15 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

How did we get to be only 15 weeks away from race day?!?!?! Race day is going to be here before we know it!!!! Last week was a recovery week and I took full advantage of it…maybe more than I should have ๐Ÿ˜‰

Swim:ย 0 yards

I didn’t swim 1 yard this week and my body was just fine with it.

Bike: 44.4 miles

I only rode twice this week. The first ride was a FTP test…it didn’t go quite as well as I had hoped, but at least I haven’t lost any power.

IMG_2669

IMG_2725

Run: 0 miles

I didn’t run one step this week and it felt good. Basil isn’t as happy about this, but she’ll get plenty of miles this week ๐Ÿ˜‰

Strength Training: 1:15:00

IMG_2704

Workout Totals: 4 hours & 15 minutes

Recovery:

I got lots of sleep this week, ate good food, watched the movie Wild for the first time and graded LOTS of papers. With all of the planning time I put in this week, it helped set me up for the last 5 weeks of school. WAHOO…Only 5 more weeks until summer break, but who’s counting ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_2659

Disappointments:

We were supposed to do our 5 hour trainer ride last Saturday to raise money for the Tour de Cure, but Mother Nature had other plans…I was very disappointed. The good news…we have rescheduled the event for this coming Saturday.ย If you would like to donate to help improve the lives of people with diabetes, please click here.

IMG_2719

IMG_2727

Helping:

I’ve been lucky to help a few friends with bike fun this week. From changing tubes to helping with a “new” bike rack…I reallyย enjoyย helping others find the love for endurance sport!!

IMG_2673

Feeling:

I am feeling mentally and physically recovered and ready to rock the next few weeks of training!!

IMG_2655

How was your week? Do you ever take more of a break from something than you had planned? How does it make you feel?

 

15 thoughts on “15 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

  1. It must have feel like a big relief to get caught up on work-sometimes I forget that you have a full time job along with all of that training you do! Glad you feel ready to jump back into things this week.

    1. Thanks Amy!! Sometimes training 15-20 hours per week and working a full time job is difficult, but I love my endurance sport and won’t give it up ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I didn’t include the time spent on work in the above, but I probably spent close to 10 hours this weekend just grading, lesson planning, etc. It is a good feeling to have that all behind me and ready to jump in with both feet this week ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks Abby!! Recovery is SO important, but many people don’t do enough of it.
      I’m definitely counting down the days until the end of the school year ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Recovery weeks are definitely underrated. You are going to be feeling so good going into your next big training cycle. Sorry to hear that your fundraising event was canceled due to weather. Sometimes I actually welcome and appreciate an unexpected break – even though the nine month one I am on right now is a little long ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I agree Kristen…recover weeks are definitely underrated and people often don’t recover enough, so they set back out into their next training cycle already tired. That has not been the case for me this week. I am feeling strong and ready to go ๐Ÿ™‚ I think I would go INSANE with a 9 month break. In my mind, you are a super human to endure that kind of break ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Sounds like just the recovery week you needed! It stinks that the weather did not cooperate for your bike event, so fingers crossed that you will have a perfect day this Saturday for your make-up!

    1. Thanks Lee!! It was a great recovery week…definitely can’t complain ๐Ÿ™‚

      At this point, it appears as though we are in for more rain in the AM hours on Saturday, so hopefully it will be early morning and we won’t have to worry about it. I am SO tired of the rain and just want warm, sunny weather to get outside and ride ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

