2 work, lots of sweat and even more #bikelove.

IMG_2567

IMG_2581

IMG_2599

Run:ย 25.2 miles in 3 hours & 53 minutes

I had some AMAZING runs this week that included LOTS of #runlove. Tuesday’s run taught me to #NeverGiveUp and persevere. After this run, I felt on top of the world!! Saturday’s 16 mile run was also a really good run. I felt strong, I felt energized, I felt amazing, I felt happy during the longest run of the season.

IMG_2580

IMG_2619

IMG_2618

Brick:ย 51.8 miles in 4 hours

Sunday was our only brick workout this week…3:30:00 on the trainer followed by a 30 minute run. I actually felt like I could have gone longer and faster on the run, but decided not to push things and take advantage of a slower run where I’m just logging the miles after Saturday’s LONG run.

IMG_2634

IMG_2643

Strength Training:ย 2:15:00

I had a good strength session on Monday, an awesome TRX workout on Thursday and a solid core work session on Saturday.

IMG_2603

IMG_2611
Basil was trying to help me with planks

Recovery:

There was LOTS of compression, LOTS of Osmo Nutrition Recovery, LOTS of Pure Clean Powder beet juice powder, LOTS of healthy whole foods for refueling, a massage, many salt baths and a couple of naps this week.

IMG_2609

IMG_2620

Basil napping after our long run Saturday...
Basil napping after our long run Saturday…

Weekly Totals:ย 16 hours and 23 minutes

How was your week?

14 thoughts on “16 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

    1. I LOVE the beet juice powder!! The cornbread chili is amazing and freezes easily, so we can pull out individual servings for a quick, healthy meal when we have busy schedules (which seems to be the norm these days). 16 weeks is getting crazy close…especially with a 4 week taper…that is only 12 weeks away. It doesn’t really start to feel close until the single digits roll in, but the really big workouts start to ramp up in the next couple of weeks ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Enjoy your well-deserved recovery week!
    Way to go on all your workouts! And a 16 mile run is awesome!
    Your sweat session on the trainer made me excited to sweat hard again ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

