13 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

This was a big week of training…18+ hours. Thankfully this coming week is a recovery week.

Swim: 7400 yards

I had three swims this week; none of them were overly spectacular. My favorite part of this week’s swimming was definitely getting my new Roka Sports F2 goggles. I am in love with these goggles!! They have amazing peripheral vision and are very comfortable.

IMG_2903

IMG_2847

IMG_2943

Bike: 134 miles

We finally got outside to ride on the open roads and trails this week and it.was.AWESOME!! Wednesday’s ride was my #FaveWorkout this week since it was the first time out. I had two trainer sessions (both outside in the driveway) and a long ride on the weekend as part of our brick. I felt a LOT of #bikelove this week!!

IMG_2834

IMG_2867

IMG_2872

IMG_2880

IMG_2909

IMG_2920

Run: 31.0 miles

WOW!! That is the most run miles I’ve seen in one week in quite a while. It was a good week of running and full of #runlove. My body feels strong, for which I am veryΒ grateful πŸ™‚

IMG_2844

IMG_2901

IMG_2921

Brick:

Our longest brick this week was 81 miles of #bikelove and 5 miles of #runlove. It was a lot hotter outside than we’ve been use to, but I guess it is time to acclimate to summer weather πŸ™‚

Strength Training: 2 hours & 15 minutes

I had good variety in strength training this week

IMG_2882

Weekly Totals:Β 18 hours and 10 minutes

IMG_2946

Weekly Highlights:

Dry needling on Monday…OUCHIE

IMG_2839

Barnana delivery on Thursday

IMG_2884

Massage on Friday

IMG_2889

How was your week? What was the highlight of your week?

22 thoughts on “13 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

    1. Thanks Amy!! They were better until I put them through this weekend’s challenges. I’ll get more needling done this week, which will help πŸ˜‰

  1. You are crushing it!!!! Way to get through a tough week with flying colors… super impressed my friend! About the dry needling… I have done it before, it works, but is so painful! It’s such a strange sensation isn’t it?!. In MA I have to pay out of pocket for it, and it’s really expensive ($135 per hour), ugh… hopefully it’s cheaper for you in IA! This being said, I don’t go as often as I would like to! Enjoy your recovery week, you deserve it!

    1. Thanks chica!! Thankfully our chiropractor does dry needling and my insurance covers it, so I get it done when needed and only pay the co-pay. It is very painful, but very effective!!

  2. What a great week! I have to admit that I’m keeping myself updated for Boulder by your countdown. Hope that you can enjoy the recovery week as much as you enjoyed a stellar week of workouts!

  3. As I previously mentioned, SOLID WEEK! Way to rock the miles and the green boxes!! Our weekend here was absolutely gorgeous…not too hot, so both days outside were awesome!

    I have had dry needling done a number of times on my right glute/hip. Sometimes I feel like it helps and then sometimes not as much. My issues are just so all over the place, but my PT continues to think outside the box!

    Enjoy your recovery week. You have definitely earned every bit!

    1. Thanks Lee!! It was a solid week and I am more mentally than physically ready for a break. It looks like another round of dry needling for me tonight. I typically notice that having it done 2-3 times within a week/week and a half helps for 4-6 weeks and then I need it again. I’m SO glad your PT thinks outside of the box!! In 2011, I went to PT twice a week for 6 months and it was the SAME thing every time I went. I finally gave up and quit going and found something much better with the ART that my chiropractor does. πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Kelli! Dry needling is painful, so if you don’t have a high pain tolerance, don’t venture down that road. On the plus side…it is effective πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

